We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best hotel in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great hotel. They just reopened after completely renovating, and everything about it was great. The lobby was super cool like a boutique hotel in New York or LA and he rooms or should i say suites are huge. I had a great view of the Halifax harbor, which was definitely worth the small extra charge. This was my first time in Halifax and this hotel has to be the best place to stay in the city. The staff, was great and property is beautiful. Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Harbor view, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Good morning SLMPLS,

We can't wait to have you back and you are welcome to come anytime. Thank you for your visit and wonderful review.

Best regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    304
    90
    32
    20
See reviews for
283
418
53
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms are gorgeous, the lobby is beautiful. So, why does it have potential? The bar is not complete yet. They have been remodeling so some things are not done. We did not see the pool, but the rooms were fabulous. Great fridge. Shower was amazing with a huge shower head.
The location of this hotels is incredible. Close to the waterfront (and the Maritime museum) and close to a ton of restaurants. Wonderful wi-fi. Parking is the only challenge. We used the valet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loonyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Loonyteach,

Thank you for your visit and great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the new look. Our lobby lounge will be opening soon. We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time you are in Halifax.

Best regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My first impression was one of a beautiful hotel with a great foyer, reception area and complimentary snacks. Too bad breakfast wasn't included. Even though we had a kitchenette, there was no toaster, just a microwave. We were a little disappointed to receive plastic cutlery with our real dishes. However, staff were fast and efficient. We found the bar fridge making whistling sounds and when we called, they came right away with a different one.

We found the dining room chairs were too tall for some of our party.

Hotel was in a very nice location; just a short walk from the waterfront. Rooms were very clean and well-cared for.

Hotel was very good at thinking about the environment because of the eco-friendly toilets. There were two options: full or half flush.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Good afternoon jdglek,

I would like to thank you for your visit! I would also like to thank you for your review. We appreciate your praise and value your feedback, as we always look for ways to improve our operations.

All the best and we look forward to seeing you again!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband & I just returned from a wonderful "gettaway" to Halifax and surrounding areas - an amazingly beautiful part of Canada with some interesting "natural bizzarities." We made our home base the Radisson Suite Hotel and were incredibly impressed. The room was way beyond what we expected...big with a separate lounging area complete with microwave and fridge. The hotel has just completed renovations and the result of these renos are great. The staff were incredibly friendly and always ready to assist in providing information, recommendations and resources. The level of customer service was exemplary. While I don't remember everyone's name - and I do apologize as everyone was amazing - I will recognize Vanessa and Aaron...of course we stayed from Saturday to Tuesday and ALL the staff i.e. guest services and concierge was outstanding. We got this hotel through Porter Escapes and felt the value was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Close to everything!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Good day SSE65,

Thank you for your visit and glowing review. We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your time in Halifax. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best and thanks again,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Amelia at front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Trevor, the concierge went out of his way. The room was beautiful and completed our stay in Halifax with a harbor front view. Located in the heart of downtown. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeonHighwayBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you NeonHighwayBand for your visit and review. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Amelia and Trevor and I will thank you for them. Thank you also for the recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very friendly, helpful, courteous and efficient staff! I have a lovely suite which was very modernly and tastefully decorated, lovely amenities and the bath was very spa like. The queen beds were very comfortable and were "sleep number" beds. Very good vibe, a great hotel in a great location.... walking distance to all the major attractions, shops and eateries. The Valet parking was very reasonably priced and the service efficient and friendly, took the worry out of parking! This hotel was very good value. It certainly will not be my last visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Denise K,

What can I say, other than thank you for your visit and great review! This is certainly the experience we strive for. We look forward to your next visit. The Halifax Buskers Festival is right around the corner perhaps we will see you then.

Have a great weekend!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

After viewing the outdated fusty pics on the hotel's website, we were pleasantly surprised to see the results of the Radisson Suite's (ongoing) renovation. We had a one-bedroom suite, and it was completely updated and modern-as nice as any standard business hotel I've stayed at in New York. There's a beautiful new indoor pool that my toddler loved taking post-dinner splashes in, and they have those fun "sleep number" mattresses that you can adjust for softness. Get a room facing the harbour-it's a pretty view from your window, especially at night, and really, this hotel couldn't be better located. It's literally steps from the boardwalk, within walking distance of the art gallery, the Discovery Centre and The Citadel, and we were able to walk to almost all of the restaurants we wanted to try too. My only quibble would be that in a "suite" hotel (the little kitchenettes had microwaves and mini fridges) it would have been nice if they'd provided some dishes and utensils so you could actually prepare a little snack in your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Leah R,

Thank you for the visit! I would also like to thank you for your great detailed review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Have a great day,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing