We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food and atmosphere”
Review of Moda Urban Dining

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Moda Urban Dining
Ranked #399 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Cross street: Spring Garden Road
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a small restaurant with a very nice atmosphere, tastefully appointed with original art works. Service was excellent and very professional. The menu has a number of nice selections; I had a shrimp and pasta dish that tasted excellent. The wine list is not huge but had a number of good selections. This restaurant is strongly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jzwanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, decor, and service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner at Moda. The decore is modern, in an older building, with these two elements well integrated. The food ranks with the best restaurants in Halifax, and there's a decent wine list. The pace of the meal was perfect, and, to top everything off, they lent us an umbrella when we were leaving (it had started to rain). We'll make a point of coming back when we're next in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 154957N_m_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a very good dinner and experience at this restaurant. The service was very good and our meals were delicious. Would visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing meal - great service, too!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Mom, sister, daughter and I had dinner here on Friday April 19th - my last night in Halifax.
This was a great place to visit - my Mom (who lives in Halifax) has often talked about it. I had the Pad Thai which was delicious. The restaurant is very pretty and is just steps off of the main
street of Spring Garden Road. Our waitress is also the owner - along with her husband (who is the chef). What a team. She is from Bermuda and loved Halifax so much that she stayed (after university). I wish them well - you should definitely visit Moda!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Perfect Lunch Experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We wandered into this place one noon hour and were pretty happy we did. Our orders were perfectly turned out with possibly the most delicious heirloom carrots I have ever had. Crisp white wine on crisp white table clothes and attentive but not in-your face service. I would like to try it out for dinner some time... I suspect it would be pretty fabulous.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moda Urban Dining also viewed

 

Been to Moda Urban Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing