We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable surroundings with good good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Doylestown, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very comfortable surroundings with good good”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a very welcoming and comfortable place to begin and end our trip to Canada's Atlantic Coast.

THe staff was very helpful. The beds and pillows very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very inviting and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    352
    175
    67
    43
See reviews for
269
320
76
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My spouse and I stayed here twice for two nights each in August 2013. We found the staff more than happy to have us as guests, always a plus. If you arrive by aircraft, be sure to contact Atlantis Limo as they have a special rate to the Atlantica and their service was excellent, with a competitive price. Both times we had comfortable rooms that some hotels might call a suite, as we had two tables and plenty of chairs. There is in-room coffee, no refrig or microwave. Being an older hotel, you won’t find a lot of electric outlets if you carry a lot of tech stuff, so bring an extension cord. Internet service was complimentary, reliable and speedy. Restaurant service and food was good for the breakfasts we had.

Nearby conveniences included a Scotia Bank with ATM, NSLC store for wines, beer and spirits, and an Atlantica Superstore for groceries and pharmacy, all a short walk, just two and a half blocks up Quinpool road from the hotel.

Although a good mile to the waterfront (we walked it), the hotel provides free local attraction limo service in the morning and late afternoon/early evening, really nice. It is also on a local bus route. If located on the waterfront, this hotel would get five stars.

We appreciated the speedy elevators and would certainly stay here again for visiting Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northern-Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Liked this hotel a lot. The rooms were excellent and many of them have great views of Halifax.
The one thing that lets this hotel down, is the very limited choice on the hotel restaurant menu and the fairly awful breakfast. Evening menu is limited to Hamburger,Salad,Club Sandwich etc, which be honest was all very pleasant. The restaurant and bar area do give the impression of offering much more.. The bar was very nice.
Breakfast on the other hand was really poor!... Eggs were awful. If you pay extra for breakfast, don't bother!

If you like to work out, there is a great gym (FX Fitness) open till late just a block up Quinpool.

Room Tip: The Executive King Rooms are high up and give amazing views of Halifax
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very impressed with all staff at the hotel. Front desk was very helpful, room service/cleaning was exceptional and the server in the restaurant was awesome. We had a slight technical problem one morning and the front desk offered us breakfast for free. We took them up on it and the meal was amazing and the server was exceptional. He had a great sense of humour and treated us like royalty. Overall very impressed with this hotel and will certainly stay here again when we return to Halifax. This is a top quality hotel and excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel9753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here with a tour group plus 1 night on my own. Staff were all friendly and helpful, liked the kilts on the doormen. Had 2 different rooms 10 days apart, same comments for both (4th floor). Rooms look tired and worn, but clean. Had a coffee pot, but no decaf coffee unless you find a maid and ask for some. No frig or micro. Had issues in both rooms with the bathtub drain being pulled completely out of the drain, perhaps by the maid when cleaning the tub, very dangerous if you step on it, I tried to push it back in but it wouldn't go down. In the first room I reported the issue to the front desk, 10 days later someone else in our group had that room and the tub drain was still laying out of the drain. Biggest complaint with the room was the old air conditioner, only 2 settings, no fan option, very very noisy and not much output.

As to location, what is convenient to downtown is subjective. Certainly going down hill to the waterfront is more feasible than coming back up the hill. If you are going to the casino you have to add a few blocks of walking to get around the expressway ramps, The distance is over a mile. There is one hotel shuttle car from 7:30-9:30AM and 5:30 to 7:30PM, but it only takes up to 3 people at a time, so if there are others waiting it can be a long wait. Ended up taking a taxi back from casino/waterfront at cost of about $10.

Would rather stay closer to downtown, use my taxi money to pay for room.

Room Tip: higher floors have less outside street noise typical in a big city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slotmachinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

After a rough start to our trip (think last minute cancelled flights, not-so-friendly airline agents, and a surprise overnight stay in Chicago...) we finally arrived at the Hotel Atlantica tired, hungry and in dire need of some rest. We were greeted promptly, courteously and upon learning our "adventures," I believe they made every effort to get us to our rooms as quickly as possible. Before I knew it, we were cleaned up and sound asleep in a cool, clean, very comfortable and well-appointed suite on the third floor. The bedroom (two queen beds) was lovely with its decor and comfort. The bathroom was clean, well-lit and completely suitable. The restaurant downstairs is quite nice for both breakfast and dinner, offering fresh and local choices, we weren't disappointed!

Overall, I would stay here again, the service is lovely - it is a bit of a walk however to the downtown area of shopping and dining which could be a deterrent to those with mobility issues or just plain adverse to exercise.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizbet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I will start by saying that this is not my first stay at this hotel. Having travelled to Halifax for both business and pleasure over the past several years my husband and I have stayed at this property when it was still a Holiday Inn.

The main reason I am writing this review is because of the service....which was outstanding. Starting with the "in house reservations" who were both helpful and so accommodating (thank you Megan!!) to the wonderful team at the front desk, who made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the front doors. Both my husband and I travel extensively for both work and pleasure all over the world, and have stayed at some of the best and worst hotels out there. The management of this hotel should be very proud of their staff. They have set the bar very high.

Our room was clean and fresh, on a high floor that I had requested. I had also requested a fridge because the medication I take needs to be refrigerated and there was a fridge in our room upon our arrival. There is a beautiful outside deck on the second floor that we spent the day enjoying. Walking distance to downtown and shopping. as well as a beautiful park across the street.

You can have a beautiful hotel with all the amenities which this hotel offers, but the staff can make or break your stay anywhere. And this staff delivers on top notch quality of service.

Looking forward to staying again in September for our daughter’s wedding!!

Muriel & Bob Blank

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing