We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sleep, great breakfast and swimming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“good sleep, great breakfast and swimming!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Big comfy rooms and beds, very clean. Good location, near the Halifax Commons. Aveda toiletries :) indoor swimming pool and a really great breakfast buffet with a wide range of almost everything.
Kids 12 and under eat free with an adult (I am pretty sure, but double check!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    364
    181
    67
    45
See reviews for
279
335
77
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were there for a wedding. The staff were great, food was delicious and the hotel was very clean and modern. We had no issues to complain about and we would go back again next time.
The lady running the wedding was also doing another wedding down the hall and did an amazing job at it and we never found ourselves looking for her.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vhubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.B.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Positives: The hotel staff here are exellent and professional, right on down to the maids. Room was nothing to write home about, but was clean. Location was great, some nice restaurants on Quinpool beside the hotel.

Negatives: It's been said in other reviews, but the parking is ludicrous. $17 a day to park in a garage that is cramped and decent spots are at a premium. If you drive anything larger than a compact, you nerves will be on full alert. Also, the payment station is in the lobby, so don't expect to validate your ticket in the garage. In the hotel's defense, virtually all hotels in Halifax charge for parking. But $17 is a gouge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainJalopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at the Atlantica for the last night of Halifax Pop Explosion. The hotel was very busy but everything still went smoothly during our stay. I was very impressed by the Atlantica hotel. The room was very clean, the sheets were heavenly soft, the breakfast was delicious and the employees were very nice. Our check-in and check-out went smoothly and prompt service was provided by the housekeeping staff when we requested more towels and toothpaste. The elevator was very fast and everything else went great as well. The front desk agent even gave us free breakfast with our room even though it was not included in the rate we paid!

I wasn't sure if the hotel had a hot tub so I didn't bring a bathing suit only to find out that it did upon arrival so I was quite disappointed that I didn't get to use the facilities, I checked on their website and it said nothing about a hot tub, just said there was a pool. I probably should have assumed it would have a hot tub too so it's my fault I missed out!

Room Tip: The room we had was a wheelchair accessible room which had a queen sized bed. These rooms are much b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maphalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A huge thank you for the excellent hospitality during my second vacation in Halifax at the last two weeks.
My special thank you once again to the efficient staff at the Seasons Restaurant who are very kind and attentiv that everything is working well.
I certainly will recommend your hotel to other guests in Switzerland and I look forward to staying in Halifax and your hotel again soon.

Hallo in die Schweiz! Die Atlantikküste und Nova Scotia ist wirklich zu jeder Jahreszeit eine Reise wert und um sich verwöhnen zu lassen, ist das Hotel Atlantica eine gute Adresse. Saubere, schöne Zimmer, sehr freundliches und zuvorkommendes Personal, exzellenter Service. Gut geführtes Restaurant, SPA Bereich und Swimmingpool zum Relaxen.
Auch für Seminare, Feiern oder Meetings sehr gut geeignet, da Infrastruktur vorhanden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked the Atlantica because we wanted to be within walking distance of the downtown. It served its purpose wonderfully (noting that we do like to walk). The front desk staff was wonderfully friendly, despite the fact that they had two weddings booked for the weekend plus a tour group, in otherwords is was very hectic in the front lobby. They recommended a restaurant after asking what we were looking for and were right on.
The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the HVAC system was quiter than most. We were on the 12th floor and so had a very nice view to the east (toward the downtown). The buffet breakfast was a little pricey, $21/ea including tax, but the selection was enormous and well prepared.
We stayed at the hotel 9 days into our trip, so having a coin operated laundry available was important to us. There was only one washer and one dryer, but on a Sunday morning we only had a 20 minute wait. It is right by the pool and workout room, so plan ahead and you can actually enjoy your laundry time :-)
$17/night parking was in line with what I had researched for other hotels in the downtown area.
We like staying in bed and breakkfast inns, but in a city as walkable as Halifax we found the Atlantica a pleasant and convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy corner, so an upper floor room would be my preference. Even with a lot going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredVA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddinxveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

After travellng the Atlantic provinces in an RV for 17 days, it felt very comfortable to finally sleep in a real bed for two nights, prior to our returnflight to Amsterdam. We found the staff very friendly, the rooms were large and we especially liked the nice and comfy chairs where we sat in to read and have a night-cap before going to sleep. The only slight disadvantage I can think of was the rather huge walking- distance to down-town Halifax, a city worth visiting by the way..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,871 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing