We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of hotel value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A lot of hotel value for the money”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

All rooms have microwave and mini refrigerator. Included breakfast offered lots of choice in hot and cold food and beverages. Great value! Although this is not a downtown location, there are many restaurants and a multiplex cinema nearby plus lots of shopping. Although I prefer a downtown location, the combination of value and nearby amenities make this an excellent choice - one of the best hotel values in the greater Halifax area.

Room Tip: All rooms have microwave and mini refrigerator. Included breakfast offered lots of choice in hot and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    146
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
341
427
37
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed here in December of 2011. Staff were very friendly. The rooms were nice, very clean and quiet. The hot breakfast in the morning (free) was great too. I would definately recommend this hotel...and I am picky :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have stayed at alot of hotels in the past year due to business and a family member ill , but have never experienced such great service as I recieved from front desk staff ! They were super friendly , chatted it up with me, it was like I knew them forever . The room was beautiful , free movies , blue-ray player in my room, free full breakfast , free internet , my favorite part was getting to make my own waffles , ;) prices were great , building was super clean , housekeeping staff was even super sweet , I would recommend this to everyone , and have . You will never find a greater place to stay, I will be staying there from now on when I visit the city . I think this is the best place to stay in the city , and after staying here all other hotels would be a disappointment. Look forward to my next stay which will be very soon , ;)

Room Tip: I cant see any room being a disappointment , the facility is beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelledddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We decided last minute to spend the night in Halifax on a shopping trip. Because its been a few years since we've been to Halifax, I looked at tripadvisor reviews. This hotel was rated number one, this surprised us a little as it isn't in the downtown core. We booked here because of location. Comfort Hotel is located on the western part of the city right in the big box shopping, IMAX theatre area. Perfect for us.

The first thing we noticed when we got to the lobby was how clean and new smelling the hotel is. Nima checked us in. She is a lovely woman who immediately told us she upgraded us from a regular King room to a suite at a no extra charge. We were delighted to hear this. She then gave us complimentary beverage coupons for the little bar in the hotel, as well as gave us a coupon for 10% off in the restaurant, told us we had complimentary soft drinks in our room, and mentioned the free hot breakfast. First impressions, great. We arrived in the lovely junior suite on fourth floor, room 408. The room had an extremely comfortable king sized bed, nice little sitting area with a sofa(bed), free wifi, decent sized bathroom, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a 42" flat screen tv.

As for the breakfast, it's a nicely decorated room with adequate seating, a flat screen tv and selection, there were pancakes, sausages, waffle maker, scrambled eggs, potatoes, yogurt, some fresh fruit, three cold cereal choices, pastries, coffee, and juice. we were impressed. Especially as we find Canadian hotels are usually lacking when it comes to the complimentary breakfasts.

I don't have any negative comments about this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming into Halifax. It isn't in the downtown core but Halifax isn't a large city and it's really easy driving on the 102 to anything you want to reach downtown. We will definitely stay here again. It's great value at $99 nightly.

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countdown6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now. Unbeleivable service from the front desk, housekeeping staff and the restaurant.

3 times in a row- Clean rooms, Great breakfast, exceptional service and overall a wonderful experience at a very reasonable price.

By far, the place to stay at if you are in Halifax. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

First an foremost we would like to say that we were their on our Honeymoon last June and the service, respect and hospitality given to my Husband and I during our stay was so fantastic and two very special people who work their named NIMFA and MARK BARRETT went above and beyond their jobs to make our stay as special, memorable and an exceptially pleasent expierience we will cherish for the rest of our lives... We wish to come there again for our 1st wedding anniversary on June, 21st , 2012 and look forward to seeing NIMFA and MARK BARRETT during our stay as well as the staff in their restaurant inside the hotel which was indeed a very beautiful atmosphere and service was such a wonderful expierience as well...We would recommend anyone who may be planning on going to Halifax stay at this Comfort Hotel @ 88 chain lake drive, Bayers Lake Buissness Park , Halifax Nova Scotia we promise you will be pleased by the exceptional treatment you will recieve from the staff in the hotel and their restaurant inside the comfort hotel ...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandkathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2011

we have stayed at this hotel twice in the past 5 weeks. The service is absolutely fantastic! Our arrival was effortless and the staff couldn't do enough for us . Thanks to Nimea and staff for looking after us so well. I have travelled quite a bit but this hotel is the best by far. The breakfast was beautiful and well organized! When we stayed here in Nov our trip was cut short due to a death in my family. I didn't get his name but the gentleman at the front desk was so attentive and sympathetic to what was going on with us! Thank-you Comfort Inn we will choose you as our home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,861 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Property: Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing