We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good downtown hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel close to downtown halifax. Clean rooms, looks all like brand new. The windows overlooking the bay needed some cleaning from the outside. Would go back if in the area. The valet service should be advertised a bit more, we didn t know about it, and parked some were else already.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lb4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Good morning Ib4092,

Thank you for your visit and review. Yes, we have just undergone a major complete renovation and are very pleased wit the outcome. The exterior window cleaning is scheduled to be completed soon. I apologize about the valet offering and that you could not take advantage of it. We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time you are in Halifax.

Best regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    304
    90
    32
    19
See reviews for
283
418
53
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the moment you walk through the door until you check out, you are warmly greeted and assisted. Expect very nice decor, a beautifully decorated room (we had a suite), and knowledgable staff. We were very pleased and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Greetings Michelle S,

Thank you for your visit and great review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Whenever I need to stay in Halifax, the Radisson is at the top of my list. If they have a room sale in my price range I always book it. The location is excellent and even before the renovations, the rooms are superb. The staff is always helpful.

The suites seem smaller than before (but still more than adequate) and on the website it seemed like there were now suites and normal rooms, which I don't remember there being before. If that matters to you, make sure to double check.

This was my 'worst' stay, but even then it was better than experiences at most other hotels. The bathroom ceiling was leaking in the morning and I'm sure they would have been most accommodating, but we were checking out so I'm not sure what happened with it. (They mentioned it was a problem with their '05 rooms)

My only 'disappointment' was more for the management than myself (it didn't affect my stay). We were told we were the first ones to stay in 305 since the renovation. If that's the case, I hope they got a discount from their contractors. The floor and a wall paneling were scratched and there was more evidence of shoddy workmanship that must have been left behind after the final details were completed.

There was also some confusion over my Aeroplan card. It's always been accepted. Last time I visited I was told it couldn't be taken because I booked on expedia and this time, after booking on the radisson site, they wouldn't take it all, even though they're still listed on the Aeroplan site.

BOTTOM LINE: I've stayed here many times and I have always recommended it, if it is within someone's price range, and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Waterfront view is wonderful! Make sure you double check your room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraLee1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good morning AuroraLee1013,

Thank you for your visit and review. I am glad to hear we are always at the top of your list for accomodations when visiting Halifax. Thank you for your praise on our renovations and staff. As a point of clarification the sq footage of the room you were in did not change with the renovation. We did add two more suites per floor, but these 'studio suites' were made from two very large suites and still boost over 400 sq feet.

I apologize for the leak you experienced in your room. I also apologize for the communciation you recieved about being the first guest in the room post renovation. I can assure you that all rooms are checked and re-checked prior to guest occupancy and no room should have been turned over for guest use unless it was 100%. Although your experience is not what either of us would wish for, we are very proud of the workmanship and final product.

I apologize also for the lack of recognition with Aeroplan and I will be sure to follow up with the staff so they are properly educated on his program. Aeroplan is available through our Carlson Club rewards program.

I look forward to your next visit and if I can be of any personal assistance for you, just let me know.

Have a great week!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved this Radisson and we have had some not great experiences with other ones. Staff were friendly at the front desk as well as the gentlemen at concierge. We parked the car and left it for two days.You can walk all over downtown from here and head back to the room to rest then carry on. Only drawback for me was the laundry was not available - I think it was still under construction. The concierge staff whipped out their iphone and told me where the closest one was. Room was very clean - 8th floor and we had a view of the harbour. Will be back and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that faces the harbour or the side that you get a harbour view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Good morning Kathy G,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that our coin laundry was not operational. This is something we hope to have in place this week as we finish our renovations. We look forward to hosting you again!

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Am in town for a conference and every time I return to my room the key will not work. This has happened everyday and twice on another day. Very frustrating. I am on the 7th floor which makes it even more annoying. The room is fine and yes renovations are taking place which delays the use of the lift. Renovations are due to carry on through to the end of July as I was informed by one of the workers on site. I have a great view of the harbor from my suite. Saw queen Mary 2

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ivorys101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Please accept our apologies, Ivorys101 for the issues with your guest room door lock. I understand your frustration and am at a loss to explain what happened. Part of our renovation included the installation of a new guest room key lock system. This is not representative of the experience we wish you to have. I apologize again and look forward to a better visit next time.

Best regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived late on Canada Day hungry and tired from traveling all day but the staff was quick to respond. They were giving us ideas and calling restaurants and bars for us to find food. The property was beautiful newly renovated and very very clean. It had a pretty good location by the bars and maritime museum by the harbor. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Morgan C,

I would like to thank you for your visit and wonderful review. I am glad to hear that the staff made your stay extra special. We look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in the raddison the past week and i had an ok stay. The rooms were cleen but we had to wait almost 10 minutes for an elevator because workers were using them to transport mirrors,
kichen appliences, etc. The beds were uncomforable. I went swimming and the showers were out of order so i had to go up to my room and get a shower. The showers in the room were rain showers which didnt give any powerful water. They asked if i wanted valet parking but all that was was a parking lot of rocks andsand,so i parked eleswhere. Other then that,it was a preety good stay. 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you Tyler212 for your visit and review. I apologize for the construction use of one elevator and that you felt that the bed was uncomfortable. I am pleased to inform you and our fellow readers that our pool showers are back in service. Unfortunately valet parking is the only parking option available to our guests, outside of guests making their own parking arrangements like you did. With regard to our valet parking, it is in a secure and fenced compound which is monitored and only accessed by our staff.

Regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing