We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pool was out of service. Couldn;'t get the ajoining room I was promised.
It was an average hotel. The Breakfast was good however and the rooms were clean.
There wasn't much place for kids to run around outside since it was a busy parking lot. Rooms were not sound proof

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. It is very unfortunate that our pool in the 2 ½ years of operation was closed due to maintenance for the first time, for such an extended period. I sincerely apologize for that, but we take issues involving cleanliness and sanitation into very serious consideration. Our chemical readings were not satisfactory and we had to find the source, which took us longer than expected. Our pool technician informed us that it would be “ok” to open up the pool but we did not want to take the chance. I understand with children it was a great disappointment, but I hope in the future you will consider us and come to enjoy a swim.
During your stay we were at 100% occupancy and the hotel was quite busy, thus not making the parking lot very safe for children to run. If we had known your concern, we would have recommended a wonderful walking trail just a few meters down the road of our hotel.
In regards to the adjoining rooms, our policy is that we will try our best to accommodate the request, but unfortunately we can not promise.
We hope on your next trip to Halifax, you will consider us. You will not be disappointed!

Kind Regards,

Stephanie Giannoulis
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beautiful and clean hotel. Easy access to downtown and the airport. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast included and very good - eggs, sausage, waffles. The kitchen staff were out making sure everything was okay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiess73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was the best place out of all the hotels on our trip. The reviews are true, this place is awesome. Rooms are large, nice colours, clean washrooms. Breakfast selection, beyond par, it was superb! Ended up staying an extra night because of the hotel. Staff at the front was super friendly and the owner very nice, coming around every morning and chatting it up with everyone. Only downside was the Canadiana beside it. Take the extra time and eat out. Service was poor. But would return and recommend this to everyone!!! Thnaks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our Halifax visit. Unfortunately we moved to a different place just a little closer to Halifax for the remaining three nights. During our stay we can not say one bad thing. We enjoyed a very nice room, excellent breakfast, and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
There is a Wendy's and Tim Horton's next door and very large shopping area close by.
I would recommend the Comfort Hotel to friends and relatives and would stay there again if we visited Halifax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MolsonmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This Comfort Hotel is very reasonably priced and close to downtown Halifax. The customer service was the best I have had at a chain Hotel in quite some time. The breakfast was good with a variety of choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Enroute on a long awaited 4,400 mile round trip to Cape Breton Nova Scotia and other Canada destinations, we spent 3 nights, Sept. 10,11 and 12 at the Comfort Hotel Bayers Lake, Halifax N.S. Great rate, clean, comfortable and a great staff. Had to the opportunity to talk to the Nimfa, the general manager and the chef (Elizabeth, what a sweetheart) they could not have been more accommodating. Not sure when, if ever we will get back to Halifax. Many other places to see. However, if the occasion were to arise, guranteed, we would stay there again. If you are going to Halifax, do the Comfort Hotel.
Phinnigin

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phinnigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This family owned/run property was constructed just 2-1/2 years ago and it affiliated with the Choice Hotel group about 18 months ago. I have stayed at Comfort Inns under duress in the past with narry a favorable experience. Good reviews on TA, excellent location, and reasonable rates led me to take a chance on this hotel for my trip to Halifax. I could not have been more surprised and delighted. The management has done everything right. Spotless, modern, excellent bedding, great complimentary hot breakfast, free DVDs of latest movie releases, well trained and enthusiastic staff, and personalized service. I was personally greated by either the GM or AGM each morning, offering suggestions for everything from driving directions to sightseeing recommendations, while inquiring about my impressions. That's a page right out of Anthony Melchiorri's how-to book for hoteliers and it's right on target!

Room Tip: The hotel is still a work-in-progress. Our large room was somewhat sparsly furnished, lacking a desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocFNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,173 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $101 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing