We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel short walk to the waterfront.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Hotel short walk to the waterfront.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our Granddaughter held her wedding at the Lord Nelson. It was beautiful. The staff were so helpful bending over backwards to make sure everything was perfect and it was.The rooms were very clean,beds were comfortable. It is a great place to stay.We enjoyed supper in the dining room and also the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Our family had rooms plus suites . They were excellent. The staff are friendly and always making sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you Betty for allowing us to share in your very special occasion. It's very rewarding to receive some positive feedback since we have great practices in place to focus on many of the important details with weddings to allow the families to fully enjoy this special experience. I hope you were able to spend lots of time with family & friends and will think of us again when returning to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    405
    141
    56
    46
See reviews for
202
347
84
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel is better than you can even imagine. Everything is first-class, from the handsome lobby to the perfectly appointed rooms overlooking the lovely Halifax Public Gardens to the concierge service and fine wine list. The Lord Nelson embodies a stateliness and timeless luxury, but what makes this hotel so extraordinary is the warmth and personal service of the hotel staff. Upon check-in, I mentioned to the woman at the front desk, Julia, that we were in town to celebrate my wife's birthday, and was astonished when she sent a birthday card up to our room, which was exceptionally kind and thoughtful.

We were staying at the hotel with our young children and with our dog, who received upon check-in a welcome kit complete with dog bowl, VIP guest dog tags, treats and even a dog magazine -- talk about nice. Whether you're at the Lord Nelson for a formal wedding reception (there were a few of these during our stay) or just spending a leisurely few days with family, everyone -- to a person-- at this white-glove establishment will treat you like royalty.Thank you Julia and everyone at the Lord Nelson for a stay that we will always remember; we are already dreaming of a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Julia is certain an asset and very rewarding to know her efforts along with the service received met or exceeded your expectations. We are very pleased to offer our "four legged friends" a special welcome package to help their stay special as well. Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review and sounds like you are certainly a raving fan. Please come see us again when in Halifax and hope you're enjoying a terrific summer in your beautiful province.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Built in the 1920s, the Lord Nelson retains all the elegance of the Grand hotels of its era. With renovations in the last decade all the rooms are extremely well appointed with all the features expected in a top quality 21st century hotel.

The staff is friendly and professional.

The neighborhood sells the hotel, Spring Garden Road is a real down town community, with shops, boutiques, banks, restaurants, cinemas, and possibly the best grocery store in Nova Scotia. The Halifax Public Gardens are right across the street - a delightful place to bag lunch and watch ducks on a shady bench.

The Lord Nelson is central. It's in easy walking distance of museums, galleries, three university campuses, health services, theatres and concert venues.

Difficult to laud it enough. I have stayed at the Lord Nelson since the 1980s. It has been through at least one ownership change since then. That was when it picked up it's socks and became a truly "Grand" hotel again.

There are other quality hotels in Halifax, but they don't have what the Lord Nelson has - location in a vibrant urban community.

Room Tip: All rooms good. The rooms overlooking the Public Gardens are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you James for the very rewarding and flattering review. I am very proud of our historical product, central location and professional service team. Thank you for your loyalty and for noticing our efforts since we strive to be "the place to stay in Halifax". Hope we will continue to be your "home away from home" for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 1-week periods while my spouse was undergoing heart surgery. Very convenient as I could take a walk through the public gardens every day on my way to the Infirmary.
The room was clean and well supplied with bathroom supplies.
The bed was very comfortable.
Food served in dining room was very tasty and well presented.
Staff was very helpful & friendly.
My friend & I hope to stay there when we do our Christmas shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank erma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you Erma for your loyalty and for taking the time to share such a positive review. I hope your husband's recovery is exceeding expectations. See you again soon since the holiday season will likely be here again before we know it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prine Edward Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Mother daughter shopping trip to Halifax. Stayed at The Lord Nelson very easy check in, great rooms, excellent serivice we were pleased with everything. We will return to The Lord Nelson again, also is in a great location for walking the city !!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you Tammy for the recent stay and positive review. In looking at your photo it looks to me like you look more like sisters than mother & daughter. Hope you enjoyed what sounds like a very special time together. Please come stay with us again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for four nights, and received a free upgrade from a Classic Queen to a King suite. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Really enjoyed the Aveda products and complimentary water/tea. Some negatives would be that the adjoining street, Spring Garden Road, was a little scary at night - lots of people asking for money and people sleeping in the middle of the sidewalk. Parking was also a little confusing - make sure you park in P1 for elevator access. Otherwise, a great stay and very helpful and pleasant staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you Allison for recent stay and positive review. Unexpected upgrades are always nice so I'm glad you enjoyed this surprise. I can certainly appreciate your feedback regarding Spring Garden Road and can assure you we do our up most to communicate our needs since often enjoyed by many of our guests. My apologies for any discomfort or disappointment. I'm pleased you enjoyed our very popular Simmons pillow top mattress and Aveda personal care products. I hope you will come stay with us again when in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and son on our first visit to Nova Scotia. We are from the UK and picked the hotel for it's location to the airport as our beginning and end of our holiday. Our first stay was great we had a nice suite, valet parking and a great breakfast, things were good we were excited to begin our adventure in Nova Scotia. We then left for Cape Breton Island for a week and returned to our reserved suite, unloaded our suitcases waited at reception for 15 minutes amongst mayhem whilst the desk clerk ran into the back. This was followed by the arrival of the manager who instead of taking us somewhere private to give us an apology just informed us our suite had been given to a wedding party and they would pay for us to stay in another hotel in Halifax. We had no choice as we were leaving for the UK the next morning. We had to reload our suitcases and find this hotel and informed by their reception staff we had been given a basic room. The breakfast was poor. This was such a disappointment at the end of a great holiday. We strongly advise international visitors not to use this hotel as your room cannot be guaranteed even with a reservation.

Room Tip: Do not use you may choose a good room but they will give it to someone else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 768chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
I'm pleased you enjoyed your initial visit and can certainly appreciate your disappointment. My sincere apologies for this very unfortunate inconvenience. I can assure you we do our upmost to avoid such an occurrence however on the rare occasions this does happen it is usually a result of someone expected to checkout that was not able to leave. Our location is very close to a couple of hospitals and usually it is for medical reasons. We feel terrible when this happens and our policy is to pay for the accommodations elsewhere. This is often a result of very little notice which doesn't make such a situation easy. I am very sorry this happened to you and hope you will provide us the opportunity to change the poor perception we provided if you return to Halifax again in the future. I hope you enjoyed your time in our beautiful province and enjoyed a pleasant return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Property: The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing