We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel was a joy to stay in. From check-in to check-out the staff were accomodatng and gracious. The beds were amazingly comfortable. It was hard to get out of bed to start my day. I had an 8 hour drive and was very well rested. We had a lovely breakfast to start our day. The wait staf in the restaurant were very friendly and offered suggestiions for breakfast. There is also a buffet choice.
We had a view of the Commons. The hotel was quiet which was a bonus.
I would highly recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertam187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your great experience with your fellow travellers. We really appreciate your recognition of our top notch service team. They are really committed to making everyone feel welcome.
It is wonderful to note that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and you are so correct, Seasons by Atlantica offers an excellent view of the Commons. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and again, we truly appreciate your business. We look forward to your return visit.
All the best
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    352
    175
    67
    43
See reviews for
270
322
77
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My hubby and I stayed here on Aug 21st. We were on the 8th floor which gave us a great view of the park across the street. Our room was clean,modern and roomy with 2 beds. The beds are comfy with lots of fluffy pillows. Our room was near the elevator so could hear voices at times but generally quiet. We were there for surgery at hospital but did not receive hospital rate as hospital booking was received over the phone and motel requires written info. We did notice dogs in the lobby in the morning before we left for hospital so it is pet friendly for any of you who are traveling with your dog. We were pleased with our accommodations but did find it pricey. Parking was okay as we parked in the nearby parking lot across the street from the front lobby. We had buffet in the restaurant for breakfast which quick and easy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freckles__16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
It was great to hear that you found the hotel clean and modern and the beds comfy. Our guests have told us that the beds are some of the most comfortable beds they have every slept in. Some have even purchased the same beds for their homes through our Atlantica at Home retail program. Underground parking is available for our guests and surface parking in the lot across the street is also offered for oversize vehicles. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a pleasure trip in the near future. Thanks very much for sharing your experience.
Best regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Other hotel chains should take a page from the Atlantica and really focus - and deliver - on customer service. From the moment we checked in to 3 days later when we checked out, I really felt that staff cared. The location is awesome and everything is easily within walking distance. The hot breakfast was a welcome addition - and having the Globe and Mail outside my door make breakfast even MORE enjoyable. Although parking is not included, we did park on the local street and only had 1 parking ticket so we came out ahead (we parked on the street cleaning night - oops!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with your fellow travellers. I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments on the customer service you experienced during your stay are extremely appreciated. It is wonderful that you recognized our great team. They truly do make the difference! We do offer some great package options that include parking as well that offer extra value.
Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed there again and we had a great time. what is the best advantages of staying there are you are walking distance to so many places like Spring Garden Rd the botanical garden and its a fair walk but to down town Halifax. You can stop for a beverages on your way and rest or take advantages of the many restaurants. The Atlantic restaurant menu is amazing and their buffet breakfast is great. They have great lounge if you just want to sit and look out towards the commons...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks so very much for the five star review. You are right, it is a very comfortable walk to Spring Garden Road, the Public Gardens and the best of what Halifax has to offer. If you are going a bit further afield, our complimentary limousine service offers drop off to downtown, Monday to Friday, 7:30am to 9:30am and 5:30pm to 7:30pm. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the views from Seasons Lounge and the great food at Seasons by Atlantica. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

First time to Halifax and did not nowhere to stay. Wanted to stay under 125 US dollars
This place was right on the money. I was hoping to stay on the water but those hotels were to pricey. Clean rooms gracious staff and a very good location,( 1 mile to the ocean) The one thing I find very lame was paying to park at the Hotel ($20 for I Night).I think when staying as a guest you should park for free

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are very pleased that you chose to stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. Wonderful to hear that you found the rooms clean and the staff to be courteous and gracious. They are our best asset! Our location is very central to everything that Halifax has to offer and a perfect spot to get in and out of the city. We do offer a couple of great packages with value added inclusions such as parking and breakfast that a number of our guests find very attractive. Hopefully you will be back again soon.
Thanks again
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed at the Atlantica while on a vacation for 2 nights. Had just come from a different city, worn out from a bad hotel experience so was really looking for a place to re-charge. The front desk staff was excellent upon arrival and during the entire stay and the cleaning staff did a wonderful job keeping the room tidy.

The beds are super comfy so if you have to get up early, I suggest a few alarms and a wake up call because it's hard to get out of bed.

Starbucks coffee and tea in the room and Aveda products in the washroom - nice touch.

Good location, not difficult to get to the harbourfront by foot.

A feedback item (which doesn't change my rating of Very Good):
-lobby was freezing - air conditioner is turned up a little too high. It's a large lobby so I'm sure it's hard to regulate the temperature - not really a complaint, just an observation. It just would be nice to sit in the area there as it's really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly-renovated room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LATravels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
It was great to hear that you enjoyed a warm welcome from our guest services team and appreciated the wonderful job done by our housekeeping colleagues. They are a fabulous group and are always striving to make certain that our guests have a positive experience. Our beds are super comfy, and actually you can buy the same variety for your very own through our Atlantica at Home program! Thanks so much for sharing your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of having you back with us again soon.
Best regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as my husband had a conference there. Wow what a hotel!! We had the executive king room and it was amazing!! The hotel is clean, the service is amazing and the restaurant is very good!! If you have the executive room you have breakfast included and a appetizer at dinner. The only thing keeping me from giving it a 5 star is the location. I would have loved to pick up the hotel and move it closer to the water. It is not a far walk to the downtown area but this hotel would be perfect closer to the water. I will definitely visit the Atlantica on my next trip to Halifax.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ckahsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travellers. “Wow” is absolutely what we are going for, so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Although not right on the waterfront, we are very centrally located to all that Halifax has to offer, downtown, the Quinpool Road district and the very vibrant North end of the city. I am so very glad that you will be returning to the Atlantica Halifax on your next visit. We so appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.
Very best regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing