We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the QE2 Hospital.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Close to the QE2 Hospital.”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I needed to find a hotel walking distance from the QE2 Hospital. The Atlantica fit the bill. The front desk employees were friendly and helpful. With a 20 dollar upgrade to a room on a higher floor I was able to check in early after a very long flight. They also have a discount for people who are there visiting patients in the hospital which was nice. The hotel has a very small enclose area for aerobic activity. A stationary bike and a couple of treadmills that worked just fine. They also had some weights. In the same area they have an indoor pool which seemed to be more popular. I stayed there for over a week and the only negative things were some young kids playing street hockey in the hall outside my door (it is Canada after all) and some loud young people in the room next door getting ready for a night on the town. The hotel is also with walking distance of stores, pharmacy, and restaurants. The hotel bar/restaurant has good food and drinks and pleasant window views facing a park. All in all a good experience. In a vacation situation I'm sure it would not have been my first pick of hotels but for what I was there for it was quite good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hampdenLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    354
    178
    67
    44
See reviews for
274
325
77
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I were in Halifax to have some emergency eye surgery. We were not able to check in until late in the evening on two totally seperate dates. We were warmly welcomed with compassion and wonderful consideration for our circumstances. We were checked in promptly with a discounted rate and the amenities of the hotel were explained for our benefit. We got to our room and were both exhausted. We quickly fell asleep. I should mention that there were several groups in the hotel that evening and the staff took great caution to make certain we were not located near any of the merriment that there is accompanying a group. We both had the best sleep we had experienced for a long, long time. The whole experience was super ++

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent a night at the Atlantica as it was located close to downtown Halifax and as a result of a special rate. I was surprised that parking was $17.00 / night. I also didn't have very much fun taking our luggage up from the parkade in a small elevator only to have to get off and onto another elevator in the lobby.

Aside from these hiccups, everything else was a positive. The front desk employee "in training" was very friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was just as described on the Internet. The king size bed was very comfortable giving us an excellent nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLMK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Bruno, Quebec
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was very surpised to find such a great meal in a large hotel in Halifax of all places. The staff were pleasant, competent and attentive; what more could one ask for. A very pleasant stay at such a reasonably priced hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John b G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I would like to let you know how pleased I was with the service my niece and I had at your hotel. Mariles was excellent we were very upset and confused, my sister is in the hospital across the street in critical condition.. we went over to the hotel and she took control of everything all we did was stand there. She explained everything out for us, and having free parking while we have someone in the hospital is one expense we greatly appriecated. Halifax is a very expensive place to go to from out of town. I will definnetly recomend her service to everyone i know, I just wish i could afford to stay longer in stead of traveling back and forth for 2 hrs.each way. the bathroom floors were not very clean, which I notice becuase I am a cleaner myself .

Room Tip: I wasn't very aware of my surroundings as it was used only to sleep. But I think marilee was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed for five nights. Every single person we dealt with was cheerful, friendly and helpful - the room was large and clean - we had a great view from the 12th floor looking over to the harbour in the distance. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre but very pleasant, lots of trees and grass, and better than staying right in the middle of town I think. The swimming pool was a good size, not too small, and the small gym had everything I needed. If I was in Halifax again I would definitely stay at the Atlantica. I had one or two small niggles about the room when we arrived (eg kettle missing) but these were sorted out immediately.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Hotel is bright & shining! Our upgraded room was more than comfortable...wish that I had found the darkening shades before bed & that someone had mentioned there was a cost to parking. Halifax is an expensive place to stay. The staff were pleasant & friendly. Hotel is situated within a short distance of what's happenin'.

Room Tip: Dig for those blinds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drive830miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing