We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Overnight Stay with my 5 Girlfriends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Overnight Stay with my 5 Girlfriends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a lovely night we had. We had 3 spacious suites. We felt like we were in large apartments. We had "valet" parking which was so nice. Dropped off and picked up right at the front door. Coffee and fruit welcomed us in the front lobby. Although breakfast was not available in the hotel, we just walked across the street to "As You Like It" restaurant. We had a breakfast with coffee for $5.00. No complaints about that! After checking in, we freshened up and then went out to the "El Macado" for an awesome Italian dinner. Then we went back to the hotel and the 6 of us played "Crazy Bridge", a card game which was designed by one of the girls in our party.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends, ask to be in adjoining suites. We neglected to do that but next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    300
    90
    31
    19
See reviews for
278
415
52
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Radisson Suites Hotel in Halifax, in January 2013, for a family visit. As expected in the Maritimes, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the suite was perfect for our needs, and the price was better than similarly located suite hotels. During our visit, there was considerable renovation underway, although we never heard any of the work. With only one elevator in service, access to our room, via the elevator, was sometimes a challenge, since the elevator was oftimes full of tradesmen going to and from their workplace, However, in true maritime fashion, these friendly workers were easily able to make these brief encounters enjoyable.
The only minor irritation I encountered was around the parking. Access to the hotel is very limited, even for registration (Hollis Street is busy during much of the working day), and only paid valet parking is provided. I can only imagine the envisioned chaos that could arise during the peak tourist season in Summer.
Neverheless, a good time was had at the Radisson. We would certainly return, and would have no hesitancy recommending the hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last night. Hotel staff were very friendly and always willing to help with any need. Great coffee and loved the take-away breakfast. Also if you book the "Valet & Away" you can get your car as many times as you want for no extra fee. The valet service was also very quick. The room layout was a bit weird, but very spacious. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a lovely suite - as in a real suite with two rooms, which worked out well because we had our son traveling with us. Rooms were nicely appointed and the beds were comfortable. I'm not a big fan of sleep- number beds but we had two quite comfortable nights on them. Everything was clean and even tho we didn't have full maid service so close to Christmas, the very friendly staff kept us in clean towels. The price was excellent compared to other top hotels in the area and the location allowed us to walk to many downtown areas. There was always fresh coffee available in the lobby and oh, local calls and wifi were free. I would unequivocally recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms may be suites but if not, get one - they are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArkansasAmtraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Du Chene
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have stayed here several times and really enjoyed it. This last time was awful. It was so dirty. The toilet wasn't washed before we stayed (there were poop stained inside) the couch had sticky white gooey stuff on the pillows, there was a horrible stink. We complained, the manager told us that because there was going to be renevations starting soon, they weren't going out of their way to make it super clean. So disgusted! I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProudCanadian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello ProudCanadian09
Thank you for sharing your review with us.
As you mentioned we are undergoing renovations that will see all areas of the hotel receive a fresh face. During this process,as always, the cleanliness of our hotel and the comfort of our guests are our top priorities. We have a great team here at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax who take great pride in their work. We pride ourselves on our high service standards when it comes to the cleanliness of our hotel, I am sorry to hear you feel you have experienced otherwise.
If you would like to discuss your concerns further I welcome you to contact me directly at the hotel at 902-494-7424.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My son and I went on a business trip with my husband in early September. The Radisson Suites was perfect! The bedroom was a seperate room, it had sleep number beds, and there was plenty of room to set up a corner for my son to play with his toys.

Having the seperate room made it easier to put my son to bed at his regular time, and not either force him to stay up with us, or for us to go to bed when he did.

The Radisson Suites was right around the corner from many wonderful restaurants, and was within walking distance of many interesting sites.

If you are planning a trip to Halifax, this hotel is a great place to stop and rest between sightseeing adventures.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner harbor view room, your room will have more windows and the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank too-tse-79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello, too-tse-79!

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us and other travellers!
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious suites! Having the separate bedroom and living room space certainly does make things easier when travelling with children.
I am happy to hear our great location made it easy for you and your family to enjoy Halifax's many attractions and restaurants!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is clean, staff friendly, location central to waterfront and downtown. Suite style rooms give plenty of space for family. I am never sure why hotels have sleep number beds, I personally find them highly overrated. Room decor is plain and dated. Some rooms have good views of the harbor. Be prepared for the valet parking as the hotel is street front. The best perk is the hotel room service and resturant is Ryan Duffy's. Great food, nice wine selection.
If you can get a deal online this hotel is good value for a visit to waterfront downtown Halifax.

Room Tip: Request higher floor on waterfront side away from Hollis St which is a busy traffic street, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alikat1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Alikat1957
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travellers!
I am happy to hear you found our hotel to be comfortable and our team friendly and helpful!
I'm glad our great downtown location provided you with convenient access to our beautiful waterfront!
I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to the Ryan Duffy's team as well!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing