We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired, but a nice place overall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired, but a nice place overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 06-08 June, 14 and it's a good location. It is currently under construction, but this was a little inconvenience.
The restaurant was very good as was the service.
My room on the fourth floor had two double beds. One bed was very comfortable while the other was badly in need of a new mattress. The ceiling had many water stains and the carpet was worn and ripped. The room was clean, but a small fridge would have been welcomed.
I was told by staff that some rooms had been renovated, while others had not.
I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    345
    168
    66
    39
See reviews for
257
315
75
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was my third trip to this hotel - formerly a big chain hotel, it is undergoing upgrading and the work was no intrusive of the visit. I opted to book an executive floor room and it was very clean, neat and well appointed. The hotel itself is centrally located a short walk from downtown and across for the Halifax Commons - a wonderful park and leisure area - great for kids and adults alike. Staff were wonderful and the restaurant has a nice view over the Commons park. I was travelling solo but it would be an excellent hotel for couples, families and business people alike.

Room Tip: The executive floor offers free breakfast and afternoon appys and rooms are large and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your kind feedback with your fellow travellers. We truly appreciate all our guests, particularly those like yourself who loyally return to the hotel. I do hope you have signed up for the Atlantica Advantage Rewards program; this loyalty program offers some excellent perks including the option to collect either Aeroplan Miles or Atlantica Advantage Reward Points. Thanks also for recognizing our wonderful team members. They are a great group of people who are committed to providing the best possible experience to our valued guests. We are looking forward to having you with us again in the near future.
Very best regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Staff were awesome. Special thanks to Paul ( I think) and the girl with the cool glasses. Very friendly and helpful. Good location. Easy walking distance to shopping area. Food and drinks in the restaurant were very yummy. A great place to stay. Will be staying there again. I will be booking my next proper English Tea Service through the catering staff here as I am confident they are aware of proper sandwich bread.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aim1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We greatly appreciate your kind feedback. Our team is excellent and it is wonderful that you have recognized them, Paul and his colleague (a couple of our Guest Service Agents have very cool glasses, so I don’t want to name someone incorrectly) in particular. We are looking forward to having you return – we will definitely make sure to have the proper sandwich bread!

Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very nice hotel The front desk staff are very pleasant and most helpful. The breakfast brunch is amazing ,hot delicious, and the bonus was the kids eat free .Would for sure come here again, the playground being close was a extra bonus .View from room was also nice

Room Tip: Very close to a playground for children wonderful buffet to start the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The kids’ eat free program is very popular with our dining adult overnight guests who are travelling with a young family and is one of the great value adds that Atlantica Hotel Halifax is proud to offer.
Thanks also for recognizing our team members – they are dedicated to offering superior, friendly service and we do appreciate you mentioning their efforts.
Hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon.

Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Atlantica Hotel is a good location. It is approximately 20 minute walk to the harbour and all the restaurants. Very helpful staff. Room were comfortable. This was a weekend trip for us, so we stay close to the downtown core. The Atlantic served our purpose.

Room Tip: If you are checking out Dalhousie University it is close by. The Citadel is very close and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulVM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are in a wonderful central location and very close to Dalhousie University. So it is the perfect spot to stay when visiting the campus. We very much appreciate your business and your kind feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We enjoyed a good 3-night stay in a clean comfortable room. The rates are good for Halifax and you are within an easy walk (downhill) to the harbour and downtown. The return trip is a little steeper.

The restaurant serves up nice meals and the hotel has everything you could want.

There are lots of restaurants nearby, but as mentioned previously, you can walk to many more in and around downtown.

Good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubnatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. We do offer travellers excellent pricing on a variety of guestrooms types and also have wonderful value added package options as well. Walking all around Halifax is quite easy and can be done within a very reasonable time frame, and we do also offer complimentary limousine service to downtown, Mon-Fri. From 7:30am to 9:30 am and 5:30pm to 7:30pm. The return walk from the waterfront does have a bit of an upward grade; but it is only a short, reasonably priced cab ride if the walk is too much after a day of exploring. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. We really hope to have the pleasure of having you with us again soon.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Got this hotel on hotwire, and so for the price was super happy with it. Complementary star bucks coffee in the lounge put us in a great mood every morning! And the pool is warm, which as a nice surprise. I've never slept in a room with at a more comfortable temperature, and the beds are comfortable! The people at the front desk are young, friendly and have good tips about the city. Walking downtown is about fifteen minutes, so it's not exactly in the heart of it but it's close enough. Parking is 17 bucks a night though, which is insane, so a tip: one street over, on Shirley street there is usually parking spots to take.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It was wonderful to note that your experience of the hotel facilities, amenities and services was enjoyable. Our Guest Services team members are great – they have lots of enthusiasm and a passion for treating our guests with top notch service. Parking is $17.00 quite reasonable for a downtown Halifax location; however we do have some great package options that include parking so please check them out on our website for your next visit. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing