We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievable hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unbelievable hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We requested an early check in as our plane landed at 6:30 am....arrived at hotel at 8:30 a.m to find staff awaiting our arrival and our room ready! Jamie had even upgraded our room to top floor corner suite with gorgeous view:-) Exceptionally welcoming friendly professional staff at check in.Suite is surprisingly large,clean with contemporary furnishings.Bed is sooo comfortable! Had a wonderful meal at the hotel restaurant..Ryan Duffy's and quick friendly room service as well. Had such a great experience here we decided to spend two more nights there...would highly recommend this hotel.Can't thank staff enough for their hospitality:-)

Room Tip: Ask for top floor corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lauriedrumheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Good afternoon to the both of you and thank you for your visit and review. I trust and hope your travels through Nova Scotia this week has been equally enjoyable. It was my pleasure to provide the upgrade and I look forward to hearing about your week in our wonderful Province when you arrive back with us tomorrow. By the way, it is Happy Hour in our lobby bar 'Fax tomorrow 4:30pm - 7:00pm, perhaps I will see you there.

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    304
    90
    32
    19
See reviews for
283
418
53
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with kids while visiting Halifax for work / March break vacation. Was one of best hotel stays - great staff very clean and awesome modern rooms. The pool and gym are also nice. Close to lots of restaurants and tourist traps. Perfect for family or business

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmyytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Good afternoon Jimmyytavel,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. It is great to hear that your stay with us was 'perfect' and we look forward to seeing you again.

Have a great day!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I travel all over the province of Nova Scotia for business. The Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax is now one of my favourite place to stay. The bed was comfortable, the view was outstanding, the best of all was the staff!! Lynn & Trevor provided exceptional service during my 4 night stay. A moment of truth touched me when I was checking out, I apologized to Trevor (valet) that I did not have any cash to offer any tip for his services during my stay. I offered to have the tip charged to my credit card, however it was not possible. Trevor gracefully said it was his pleasure to serve me. I don't review on tripadvisor often, but this story is definitely worthy to be told. :)

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suite - worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AC12345155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Good morning to you and thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate being your favorite place to stay while in Halifax and thank you for your business. I will be sure to pass along your praise of Lynn and Trevor to the two of them, as they are great at what they do and wonderful ambassadors of the hotel.

Thank you again and have a winderful day!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I travel to Halifax approximately 6-8 times per year for business and pleasure! The Radisson is a great property conveniently located downtown! Their recent renovation is so amazing and modern! The views of Halifax from the higher level rooms are beautiful. The suites are great.. The only comment I would have is that they include wine corkers in the rooms!
Other than that- we love it and try to stay there when we can!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good morning to you Marsha D,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. I am glad you enjoyed our recent renovation. In agreement and thank you for the tip, yes the view from our higher floors are beautiful and one of a kind. My apologies for the cork screw, but I trust our staff was able to provide one to you expeditiously. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one week in February for work. Although their business centre is very small (i.e. only 2 computers and a printer), the front desk staff was very accomodating and let me you use their office photocopy, etc for the work that I needed to get done. I also found the suites very nice, new, clean and spacious, the bathrooms quite nice, and the bed really comfortable. The pool and hot tub, are not luxurious, but still nice to have. Also the location is very central. I would certainly recommend the hotel for both business and leisure, and will be returning in May.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TalithaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good afternoon TalithaN,

Thank you for allowing us to host you for your week in Halifax! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate the feedback.

Thank you also for your review and we will see you in May!

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been staying at the radisson hotel Halifax for many years. I have always loved the hotel as well as the staff. The new renovations are wonderful,very tastefully done. The rooms are second to none. My wife and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Halifax. From the staff at the front desk to the doormen to the house keeping staff,you would be hard pressed to find better. They are all very friendly,and go above and beyond to make your stay as perfect as possible. The radisson is our home away from home.
We would highly recommend this hotel for its location, wonderful rooms, and the incredible staff.
Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good afternoon Reggie,

Thank you for your continued patronage and review. We appreciate being your hotel of choice when travelling to Halifax. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team, as they work had and appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your 'home away from home'.

All the best and have a great week!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've been coming to Halifax on average every four or five months, staying anywhere from a week to two weeks each time. After being "spoiled" with Starwood, I all but refused to stay anywhere but the Westin and Four Points. The Four Points, mostly for the Starpoints and cheap hotel room, and the Westin for a nice property.

Now don't get me wrong, I still enjoy the Westin, but I was pleasantly shocked by the quality of this Radisson location. The only other Radisson I have visited was such a horrible property that I was turned off the brand completely, but this particular hotel has given the Radisson brand another chance with me.

Both my boyfriend and I have decided that when possible, we will stay at the Radisson whenever possible, when we are in Halifax. The fact that every room is a suite is a major plus to me. The only other hotel reasonably close to offer an all suite hotel would be the Residence Inn, and of course the Radisson is leaps and bounds ahead in amenities. Plus, the Radisson has a great steakhouse, Ryan Duffy's, right downstairs. It is expensive for dinner, but they do have specials and I think it'd be worth the splurge every so often.

When checking in I was greeted promptly by a member of the hotel staff, and when asked my name, Jamie (the GM) was standing by and jumped in to the conversation when he heard my name. I was quite shocked that he recalled my name, stay, and a special request, from emails that took place weeks ago! Even during the last night's stay when we crossed paths in the lobby, he stopped me and asked how my stay was going.

As a Gold Elite member I walked in my suite to find a small gift basket with a bottle of Nova Scotia wine, and a bag of some sort of maple glazed nuts. There was also a personally written note left next to it, welcoming me to the hotel and wishing me a fantastic stay.

All of this is a far cry from the treatment I have received at any Starwood hotel, even with comparable reward status, which is what has lead us to deciding to stay with the Radisson during all future stays.

Ladies and gents, the Trip Advisor rating for this property is well deserved, and there's no reason in my mind why this property is rated as the number two hotel in Halifax.

Room Tip: As with any hotel in Halifax, a harbourview room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good morning Thomas,

I hope and trust you had a fabulous weekend! Thank you for your visit and it was a pleasure hosting you. I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We certainly appreciate the comparison and the time you took to draft your review. I will be sure to pass along your praise to the staff and they are here to welcome back any time. I look forward to making that next trip extra special also.

Until then.....

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing