We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
57
65
27
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
65
27
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeggy's covecontinental breakfastfront deskbayers lakewaffle machinelarge tvbed pillowsbig box storesshopping districtgreat wifibudget hotelindoor poolshort drive to downtowneast coast tripwould stay againroom was cleanconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 157 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2016

We were upgraded to a suit as they were full, the room was great - large and clean with a nice bathroom and sofa bed, large TVs Fridge , micro wave and small sink and one of those [ awful ] Kurig machines that all places now seem to have; then glass paneled doors to the bed room with a king size bed that was super comfy.

The staff were friendly and there is plenty of parking. Free Wifi and continental breakfast - the only reason we didn't put excellent for the money - was the ' dining area ' is tiny - way too small for the number of guests. We were there Fri night for work on Saturday , we were early so got a seat and had a really quick bite as people were standing and waiting and filling the foyer area.

There was a meeting room off the area and really if they are going to offer breakfast they need to make that a breakfast area in season too, or encourage people to take breakfast back to their rooms.

We would stay again - we'd just sort our own breakfast out.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quiet but all fine
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank philandrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you were happy with your upgrade to the two room suite and enjoyed the nice king size comfy bed. It really is all about the extra amenities such as the microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker and DVD player that help make our guests’ stay enjoyable. It’s true our breakfast area is small especially when we are full and we do open the meeting room when it isn’t in use but unfortunately it really is based on availability.
Again, thank you for all your comments and we will make sure to share them with our team!

We are glad you would stay again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Service was great upon check-in. Room was clean and because we were on the 2nd floor, we were able to open the window for fresh air. Location is at one end of Bayer's Lake Industrial park, so we had lots of choices for a place to eat plus it's right beside the Bay Road which is a fairly quick way into Halifax. Coffee machine, microwave and fridge all provided.
Continental breakfast was good, hot items provided were scrambled eggs, sausage patties and a waffle maker. Also, yogurt cups, dry cereal, fresh fruit, muffins, juice and coffee.
The only small glitch was access to wi-fi which was quickly remedied by girl at the front desk.
Also a heated pool provided which we didn't use.

Room Tip: Able to open windows on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Hi John M.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor with regards to your stay with us! We appreciate all feedback our guests may have as it enables us to focus on any missed details. We are so pleased you found your room to be clean and enjoyed the window that opens along with all the amenities. We are glad it was just a slight glitch with the internet and out guest service agent was able to get it quickly remedied!

Thank you again for all your wonderful comments and we certainly hope to see you again in the near future!

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Located in Bayer Lake area, the Coastal Inn is well located for trips into downtown Halifax or Peggy's Cove. The staff are wonderful - dealing with internet and tv problems with smiling assistance. The room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and adequate. I would recommend this accommodation if staying in Halifax and not wanting to stay in the heart of the city.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank jpatto26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

HI jpatto26,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had a great experience and found your room comfortable and clean. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff who assisted you with the internet and TV. We will make sure to share your comments with our team as they love reading what our guests have to say!

Thank you for saying you would recommend us to others and we certainly hope to see you again!

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

The Coastal Inn was only a few hundred metres from the trade show venue we visited for two days. The room was clean and satisfactory lacking for nothing needed by low maintenance folks.

The evening and morning staff were very helpful and courteous.

The breakfast was just a tad under my standard. I like protein with my breakfast. The hardboiled egg wrapped in cling wrap was a little small, especially when layers of the egg stuck to the cling wrap as I unwrapped the egg.

We visited on a week-end so the place was full of children, hockey players, swimmers and what-not. Having exceeded my three score and ten, the kids didn't bother me in the least. They were having lots of fun but not noisy and not bothersome!

To me 'value' is the combination / balance of cost and quality. Our stay was great value.

Room Tip: This is close to Exhibition Park - really great for exhibitors and visitors. It is miles from downtown Halifax.
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irwinjudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Hi Irwin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for mentioning that you found our staff to be courteous and helpful.

We are glad you did not find it too noisy with the teams as they are usually quite good and respectful of other guests which is nice to see.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

We got a double queen room for under 100$ (thanks trip advisor!) and we're booked in quickly. Room was very clean and well equipped although I would have liked more soap. There's also a pool and a Continental breakfast, neither of which we used due to time constrains. I definitely recommend

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank natalie_leclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Hi Natalie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning the clean and well equipped rooms. Although we offer 2 bars of soap per room, please never hesitate to call down to our Guest Service and they would be more than happy to provide you with another bar of soap.

Again, thank you Natalie and we hope to see you again in the future!

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews