We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The room was very clean but small for two ladies. i asked twice for a larger room but never received one. Asked for a refrigerator, told it was twenty dollars per night and still never received one. Friends checked in later than I and received larger rooms, refrigerators and microwaves at the same price I was paying for a small room with one double bed. I asked which room would one get for the advertised price of $139. but did not receive an answer.
Also we could not get the temperature below 22 degrees C which is quite warm for sleeping. However we did not mention this to the staff so cannot comment on whether it would have been fixed. Elevators very slow so try for a room on a lower floor, we were on the nineth. However the hotel was well situated, quiet, comfortable bed for one, loved the aveda products but probably won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KILBEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

The Lord Nelson is a lovely hotel across the street from the Public Gardens and around the corner from the Citadel. All of downtown Halifax is in walking distance and there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. It is tastefully decorated and has a very swanky hotel feel. I stayed in the Petite room which was fine for one person but would be too small for two. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and found the prices reasonable and the food good.

My one complaint would be the noise. The heating/air conditioning unit in the room had quite a loud fan which would literally wake me up when it turned on. As well, the doors to the rooms were difficult to close and people would pull hard to close them, with the resulting door slamming noise echoing through the halls.

Room Tip: ask to be overlooking the Public Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon01011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We read about the Lord Nelson in Frommers and as we drove into Halifax called to book a room. We were given an off-season discount. Everyone was pleasant and nice. We noticed that as we went to our room we passed a conference room but thought nothing of it. The second night we were there there was a LOUD party in the conference room. People were spilling into the hallway yelling to each other. We couldn't believe that they had placed guests on that same floor. When we called to complain, the hotel guest services said "we'll ask them to close the door". An hour later we called again, they told us "There isn't much we can do they are paying guests". My friend pointed out that we were paying for a night's sleep as well. She said they would discount our room. An hour later it was still loud in the hallway, we called an talked to the night manager who apologized and promised a discount on our rate. The party finally quieted down after 11 p.m.
The next morning, we went to the front desk to check out and they had no record of our discount. My friend was very firm and so the desk clerk disappeared to talk with her manager--who declined to come out and speak with us-- they finally said "Sorry, we don't usually put guests on the conference room levels, but you had a very good room rate, we can't do anything for you". My friend insisted so they comped our parking but it was an absolutely terrible experience. I have stayed in business hotels all over the world and have never had an experience like this. I would stay at any of the other hotels in Halifax before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcgirl4071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_MacDonald, Reservations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Dear dcgirl4071;

I would like to first, thank you for your feedback from your most recent stay. Feedback, both positive and constructive, is a vital tool for us to maintain and improve on all our standards and practices. We strive to deliver legendary hospitality to all our guests. Unfortunately, in your case, it appears, we may have fell short in our goal to deliver you with a wonderful guest experience during your recent visit to Halifax. On behalf of the hotel, I do apologize for your frustration in this regard. We have taken your feedback and as a team, we are using it to adjust some of our current processes so that other guests in the future will not have a similar experience as you have.

Once again, I do apologize for your experience, and can assure you that we take this type of feedback seriously, and will do what we can to have our guests with a positive memory of their time with us.

Thank you

Lawrence MacDonald
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I went to Halifax for a family wedding and satyed at the Lord Nelson.
I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.
There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel which is very British to be honest but not bad fior taht as the service is very Canadian and so excellent.
The location was good and when I rented a car, the satff told me exactly where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: Recommend for centre of Halifax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BulldogGdansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_MacDonald, Reservations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Dear BulldogGdansk;

Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. We are quite happy when we see this type of feedback where someone notes that our staff is "very pleasant and helpful". This is wonderful reinforcement for everyone that their dedication to guest satisfaction is being recognized.

I'm glad you enjoyed the meals at the Victory Arms Pub in the hotel as well. It does have a British charm, but as you most likely noticed, there is something for everyone on the menu.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Lawrence MacDonald
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Recently traveled to Halifax for a 4 day business stay and my hosts booked myself and several colleagues into the hotel. They "lost" our reservations initially and I spent about 35 minutes on the phone making certain that a room would be available on arrival. The hotel is fairly nice on the in and outside but the customer service and internet connections are terrible. The hotel staff insisted they would arrange for internet but they did not. For anyone who requires responsive, honest staff and a good internet connection forget this place. It did not help that I had several hundred email messages awaiting me when I returned to civilization.

Room Tip: ask for a nicer room, they have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprigget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_MacDonald, Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Thank you “sprigget” for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I would like to first apologize on behalf of the hotel given the issues you have documented in your review. I have attempted to get some further details around this by speaking with both the Front Office and Reservations staff to see if there was any gap in our process or anything with our system which lead to your internet issues. Although our goal is to ensure that your experience as a guest is the best it can be, it is obvious we need to address some issues around your stay.

If you would like to speak with me further about the details of your stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me via email at Lawrence@lordnelsonhotel.com as I would like to get some further detail.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The room and service were great! I booked the smaller room which was still big enough for one person or even two. The only negative point was the fact that the room was really cold and the heating system was loud.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_MacDonald, Reservations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Thank you JulD for your review of our hotel. We are very glad to hear that room and customer service was great, but I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel in regard to the heating unit in your room. We are always trying to isolate issues such as you have indicated in an effort to provide both the best service and best product, so we will certainly take your comments seriously and continue to drive for the best experience for our guests.

In the future, if you experience a similar situation, please do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff and we will make every effort to fix the issue right away.

Thank you again for your feedback

Lawrence MacDonald
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband went to University in Halifax and when he was a poor student he would walk by the Lord Nelson and swear one day he would come back and stay. Fast forward 20 years and we decided to take a trip to the East Coast and the Lord Nelson was the first place we went.
The suite was beautiful, spacious and clean. The view of the park was lovely and the service was tops. The bartender in the lounge entertained us with his quick wit and the front desk staff were helpful and pleasant, even helped me with a wardrobe malfunction on my dress!
After all these years his dream came true and it was better than imagined. We would recommend this hotel to everyone and to all those students walking by each day, study hard, work hard and celebrate your achievements at the Lord Nelson!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikimoo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_MacDonald, Reservations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Thank you Mikimoo56;

We really appreciate the kind words in regard to you stay with us. I have shared this with the staff of the hotel, as we take pride in our property as well as the customer service we provide. We hope you will come back and see us before another 20 years pass.

Thank you

Lawrence MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,083 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
The Westin Nova Scotian
#16 of 28 in Halifax
1,838 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $128 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing