We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exhibits are always interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History

Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History
Ranked #28 of 134 things to do in Halifax
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Here visitors can learn about eastern Canada's indigenous flowers, plants and wildlife.
halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exhibits are always interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Went to see Sue the T-Rex, they did a great job displaying her and the history of dinosaurs. Lots of goodies for kids to learn and explore.

Helpful?
1 Thank abbyaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    62
    24
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“need to know”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Everything you need to know and more, interesting if you like history and like to read. Can spend alot of time here

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank beachbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great museum overall, good traveling exhibits, but static exhibits need updating.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

All of my life I've been going to the NS Museum and always loved it. This year bought myself a membership/pass which I may or may not use much but glad that I did anyway. Miss the exhibits depicting various dwellings from Nova Scotia's past, and also miss the large stagecoach but still many interesting things, especially for kids. They'll often have exhibits with live reptiles, or butterflies, or other such things. My only complaint is that many of the exhibits that are there haven't changed since I was a child. To keep things fresh for locals, I think the static exhibits need to be updated more than once every 20 years or so.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank KittyKisses71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We went on a Sunday morning in June 2011. We hadn't been to this museum in a several years, and I was looking forward to seeing it again. Unfortunately, there wasn't much there that interested me. Perhaps if you have never been there before you might like it better.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

A small & inexpensive museum that thoroughly explains Nova Scotia's natural history. Hands-on stuff for kids, good collection for adults. Well worth the walk from downtown.

Helpful?
Thank OldSalt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing