We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 3 a.m. But we were met by a very friendly helpful receptionist. We enjoyed a wonderful sleep and the hotel has fantastic charm and atmosphere and is well located We recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay at a very comfortable classy hotel in Halifax.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BriandRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We consistently have guests arrive during our late night hours and understand importance of friendly staff. I'm thinking you must have been pretty tired so confident you enjoyed our pillow top mattress. Thank you for taking the time to share such positive comments. Hope you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city and province and enjoyed a pleasant return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    404
    141
    56
    45
See reviews for
201
347
84
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Almost 30 years have passed since we first stayed at The Lord Nelson Hotel. Back then it was one of Halifax's fine old hotels. Now it is refined, a gem within Nova Scotia's capital city. We had heard lots of talk about the recent renovations and were looking for an excuse to check them out.

We stayed there on Friday, April 25th, arriving ahead of schedule so we called enroute to request an early check-in. No problem at all; our room was ready. While on the phone we were given directions to the parking garage and instructions on the parking procedure. We received friendly greetings from the two gentlemen manning the front door, and another from the lady handling our check-in. Fast, friendly, and efficient; we were on our way to our room in no time.

Our room was 517, one of the Parkview suites. A wonderfully appointed space with a kingsized bed, separate living room (with gas fireplace), and a small kitchenette between the two rooms. There was plenty of space, enough to bring friends over and still be comfortable. If you were traveling with extended family, there was a connecting room and even an option to rent the three rooms in that area and secure it with your own access door. A great idea. The only detraction was the loud bathroom noise from the floor above as someone showered at 3:08AM. A minor, and short-lived, inconvenience.

There were dishes and cutlery in case you wanted to take advantage of the microwave, mini-fridge, and sink. There were great views on three sides of the suite; public gardens being the best. The attention to detail was great to see. Little things like a corkscrew, two complimentary bottles of water (Halifax water is fine to drink), bathrobes, and slippers.

Some more little details that add to The Lord Nelson's complete package: an iPad at the check-in desk in case you need to check the forecast or your flight time; grab an apple for a snack as you leave (or arrive); and a Globe & Mail in the morning.

We didn't have time (this time) to check out the restaurant or bar, so we'll have to plan a return visit. Soon. It was worth it.

Room Tip: Park side rooms provide a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandH_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Wow, so nice of you to come back after 30 years away. Pleased you were satisfied with service, product and value received. We are very proud of our commitment to our product and development of employees so feedback like your is always very rewarding. My apologies for noisy bathroom fan which would be annoying. We will certainly inspect to make sure working as required. The Arms recently opened in February with fresh new look and menu so confident you will enjoy when you return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We arrived at 4:30 pm to check and found that we had been upgraded to a King Suite...the down side was the room wasn't quite ready but we were given a voucher for beverages. Once inside the newly refurbished restaurant, we decided to stay for dinner. The wait staff were very professional and attentive. The food was reasonably priced.
The room was spacious, quiet and nicely appointed. Internet access was free with good reception. Suggestion...more distinct signage as one tries to work their way from the underground parking up to the Lobby. The one sign which says elevator is in a glass frame and not easy to spot. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2NovaScotians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and taking the time to share your positive feedback. Pleased you were satisfied with product, service and value received. We recently renovated our restaurant in February and receive lots of feedback regarding our fresh new look and exciting new menu so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience. My apologies for the confusion with parkade signage which I can appreciate. We are planning to add some additional signage in the near future in hopes of making access to and from parkade seamless. Hope you will come stay with us again when in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed two nights in a small room. The room was compact and functional but not squeezed - although there was a step up to the washroom. I say it is more than adequate for one person who is planning to be out of the room most of the time. The desk was usable, always an important point.
The service at the hotel has rough edges - my sense is this is a matter of training as many of the staff was friendly and nice, but the door service was quite deplorable, no baggage help was offered. Accessibility is also an issue for parking, be prepared for a long walk, possibly with stairs and no system to get bags out and safe before parking. I chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel because I found the price high, but fruit was available in the lobby and a very good coffee shop is found next door.
The location remains a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qcquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for coming back to see us again. I can appreciate your comments since we do offer a variety of different rooms that range is size. My apologies for the average service you received since very disappointing given importance of first impression and door service. The location of our parkade is under ground which you can access through a link from the hotel lobby. We also invite guests to arrive at our front entrance which is an alternate option that might be more convenient. Our new restaurant "the Arms" opened in early February with a fresh new look and exciting new menu. We believe our pricing is competitive with other hotels and similar food quality location however pleased we can offer several nearby options that many of our guests enjoy as well. Hope you will continue to come stay with us when in Halifax and always grateful to receive such helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was a very positive experience. The staff were very welcomig, friendly and sencere The rooms and all of the hotel was clean throughout. Very comfortable bed. It is a great location with a lovely park accross the street.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stratford25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you Stratford 25 for sharing such positive comments of your recent experience. We want our guests to feel satisfied and do our upmost to provide combination of clean product, good service and value. Please come stay with us again when in Halifax and bring all your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Business trips can be tiring but the warm welcome at the Lord Nelson helped me unwind. From the doormen welcoming me each time I returned to the desk staff,and even the cleaning staff anticipating my needs this is a hotel that treats the client like royalty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We price ourselves on our service since we understand this importance. Thank you sharing your positive experience and please come stay with us again when in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay. Lovely heritage building with completely updated rooms. Service was very friendly and fast. Indoor parking was a real treat with the winter weather. Love the morning paper delivered each morning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TJCraig4030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Pleased you were satisfied with your recent stay TJ. Thank you for sharing your positive experience and hope you will come stay with us again when in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Property: The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing