We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Halifax
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at the hotel with my husband and four young children. Fantastic to find a hotel which can accommodate a large family yet still be competitively priced. Nicely renovated room, very clean and tidy. Complimentary breakfast good and very friendly staff. Would recommend and certainly stay again on any future visits to Halifax.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fruity34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

A slight confusion getting there from the airport. The instructions say to exit motorway and follow Hammonds Plains Road. The sign names the road with an arrow pointing left. Wrong!.. it's right! Apart from that, we found the hotel to be in a pleasant location, not far from the city,clean and with very friendly staff. I suppose in high season the breakfast area could get crowded. Just go down a little earlier. A second cup on the veranda overlooking the water was very homey. The anti smoking zealots will squirm at this,but one of the reasons for our choice was that smoking rooms are available..hooray. A good spot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cojacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Don't know where the previous person was staying but it was not here. Absolutely not run down. Stair configuration is a bit unusual because the building is stepped up a hillside. Great service. Great price. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutchx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

First room we got the lights in the bathroom did not work. So they had to switch us. Room is a old and run down. Elevators are far and weird stairs in between floors which makes dragging suitcases a bit of a pain. Breakfast is the usual continental spread. Only good thing is the waffle machine they have. Get down early or there will be a line up. This establishment needs a renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We picked this motel because it was sort-of halfway between the airport and downtown Halifax and we had to do some airport pick-ups for our group of 6 plus wanted to be able to get into Halifax for sightseeing. The desk staff was VERY helpful and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated plus spotless. The breakfast room at the front is comfortable and you can see the Bedford Basin out the windows. Loved having a waffle maker that made 4 little waffles as well as a regular one. There is an indoor heated pool but I didn't try it. The only negative about the Comfort Inn is that there are hallway levels which make hauling suitcases to the room a little bit of a hassle....couldn't use the cart. This place is a good value and the location is good. The fact that the staff is so helpful really makes it special. We're going back!

Room Tip: ask about room 'level' if you have lots of suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Its a nice hotel, ok price for the rooms. Its really clean and large rooms! nice breakfast food and area! over looking the bay! but,, really noisey room, you can hear people walking around upstairs, toilets flushing, people in the hallway. A/C is noisey. Bit if your a good sleeper it really is a nice friendly place to stay with a safe carpark.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackerpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our family of 5 plus our Goldendoodle spent 3 nights at this Comfort Inn and we loved it.
Location - perfect - it only takes about 15 minutes to get "downtown" Halifax - close to good restaurants and convenient to shopping.

Property - situated across the street from the Bedford Basin so lovely view of Dartmouth, the bridge and the ships coming and going (we saw lots of ships being brought into the Basin to get out of Hurricane Irene's way!). Outside of hotel was well maintained and looked very welcoming. Although you're on a busy street with a train track right in front of the hotel, you dont hear a thing and our room faced the front! Clearly they spent money on the windows, obviously if you open the windows you'll hear things but we slept right through the storm!

Staff - very friendly, extremely helpful - they even called the Citadel to see if we could bring the dog with us! Gave good recommendations on restaurants etc. Thanks Synthia! Thanks for the recipe Janet!

Room - #200 - large room with full kitchenette, 1 bedroom with a double and the main room had a double plus pull out couch - perfect for 3 teens to sleep, TV in each room. Enough room for all of us to not feel cramped. Very clean over all and kitchen had everything you'll need. Balcony/patio was very large and had table/chairs. Bathroom was a little small but worked well and clean - just needs a better exhaust system for the steam etc. - that would have been my only "complaint" was the bathroom ventilation. Nice shower though! Indoor pool looked nice but we were too busy to use it....you could hear the guests in the pool while we were in the room but it closes at 10 so it wasn't an issue.

Breakfast - fresh baked muffins, croissants, cinnamon buns, good coffee plus the usual cereal, fruit, yogart etc. We loved the waffle machines - nothing like fresh hot waffles in the morning!

Overall a great stay and would definitely stay there again if we ever go back to Nova Scotia!

Oh and we got a good deal on room rates by booking online with Comfort Inn early! If you want really good pizza - deep dish - order from Papa Mario's

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taximom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
1,073 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Halifax

Address: 560 Bedford Hwy, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 2L8, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Halifax
#9 Family Hotel in Halifax
#11 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Halifax 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Halifax is near the downtown city centre. Business travellers will appreciate the convenience of an on-site business centre with a computer with internet access and fax machine.Guest rooms include refriderators, microwaves, irons & boards, hair dryers and cable TV. Some rooms are available with kitchenettes or whirlpool bathtubs.The perfect combination of convenient access to popular local attractions and great guest services makes the Comfort Inn a great place to stay in the Halifax Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Halifax Hotel Halifax
Halifax Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing