We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing on the boardwalk besides the oyster house chowder :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HMCS Sackville

HMCS Sackville
Ranked #10 of 137 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: HMCS Sackville, the last remaining Flower Class corvette in the world, symbolizes the extraordinary effort of Canadians seventy years ago during the Second World War. Restored to her wartime configuration she serves as a museum and memorial to those lost during the Battle of the Atlantic and to honour those who serve and continue to serve in the Naval Service of Canada. HMCS Sackville is berthed at Sackville Landing adjacent to the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic in the summer and in HMC Dockyard during the winter.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best thing on the boardwalk besides the oyster house chowder :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Very very interesting and fun tour of a ww2 vessel. Kids were mesmerized. A must-see!!!! Skip the maritime museum if you only have a bit of time. This is much better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    104
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our first time on a warship! It was nice to move freely about and explore at our leisure. It was an interesting glimpse into the life of navy men during WWII. My son was impressed by the canteen and a staff member helped my daughter into hammock. Very cool! Such a small kitchen for two cooks to feed 90 sailors! I wish I had known about the guided tours. I think I would have gained more insight into life onboard. But we enjoyed it nonetheless. Inquire about a tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank to_travel_is_my_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Make sure you take a guided tour of the ship -- the guide will be able to show / explain much of the details to you. We had a great guide (Kathleen O'Brien) who was very helpful in explain things to us (and answered all of our questions).

We purchased our entry ticket at the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic (they had discounted Adult entry tickets).


If you are visiting downtown Halifax, and you enjoy history, you should visit this ship.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller-BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brave men honored by their country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

A small ship with a big job: escorting convoys across the Atlantic during WWII. Superbly restored to 1940's condition and fitted with taped narrations in a number of areas to explain the functioning and living conditions. This is Canada's official Naval Memorial, and they have done it right.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thirdgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An important piece of Canada's wartime history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a mustn't miss attraction along the gorgeous Halifax harbour boardwalk. The ship is a Flower-class corvette, the last of her type. Like the rest of the Flower-class corvettes, Sackville is named after a Canadian town (Sackville, NB). If you are Canadian, your hometown may have had a similar ship named for it. The ship and its RCN crew served in the Battle of the Atlantic, the Second World War's longest battle. It is officially Canada's Naval Memorial, honouring those who served in the navy during wartime. There are also a number of more traditional stone memorials nearby and along the boardwalk. Volunteers and the present-day RCN largely keep this ship afloat. I had a lovely conversation with Dennis, a guide who served aboard WWII-era RCN warships in the 50s and 60s. Be sure not to miss this important piece of Canada's naval history.

Helpful?
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HMCS Sackville also viewed

 

Been to HMCS Sackville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing