We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamacian in Halifax”
Review of Caribbean Twist - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caribbean Twist
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Jamacian in Halifax”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A taste of the Caribbean. The Twist favourite for me is the Ox tail - so yummy. The brave can go for the Jerk Chicken all accompanied by traditional rice and peas, or cabbage. Located in the Hydrostone Market it makes for a pleasant dining experience. They certainly aim to please.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DARTMOUTH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do the Caribbean Twist!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Amazing Food, great atmosphere. They aim to please and they succeed!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Troyena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“I hope the owners read this”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Okay...my second review. Here is my problem... i like Caribbean food.... and this is the only place in Halifax that serves it. The food is decent for Caribbean food.... so I enjoy it. However everything else about this restaurant is a disaster. The server is lost and slow, the owner or whomever shows up to take the order has no people skills, common sense or a pencil or notepad to take our order. The food takes forever to get to you even though it is all sitting on a hot table ten feat from us. The owner or whoever he is... he never greeted us properly, never told us his name etc... what a joke. We were ready to order when we came in and told them that.... nope... sit down wait... oops no pencil... oops no pad to write down order..... He couldn't believe we were drinking water with our meals and tried to upsell us to mango juice he freshly squeezed... less than an ounce sample...in an unclean shot glass.. then insulted us by saying we should at least have ordered mineral water. No follow up by the server... the room was not set up properly, location poor, no parking,... it just goes on.. then the lost guy could barely process the payment for the bill... just took forever. This place opened because someone with no restaurant experience, work ethic, passion, or competence thought he could do it.... I am embarassed that I returned to eat there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrekman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Decent Jamaican food in shoddy restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I don't even know if you can call this a restaurant....... It's like a corner store, cafe and hot table mated. Crappy tables in a run down old building. To order you go to cash register and try to get the attention of the workers who aren't interested. Then you get some decent food. The curry n roti is good. I found the portions small. It is the only real Caribbean option in Halifax though.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrekman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Twist also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing