We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Chebucto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chebucto Inn
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Inverness, Canada
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here many times. Easy on the pocket book. Restaurant is priced fairly and you get 10% off your evening meal. I like being able to look out the window and see my vehicle whenever I want. Just something I like to be able to do when staying in the city.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms are on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
19
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband last month for a week and we had a great stay. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly. The people working at the front desk were very helpful and gave us great tips to see and do around Halifax. The food at the restaurant was delicious! We will definitely be back again in a couple of months for a visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here during a conference at Dalhousie University this summer, and spent considerably less than what we would have at a downtown corporate hotel. The staff was welcoming and knowledgeable, our accomodations clean and comfortable. Cab fare to the University, and to the downtown and to waterfront, was only $10 to $12, or we could take a bus, which passed by every half hour. Although we just had breakfasts at the on-site restaurant, we opted for dinners elsewhere, including a nearby Persion restaurant. (Other guests praised the dinner specials they had at the on-site restaurant.) We walked to a nearby cemetary where we viewed graves of some of the victims of the Titanic disaster. We were quite satisfied with our stay there, and hope to return again, the next time as part of a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastmagicmountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nothing special at this place. Positive is that it was the cheapest in the area and on $5-$10 cab ride to downtown. It was also clean and a cheap restaurant attached that provides breakfasts for low prices as well. (Provided us with a breakfast voucher with room) Rooms are dated and beds were not that comfortable. Front desk staff was helpful with a smile. Don't set expectations high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stang1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halifax hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place is not worth the rate that they charge. My pillow smelled like cheese and my bath towel was stained. When I asked for a new one, it was also stained. Like another review stated, my sink began to gurgle in the middle of the night and dark sludge began to flow out. It was a shitshow of a night that I'll never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck_traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was pleased with my choice of where to stay in Halifax. Yvonne on the front desk was very helpful and the room had lots of information handy on transit around Halifax. I was very happy that this Inn [motel] is near Fairview Cemetery because I was concerned I'd have trouble locating the place where 121 Titanic victims are buried.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenAllen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

It is what you would expect from a Motel. Very basic and average, there is a restaurant attached so thats convenient. We ate there once it was pretty good, good prices I think. It was chosen because of the location...it was very close to a friend of one of my travelling companions. The woman at the front brought us up 2 more towels right away when we requested them. It wasn't luxury but at the price we paid we never expected it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VonNo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
1.5 mi away
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#26 of 28 in Halifax
167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
107 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Garden South Park Inn
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
2.9 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chebucto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chebucto Inn

Property: Chebucto Inn
Address: 6151 Lady Hammond Rd | between Robie Street and Windsor Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3K 2R9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chebucto Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chebucto Inn is conveniently located only minutes from the Downtown Harbour front area, Hospitals, Metro Centre, Citadel Hill, Casino Nova Scotia, as well as the Halifax Shopping Centre. Chebucto Inn has 31 Air Conditioned rooms with cable TV. Fridge available in some rooms. Non-Smoking or Smoking rooms available. Complementary Wi-Fi, parking & local calls. On-site Laundry Facilities, Hair dryers, Irons & Ironing Boards available as well. Our Front Desk is open 24 hours a day.Our Motel features a licensed Dining Room which is open from 7 am to 10:30 pm (7 am to 9:30 pm on Sunday). The Dining Room has great food as well as great prices, with daily specials which includes the homemade soup of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chebucto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chebucto Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing