We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Three co-workers and myself stayed at the Radisson Sept21 to 25 for a Critical Care Nursing conference.The experience was amazing..the room beautiful the shower great View to Harbor fantastic I enjoyed watching from my room the Cruise ships sailing in and other activities in the waterfront.We were very well looked after by the staff from the moment we checked in to time we left..Trevor the Cioncierge was extremely nice and helpful to us he also assisted to arrange a tour to Peggys Cove and around Halifax. which was a great experience. What a pleasant and lovely man Trevor certainly does his job very well I sure hope his Boss compensates him really well.The complimentary coffee ,apple and fruit bar in the lobby was appreciated to start the mornings.I would go back to the Radisson in a heart beat and highly recommend this hotel to everyone.Great location. everything a stones throw from this hotel be it the museum,waterfront ,best bars and resturants and shopping the convention centre and many more.Left there with memorable and happy experiences. and Thank you again Trevor.

Room Tip: Stayed on fourth floor one bedroom suite room large and living room has a nice sofa bed small kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bibi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Bibi K,

I hope you enjoyed the nursing conference and had a safe trip home! It was a pleasure hosting you and your group. I would like to thank you for your praise and comparison. In agreement, Trevor is a true gem and we appreciate what he does and having him on the team. I will be sure he gets the recognition he deserves. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers and take you for staying with us,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    325
    94
    33
    20
See reviews for
302
447
53
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Léonard d'Aston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very nice hotel, located near the harbour, excellent service with Jessica M. and special thank to Barry for the beautiful room with view on the bay 704...WoW!! I would not hesitate to go back...
The room i have at the 7th with harbour views was excellent, a really large suite with great views.
The room was great, spotless and modern, and being centrally located was very important to me. i was able to explore on foot so many of the sites...

Room Tip: The qualite of the service is too much... in French if you need... Jessica M.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jean-Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Greetings Jean-Claude B,

Thank you for your visit and great review. It is a pleasure hosting you. Barry says hello and thanks you also. Our water views do offer that extra Wow and I am glad you got to experience it. Please feel free in reaching out to me the next time you are in Halifax and I will be ensure your next stay is equally enjoyable.

Passez une belle fin de semaine!

Jamie
jamie.bolduc@radissonhalifax.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

great place to stay.location is very good, a block from the harbor.my room half a fantastic view of the boats traveling through the harbor.the staff were excellent-they far surpassed expectations.I think it is the best hotel in Halifax.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank veedog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good morning veedog123 and thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate your comparison of 'the best', as that is what we strive for. We look forward to hosting you again.

Have a great weekend!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently explored the Maritimes, beginning and ending our vacation in Halifax, Nova Scotia. We stayed at the Radisson both times and totally enjoyed the experience. The rooms were great, spotless and modern, and being centrally located was very important to us. We were able to explore on foot so many of the sites that make Halifax so special. But it was the staff that makes me want to comment. The reception staff along with our two favourite concierges, Trevor and Aron, made the stay exceptional. Friendly and witty, they helped us plan our vacation route, using their knowledge of the area, and it worked out perfectly! Thank you all for some great memories!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Good morning Doreen M,

I would like to thank you for your recent visits and the time you took to complete your review, we certainly appreciate it. I am happy to hear that we were able to positively contribute to the beginning and end of your vacation. Renovations aside, our staff are our biggest asset and thank you for the recognition. I will be sure to give Trevor and Aron a pat on the back for you. We look forward to seeing you again if you are back in Halifax!

All the best!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was at this hotel 1 year ago, and they completely renovated this hotel from the ground up. Lobby, room, etc. Very nice hotel, located near the harbour, very good service with a smile from every one, etc. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malyhupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Good morning malyhupe,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We appreciate your loyalty and praise. You are certainly welcome back any time.

Until then,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I can honestly say that all of the other positive reviews here are totally accurate. We had a great stay for 5 days there. The room we had on the 9th floor with harbour views was excellent, a really large suite with great views. Add to that the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff and it made for a great stay. I would not want to single out a particular member of staff for praise as they we are great. Would make this my first choice if back in Halifax. Also enjoyed breakfast in Ryan Duffy's restaurant in the Hotel, as well as a dinner and a couple of happy hour drinks there. Again friendly, welcoming staff.

Room Tip: High floor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianH857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Greetings AdrianH857,

Thank you for your extended visit and the time you took to complete your review! We certainly appreciate all the reviews we receive. We believe we have something special her at the Radisson Suite Halifax and I am glad you got to experience some of that.

Have a great day and we look forward to your next visit.

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had booked 3 nights at the hotel that I had booked due to a great corporate rate. The first night I booked because I was arriving quite early in the a.m and it was the only way I could guarantee a bed so I wouldn't have to wait till usual check in time. Due to a missed connection I arrived late and thought I would have to pay for the airlines mistake. The manager let me know right away that they would cut me a break and not make me pay for the first night that I missed. The room was spacious with a terrific view of the harbour. The bed was super comfy, the room was very clean and quiet. The shower has a huge shower head that was marvellous. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally located a stones throw from the harbour and only a few blocks away from great shopping on spring garden road. If I come back to Halifax I am staying here without hesitation

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank darniro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Good afternoon damiro,

It is great to hear from you. Thank you for your visit and wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that we have left a positive impression upon you. We undertstand that things can happen outside of your control while travelling, so it was our pleasure to help you with that small detail. I do hope your trip home was a better one. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Halifax!

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,853 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing