We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little bit of 1812 history”
Review of Old Burying Ground

Old Burying Ground
Ranked #22 of 137 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1749, this is Halifax's first cemetery.
Ajax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a little bit of 1812 history”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

nice historical plaques on heroes of naval battles of the war of 1812 and on the evolution of grave markers

it was hard to figure out where the military graves ware

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    84
    28
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A must-see for old cemetery fans and history buffs”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you are a cemetery fan, I can't recommend the Old Burying Ground enough!! It's also known as St. Paul's Church Cemetery. The place was opened in 1749, the same year as Halifax was founded, and contains the settlement's first burials. What makes it so cool, is that it was CLOSED in 1843...so all of the tombstones and burial sites are from 1749-1843. That means the newest tombstone is 170 years old! It is a beautiful, fascinating cemetery, and I would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scootermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating Old Cemetery”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tucked between the old churches and modern buildings The Old Burying Ground (also known as St. Paul's Church Cemetery) founded in 1749 is an historic cemetery in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. It is located at the intersection of Barrington Street and Spring Garden Road in Downtown Halifax. So pretty much smack dab in the middle of downtown Halifax.

I have always had a fascination with history and old cemeteries (the older the better) and personally love taking a leisurely stroll back in time. Let me tell you that this one did not disappoint in that department. Every step I took was out of respect and reflection of days gone by. So many questions come to mind as you wander around looking at the various different headstones. The tombstones and burial sites here are from 1749-1843. So very very old. There's a whole lot of history packed beneath these stones - as in, thousands of bodies buried despite the far fewer tombstones you'll see above ground.

Time has not been gentle on most of these very old headstones.
Sadly a lot of the tombstones were vandalized or destroyed by hurricane Juan BUT It is great to know that now there is an effort to restore them. So As much as you want to DO NOT RUB headstones. This hobby defaces old markers, which equates to erasing historical records that may be important for genealogical research or other purposes.

While in Halifax I highly recommend visiting this old cemetery. It is an interesting place full of history of days gone by. As always I recommend bringing your camera and maybe trying to catch a few ghost on your visit :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For history enthusiasts”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Old Burial Ground was close to our hotel, The Waverley and we passes it several times a day so spent 15 minutes looking around.There are some information boards detailing the graves of historic individuals buried sine the city was founded-worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic Gravestones”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This graveyard looked very pretty at dusk. We enjoyed looking at the old gravestones and finding stones from the 1700's

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyZeeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Burying Ground also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Old Burying Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing