We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, beware of tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, beware of tiny rooms”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I originally booked a room that was supposed to be "one person size". I then changed to another room because I had a lady friend doing a sleepover with me. The room was supposed to be bigger. We walked in the room and it was TINY. Really, just big enough for the queen bed and maybe three feet on any side of it. The washroom was as small as possible. The door when opened came within an inch of the toilet. Other than Europe, this was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. But it's an old hotel, and rooms (and people, and their expectations) were much smaller way back in the yonder day. Other than the small size, the room was clean, modern, and nice. The bed was very comfortable with nice sheets and pillows. Great location for anything around spring garden road or the hospital. I didn't use the restaurant, so no comment there.

Room Tip: Ask to see if the room is regular size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I can certainly appreciate your feedback Wonkle and apologize for any discomfort. We have 262 that range is size and layout. I believe we have something for everyone which does include several smaller rooms I consider our "value rooms". These are often reserved by single travellers and/or couple that do not plan to spend too much time in the room who are looking for a great deal. We are planning to make a couple of layout changes in hopes of making our few smaller bathrooms more inviting. We like to focus on our cleanliness as well and pleased to offer a wide range of Aveda personal care products which are extremely popular which hope you enjoyed. If helpful you could also upgrade your room upon arrival for an additional nominal fee that would would provide added space, features and benefits. Hope you will come stay with us again when in Halifax and try another of our room types for added comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    411
    144
    56
    46
See reviews for
204
356
87
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with Olde World Charm for two nights as part of an organised tour and found it very nice although our room keys needing resetting and the ice machine on our floor was not operating. The laundry is good, but busy when tours are in so you need to pick your time. The machines use $1 coins not the normal 25c. The hotel is situated high up on the hill in Halifax near the Citadel and over the road from the Gardens which is very pleasant for a stroll. There is a supermarket nearby for supplies. However, it is quite a hike up from the harbour area so you need to be quite fit if walking. Hint for Seniors - ferry services across the harbour are free until 3.00PM on Tuesdays which makes a nice cheap sightseeing trip

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you Adrianne for your feedback and visit all the way from Australia. Pleased you enjoyed our product, service and mostly satisfied with value received. Many of our guests appreciate our laundry services, especially our extended stay visitors as well as tours. There are several ways to get to waterfront including one route that would avoid most hills. We offer a complimentary local shuttle service in the morning and agree with your excellent suggestion of fairy which allows you to enjoy beautiful view of both Halifax and Dartmouth. Hope you enjoyed your time in Nova Scotia and will one day return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was simply wonderful. The staff were helpful. knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were gorgeous. Modern, very clean and the beds were amazingly comfortable!!!
The Arms restaurant and service was excellent. Food very good although "pricey". Were I to stay here again, I would take advantage of the many restaurants in the immediate vicinity.
The location is excellent for conducting business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertam187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you Robert for recent visit and sharing your feedback. Pleased you enjoyed our product, service and satisfied with value received. We are planning to make a few shuttle changes to our menu in May. We believe our pricing is competitive and compliments are food quality. We are fortunate to be centrally located and close to many other popular restaurants. Hope you will come stay with us again and hope you enjoy a pleasant spring & summer in your beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This has been a fantastic place to stay for Cancer Chemo treatment. i have stayed at The Lord Nelson for 7 days at a time in each of 12 treatment cycles every 4 weeks over the past year and two months. The Lord Nelson Hotel has been a wonderful place to stay and to recover from Chemo treatment. All the staff have made my stays a wonderful experience on each occasion. It is a first class hotel in a very special location. In addition, the up grade to the Arms Pub has added a first class environment with a much improved menu. Well Done!

Room Tip: rooms 517, 617, 717, 727
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you Raymond for the compliments and loyalty during a very important time for you and your family. Pleased you find our staff pleasant, product comfortable, location convenient and enjoy our new menu and restaurant refresh. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and hope your treatment is exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stay at the Lord Nelson fairly often, and I really like it, for many reasons, including the location close to Dalhousie and Saint Mary's University.

I had two bad experiences in the restaurant, and I filled out the Comments card and this is the reply I got, which I think is awesome,

Good Day

I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out a comment card after your stay here at the Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites. We strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations, as well as keep up with the changing needs of our guests.
Without comments, both good and bad, we cannot continue to grow and improve as we would like.
As the Manager of The Arms I was particularly interested in your concerns with our food and beverage service. You had noted that your experience with our restaurant was below your expectations. This is certainly not the standard we pride ourselves in here at The Arms. I completely agree with your comments regarding your breakfast experience, having to wait for things (cream, coffee, your bill…), is not acceptable and I assure you your comment card was used in a recent meeting as an example of how important it is to be an organized, efficient server.
I was hoping that you wouldn't mind forwarding me your mailing address. I would like to send you, for your trouble, a gift certificate so that you can come back as our guest on your next visit to Halifax, and enjoy the type of service and hospitality that we expect to provide here at the Lord Nelson Hotel.

Thank you for your time and assistance,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Pleased we were able to recover from your initial impression and meet your expectations. I am very proud of historical hotel and love our central location which pleased you enjoyed. Hope you will continue to come stay with us when in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel has its nice moments
overall its a nice and good hotel
bed are good
rooms are ok
walls are thin
bathroom was just ok
has its moments of luxury but overall not a luxury hotel
check in was great
service was good

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and taking the time to share your feedback. Our desire is to further enhance our product which includes the recent additions of fridges in all rooms, new drapes, replacement of all our 50+sofa beds and complete refresh our of our restaurant. We have several more ideas which includes further upgrades to our guestrooms and in room entertainment which confident will add additional value to further compliment our historical property and perfect location. Hope you will come stay with us again when in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A beautiful, old hotel in the heart of Halifax. The hotel is located across from the Halifax Public Gardens and is also on the corner of Spring Garden Road, a popular thoroughfare in the city. The rooms were a very nice and clean, and the public areas of the hotel had a lot of old world charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank-you Joshua for recent visit and sharing your positive comments. Our location is ideal and centrally located in Halifax. Spring Garden Road boasts up to 200 retails shops and outlets so certainly something for everyone to enjoy. I'm very proud of our hotel and excited since local owner is very committed to making our property to perfect choice for any traveler. Hope you will come stay with us again when in Halifax and again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#6 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Property: The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing