We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow, what a nice surprise. This was a last minute decision as we wanted to stay in Bayers Lake instead of downtown. Popped in and they had one room left. Super clean, very accommodating staff, free movies, complimentary drinks at the restaurant which is connected to the Hotel (without going outdoors). The lady at the front desk was friendly and went out of her way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. Breakfast was included - very good. Real scrambled eggs! Not the type that look like hockey pucks in some other hotels. Lovely location if you want to shop in Bayers Lake or see a movie at the Theatre, all nearby. Would def stay here again. Oh, and after about 1/2 hour, received a call asking if everything was okay with the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runninfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    136
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
328
419
37
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending the night at this great hotel. It is the first hotel I have stayed in
where the check-in lady called about 25 minutes after our check-in to ask if everything was to our satisfaction ! That to me speaks volumes about the Hotel Staff. A quiet location with excellent beds, with rooms that are very well appointed ! The room rates are very reasonable and the hotel location lends easy access to the City of Halifax and the Halifax Internation Airport. Free parking as well as free breakfast are definite bonuses !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Comfort Hotel in April for 3 nights on business. The hotel is very modern and provides exceptional value for the amenities. The onsite restaurant was excellent and the staff were first rate. All the hotel staff we encountered were friendly and quick to greet you.

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The walls are a little thin and we could hear our neighbours on either side of us but it wasn't excessive.

I used the gym which was satisfactory for my needs. The breakfast in the morning was great, best free breakfast I've had anywhere.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was much better than the Westin in Halifax and a lot less expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewBrunswickChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Chose the hotel based in part on Tripadvisor reviews. It is indeed a pleasant clean modern hotel with attractive good-sized rooms. Our room on the 4th floor had a refrigerator. Staff were friendly and helpful. The included hot breakfast was better than average for the price range. Nicely tiled long pool, perfect for lap swimming, open from 7 am to 10 pm, and equipped with a cedar sauna instead of the usual hot tub. Fitness room has treadmill, bike, elliptical, and a weight bench with a reasonable selection of hand weights. Good bathroom (with a hair dryer hidden in a little black bag at the back of a shelf under the sink, not easy to spot).

It's easy to get to, right off the highway. Has an OK attached restaurant (and they gave us discount coupons). There is a big shopping area with all the usual big box stores and restaurants about 5 minutes away.

But a few things were less than perfect. In our room with 2 queens, there was one floor lamp behind the armchair and one wall lamp between the 2 beds. Good light for one side of the bed but not for the other. And there was no desk, just a little round table with 2 chairs.

The biggest annoyance though was that sound from the TV in the next room was faintly audible in our room all day long. Our neighbours did turn it down after 10 pm, in accordance with hotel policy, but I expect better sound insulation between rooms in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_from_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was my first time staying in Halifax, and I'm glad I picked this hotel. The room was larger than I expected, clean, modern and spacious. The staff and the restaurant manager were nice and friendly and tried to make sure you were happy. The price of the hotel was very affordable, so with all the amenities of having an included continental breakfast, new facilities and a nice room, and a very nice and helpful lady at the front desk, Josee, it made my stay pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Deciding not to stay in downtown Halifax on a recent business trip was the right move. The Comfort Hotel in Bayers Lake is not only well appointed, clean as a whistle, but it is considerably less and offers way more "comforts" like a free drink on check in, free breakfast that includes everything and free parking ($16 a night in downtown)
The best part though was the service, all the staff were excellent. Josee on the front desk was friendly and professional, able to assist me with directions, and was genuinely interested in ensuring my stay was the best. I had been on the road for ten days at that point, staying at a different hotel each night and this one was the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was there for business for 2 days and it was a great experience. The room was comfortable and Josee and Jessica from the front desk made me feel special very friendly. The restaurant has excellent food and the prices are fair the staff is friendly . I travel all the time and this hotel is one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Property: Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing