We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastal Inn Halifax
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I never heard of the coastal inn. We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Halifax. It was so clean, beds comfortable. There was a washer/dryer down the hall which was very convenient since we have been traveling for over 2 weeks and could use clean clothes. The restaurant next door Canadiana was very good and we walked from our hotel. Breakfast was included too.

Room Tip: Wished there were more coastal inns around the USA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bilasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Hi Bilasi,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! Your comments are very much appreciated and we are so glad you were pleasantly surprised when you stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the clean rooms and comfortable beds and how convenient it was to be able to do your laundry during your extensive travel.

Thank you again for all your wonderful comments and we will be sure to share them all with our team!

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel while down for a wedding on a Saturday night early June. We were originally going to stay at The Comfort Inn but saw this hotel next door and decided to price check the two. The Coastal Inn was $40 less and had a pool which was a plus with a small child. The service from the beginning was above and beyond. Very accommodating.
We got a standard room with 2 queen beds and the room was very clean, nice and roomy.
The breakfast was good. Waffle machine and lots of other cold options.
The pool is open until 11pm and opens early in the morning so we were able to swim with our little girl before we left.
I forgot my earrings on the night table but didn't realize it until we were halfway home. I called the hotel and they sent the earrings by mail to my home address. They even paid for shipping.
If we're ever in Halifax again we will stay at The Coastal Inn. I really have nothing but good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mytimeisablur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewhalifax, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Mytimeisablur,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! We really appreciate it!

We are so pleased you chose to stay with us and were able to take advantage of our in-door pool and complimentary Coastal “plus” breakfast!

Thank you for mentioning you found your room to be nice and clean but most importantly, thank you for mentioning you found our guest service to be above and beyond and very accommodating. Our team loves comments such as these as they take pride in everything they do! I will definitely pass along your wonderful comments along to them.

Again, thank you for your lovely comments and we certainly look forward to seeing you and your family again the next time you visit Halifax!

Warmest regards,

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked this room through Expedia. It wasn't worth the $150 we paid (there must have been something going on in Halifax that weekend.. everything was expensive).

Here are the main points:
- The room was reasonably clean
- Water pressure in the shower was low
- Fitted sheet wouldn't stay on the mattress
- Free hot breakfast is not hot on the weekends (They do have waffles, but those machines are slow)
- Breakfast area is small
- Wifi was spotty during our stay
- Employees were friendly
- Mattress was soft. Some may like that, but my back was sore in the morning.

Would I stay again? I'd probably find somewhere else. We didn't hate the place, it just didn't grab us either.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewhalifax, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear ClubFred0

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us.

I am guessing you might have stayed with us on a weekend where there were different sports teams in the city. With regards to the rate, it does depend on what room type you reserved so that may have been the reason for your rate as we are not certain as to what room type you stayed in as we do have various room types including our two room suites.

With regards to the water pressure, we do have low flow shower heads as we are trying to do our part with being energy efficient and our guests would feel the pressure as being lower than some of their own homes.

We do offer a variety of continental breakfast food items each day but Monday to Friday we offer extra hot items on top of the waffles and hard boiled eggs for the weekends.

We do apologize if the wi-fi was spotty throughout your stay. This does tend to happen when we are full especially with most people staying in a room have an electronic device or two of their own. It is something to consider looking into to see if we can expand this capacity so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Yes, our breakfast area is certainly small when handling larger crowds and we would love to be able to expand it if we had the space to do so. Maybe someday we could look at doing just that!

We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and wish you had a better experience while staying with us.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention as we really do rely on comments from our guests to see what areas we may need to improve upon.

We hope you and your family have a lovely summer and maybe you may try us again sometime in the future.

Warmest regards,



Kimberly Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maryse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank tulp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Gertrud60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
1.5 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#21 of 28 in Halifax
225 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Chateau Bedford
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
332 reviews
3.9 mi away
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#27 of 28 in Halifax
198 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Address: 98 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $89 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing