We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for your dollar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for your dollar”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The business trip could be classified as abnormal but nonetheless, they were able to accommodate. We had 20 boxes of supplies arrive but there was no issue holding the, in their storage.

The reception staff, delivered phenomenal service (also very attractive), and looked after almost every need we had.

The only so,west negative aspect of the hotel was the restaurant at the bottom. Breakfast the one night was not worth the price compared to local alternatives, and we abandoned efforts to eat there the next day as we waited 10 minutes to be greeted and seated but no one ever approached us.

Summary - if Cat and Jessica are still working the front desk, this hotel is definitely worth a visit and stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jono A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good morning Jono A and I hope and trust you had a great weekend!

Thank you for your visit and review. I am glad that you found our staff to be 'phenomenal', as I could not agree with you more. I do want to apologize for your restaurant experience and I would like to assure you this is not the norm. I will be sure that your comment gets passed along to Ryan Duffy's for follow up.

Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you again!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    326
    96
    34
    21
See reviews for
308
450
53
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My Wife and I got married during Thanksgiving weekend this past October and booked the Radisson for all of our guests to stay at. The staff was unbelievably supportive and provided us and all of them with an exceptional experience. My wife and I were deployed overseas prior to our wedding so most of our planning was done via internet and emailing. Their sales staff made everything incredible easy for us and was very accommodating when we or guests had to make any changes. The rooms and the hotel are spectacularly re-done and their suits are perfect for weddings (lots of space to get ready in). We could not have picked a better location for us and our guest. The staff was incredibly kind and helped to make our day special! Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good morning Joshua K,

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing to stay with us at the newly renovated Radisson. I am happy to hear that our staff contributed to a memorable weekend for you and your wife. Perhaps we will see you again for a future anniversary visit.

Thank you for the review and have a great week!

Congrats again,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've been to Halifax many times for business and vacation, and this is the first time I've stayed at the Radisson. It is hands down the best hotel I've stayed at in the city, and the price was better than most.

All of the rooms are suites, and ours had a nice kitchenette, bar-height table, sectional pull-out couch in the living room, work desk, 3 TVs, and a beautiful bathroom. The bathroom mirror actually had a built-in TV with a waterproof remote.

The room was very clean and spacious, and we were able to save money by having the kitchenette. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel is located only a couple blocks from the waterfront.

Room Tip: They have nine floors, so anything 5 or above has a good view. Ask for a room with a water view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Good morning Jenn B!

Thank you for chosing to stay with us and writing your review. We appreciate your comments and fabulous comparison, as the 'best in Halifax'. We look forward to your next visit and being you new hotel of choice when in Halifax.

All the best and have a great weekend!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I always stay at the Radisson Halifax every time we visit Nova Scotia. Each and every time we are very pleased with the hotel. This past summer, we stayed there and saw the beautiful renovations! Wow is all I can say. Very modern update, exceptionally clean and the staff are super friendly. We enjoyed our stay immensely and highly recommend this hotel. We are very particular with the hotels we choose. You will be pleasantly pleased!!! The bar in the lobby is awesome and serves great wines. The bar tender was so friendly and we had a great chat with him while sipping our drinks!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yogagirl229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Happy Halloween yogagirl and good morning to you.

Thank you for your visit with us. I am happy to hear that we continue to exceed your expectations with each vist. Thank you also for the recommendation. We are very pleased with the feedback we have recieved on our new lobby bar 'Fax, so I am glad you got to enjoy it.

We look forward to hosting you both again!

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheticamp, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Renovated hotel, close to all downtown attractions, great view of Harbour on that side, not great parking access but it works ! Very modern rooms, and bathroom and shower....flatscreen TV excellent sleepware....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLAUDEBO88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good morning CLAUDEBO88,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time you are in Halifax.

Happy Halloween!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just experienced the newly renovated space and it is lovely - the relocation of reception works well, the icy pineapple water refreshing, the ambient lighting in the suite, the combination of textures warms the modern décor - loved it! So glad you didn't renovate the staff as they are excellent already - friendly, welcoming, efficient, and consistent. If you want a smooth stay in a central location in easy walking distance to different downtown attractions, this is it.

Room Tip: My view from my 8th floor room allowed me to watch 2 cruise ships leave port.The room had microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jansanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good morning Jansanity,

I would like to thank you for you visit and review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the new look, as we are very pleased with it ourselves. The lobby water has been a huge hit also. Our staff will surely be happy to hear of your praise of them, as they do a great job and I will be sure to share it with them. We hope to see you again real soon!

Happy Halloween!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

All the usual and more! Lovely clean room, great bed for sleeping, even a pillow I liked! But the service of all the staff is remarkable. Meghan greeted me warmly, by name, every time she saw me, Aaron and Ameila were equally friendly and helpful. The bartender was friendly, and makes a great martini! Excellent support through the business centre and having a few amenities available for those unexpected emergencies helped too!
I will definitely be recommending this Radisson to my family and friends, especially if they will offer their delicious 'pineapple water' again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 511Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good morning 511Sylvia,

It is great to hear from you and thank you for your review! I am elated to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the 'new look'. I would like to thank you also for the staff recognition as they work hard and appreciate it very much.

Thank you for your visit and we look forward to having you again for that next stay and martini.

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,871 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing