We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tucked away but worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dhaba Express

Dhaba Express
Ranked #153 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NovaScotia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tucked away but worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our friend told us about a fairly new restaurant that opened behind Jungle Jim's in Bayer's Lake at 8 Oland Cres. We enjoy Indian food so thought we'd give it a try. What a treat! The restaurant is cozy with nice warm colors and comfortable tables. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the food was ready in good time and delicious! It has an extra section to open when they get busy or for special groups. They also have take-out and do catering. They have an All-You-Can Eat Saturday Lunch Buffet and a Sunday Brunch menu as well as quick take-out menus during the week for the busy worker. The menu is easy to choose from - not too many items to confuse you - and they have daily specials as well. What more could you ask for! It will become one of our best places to eat when we are in the city. Give it a try and you'll agree!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PiscesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canning, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wonderful dinner here yesterday with husband, son and daughter in law. We had the dinner special composed of 3 curries, salad and saffron rice. It was very tasty. The spinach, lentil curry and salad were favourites. They make their own delicious lentil papadom and nan bread. Yummy! I would certainly recommend this eatery and we will come again!
Diane from Canning, NS

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterossa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away in a huge shopping area but was not hard to find, even for us visiting from overseas. We felt like Indian and went based on previous reviews. The service was excellent, friendly, fast and attentive without being intrusive. The restaurant is fairly small but the tables are well spaced. The Indian style music was not overpowering and suited the environment.
However we came here to eat and the food was average only. The seafood soup was tasty enough but short on seafood and long on vegetable, looked like sweet potato. Portions are a good size, the chicken tikka contained exactly three pieces of chicken and a lot of green pepper, well flavoured. Basmati rice was good, as was the naan bread. Beef vindaloo was suitably hot and spicy and contained quite a lot of beef. Did not have any dessert, so cannot comment.
Overall, we left satisfied. This is a place to go if you want Indian that is filling and tasty and good value for money but for us the much spoken of "wow factor" was not there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service was excellent, so was the food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hard to find, but totally worth it. Naan was awesome, you'll want more. Only complaint was they ran out of Seafood Shorba - the reason I went. Butter chicken was so good I could've licked the bowl. Prices were reasonable for the amount of food you get. We left full and happy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Irving_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Third visit, third wonderful dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

It remains a marvel to me that Halifax's best Indian restaurant resides in such an obscure location. But word is getting out, and with each visit there have been more diners in evidence. Four of us went recently, the third visit for two of us, and we were unanimously pleased with the service and the food. We shared three entrees (Paneer Tikka Masala, Butter Chicken, Vegetable Korma), some saffron basmati rice, and traditional naans, having started with Mulligatawny soup.

For dessert we enjoyed the lovely Rasmali, as well as Carrot Halwa.

Portion sizes were sensible.

My only minor complaint is that the beer selections do not include any of Halifax's wonderful micro-breweries.

Seek out the Dhaba Express. It will not disappoint you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Accentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dhaba Express also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Dhaba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing