We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, well kept, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastal Inn Halifax
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, well kept, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Like i said in the title, the place was clean, beds were nice and comfy. large LCD tv on the wall but the cable was not HD so kind of a let down, but not there to watch TV anyways. Can watch HD at home.

Friendly staff.

Ask for a room on the back side of the property away from the highway as it can get noisy with truck traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter than those facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyBeach313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Freddybeach 313

Thank you for your reviews on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. Your kind comments with regards to the cleanliness of the rooms, friendly staff and the 42” Flat screen are much appreciated. We will be sure to share them with our team.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Halifax.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
47
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
364 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff was so incredibly friendly both day and night. True maritime hospitality. There was no extra charge for having a dog in the room and the bowl at reception had complimentary bags with a poop bag and 2 dog cookies in it. Very welcoming and no issue taking dog through front and up the stairs. Breakfast included but the breakfast helper was not helpful when the waffle maker had an issue. She made it my issue instead of just fixing it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Kulbi,

We truly appreciate all your comments and thank you for taking the time to express your views on Trip Advisor as this enables us to make sure we are doing things right or to help correct any areas of concern.

We love having our four-legged furry friends stay with us and thank you for mentioning our complimentary “snack” bag for the pets and how great you found our front desk staff to be.

We apologize that our breakfast attendant was not as attentive as she should have been and will be sure to address your concerns to our staff.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Coastal Inn for one night on August 6. We selected this hotel because it was in a convenient location for our reason to be in Halifax. The front desk clerk there for our arrival was very friendly and helpful. The room had everything that we needed. We especially appreciated the mini fridge. The king size bed was comfortable and I liked the idea of having a duvet with sheets on top and underneath it. I find bedspreads to be a bit of a turn off in hotel rooms because I have to question how often they get cleaned. The air conditioning worked great in the humid weather. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. We were there early and there was very few people then. We thought the price for our room was very reasonable for a stay in Halifax during tourist season. We have paid a lot more for a lot less in some of the prime tourist spots in Nova Scotia. We had no complaints during our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for comfort, cleanliness and value.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Cynthia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning how you enjoyed the amenities in your room such as the mini fridge and so glad you found our beds to be comfortable and clean and how the air conditioning was in working order.

We are happy you found the price to reasonable for the quality you received and we hope to see you again in the future if you decide to visit Halifax again!

We truly appreciate all your comments and will be sharing them with our team as they love to read how their guests enjoyed their stay with us!

Thank you again and have a wonderful summer!

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were in need of a break and found this hotel on an online site with an excellent rate. We were pleased with our king-sized bed, bar fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee machine, large TV and screen door we could open in the patio doors of our ground floor room. Also the ceilings seemed higher than most hotel rooms, which we liked.

The staff were friendly and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We enjoyed the pool and the WiFi worked just fine.

We were pleasantly surprised with the location upon arrival. Close to highways we wanted to connect to. The Canadiana Restaurant at the hotel next door, as well as Tims, Starbucks, Wendys all within walking distance.

The only things to note would be that the continental breakfast can be a bit cramped, but there is an additional room for seating, just be patient for the waffle maker - 2 minutes seems to take forever!

We had an odd smell in our room, which I don't think is the norm and we did not find it bothersome enough to ask to be moved. It was our suspicion that someone had smoked in the room or outside the room and therefore the room had been "freshened" before our arrival with that smell lingering. This wouldn't prevent us from coming here again though.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor near the end of the hall. Didn't seem to have much foot traffic and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValleyTraveler1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi ValleyTraveler 1994,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! We appreciate all your comments and how pleased you were with the king size bed and all the amenities we offer in our guestrooms such as the mini fridge and microwave to name a few.

Our guests love our ground floor access and glad you liked it too as well as our convenient locaiton! All the complimentary extras we offer such as the Coastal “plus” breakfast and wi-fi are just a few things that make it more convenient for our guests while travelling.

We had had our maintenance supervisor go in to re-clean the carpet just to make sure there was no more lingering smell so thank you for advising us of that!

Again, we really do appreciate your comments and we will make sure to share them with our team! We hope to see you again in the future if you visit our beautiful city again!

Warmest regards,

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Coastal Inn Halifax on July 20th & 21st and were very impressed by the extremely helpful staff and clean and well appointed rooms. Overall the hotel was good value and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi Martin,

Thank you for writing your reviews of our hotel with regards to your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad you were impressed with our friendly staff and clean rooms. We really appreciate your comments and will make sure to share them with our team!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel met all of our expectations. The room was very clean, had great wi-fi, big TV, got cleaned to our expectations every day and had lots of towels. The complimentary breakfast offered a great variety of hot and cold foods. The hotel has a Tim Hortons next door - very important!! lol! There are shopping outlets and a great mall within 5 minutes. It is right next to the highway , so easy access to Halifax, Peggy's Cove, etc. IT is close to everything, downtown, the boardwalk, etc. The pool was clean and open late. Finally, the staff was extremely kind and friendly. We stayed here for 6 nights and it was very affordable. AC, fridge, microwave, Keurig machine in room. Very convenient!

Room Tip: Great spot if you want to get out and visit the region.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher123696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi teacher123696,

Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews with regards to your recent stay with us! We are so pleased we met all your expectations including the complimentary breakfast, wi-fi and the cleanliness of your room and our pool.

Thank you for mentioning the convenience of our location where there is shopping and restaurants aplenty! It certainly is great to have Tim Horton’s next door and we are glad you found that to be a “plus”.

Our team will be thrilled with your comments on how friendly and kind you found them and I will make sure to share all your comments with them.

Thank you again for all your kind words and we hope to see you again in the future the next time you visit our beautiful city!

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ansonia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I never heard of the coastal inn. We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Halifax. It was so clean, beds comfortable. There was a washer/dryer down the hall which was very convenient since we have been traveling for over 2 weeks and could use clean clothes. The restaurant next door Canadiana was very good and we walked from our hotel. Breakfast was included too.

Room Tip: Wished there were more coastal inns around the USA
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Bilasi,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! Your comments are very much appreciated and we are so glad you were pleasantly surprised when you stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the clean rooms and comfortable beds and how convenient it was to be able to do your laundry during your extensive travel.

Thank you again for all your wonderful comments and we will be sure to share them all with our team!

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Comfort Inn Halifax
#18 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Future Inns Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Property: Coastal Inn Halifax
Address: 98 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing