We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Duncan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed at the Atlantica while I visited my daughter who is attending Dalhousie University. I had a lovely room, very comfortable King sized bed, great view, and a very reasonable price. I had breakfast in the dining room, which was lovely, and where the staff were very friendly and pleasant. It's a nice location, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryans72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with fellow travellers. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do receive many positive comments from our guests regarding the comfort of the beds and certainly the city views, especially from the Executive Level and Gold Level rooms are fabulous. I do hope you will be back to visit your daughter again very soon. It’s a nice stroll to the Dalhousie Campus particularly now that spring is in the air!
Best Regards,
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    363
    180
    67
    45
See reviews for
279
333
77
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Saturday 28 January 2012 the HRM Board of Nova Scotia Crime Stoppers held it's annual fund raiser at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. From the moment we started planning the evening with Catherine Coutts, Executive Meeting and Conference Service Manager, to the day of the event when assisted by Banquets staff member Scott, Cailin at the front desk to the staff working the event, we were extremely pleased with their assiatance and professional conduct. We are looking forward to returning with furture events.

Cheers,

Don Jenkins.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments. It is great to hear that everything went well with the fundraising event; it is certainly a very worthy cause. Your kind words regarding our team, particularly Catherine, Cailin and Scott will be shared and celebrated. Our colleagues are second to none in the city and we know that they are sets our hotel apart. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Three family members and I stayed at this hotel from the 23 to the 28th of January due to a medical emergency involving a very close family member. The "hospital rate" the hotel offerred was a very pleasant surprise, and I preface this narrative by noting that, for the price we paid, the value of this hotel was exceptional. I'm not going to sit here and attempt to trash the hotel or its staff, as they were generally very good. However, if travelling to this hotel, one should be aware of certain aspects. The hotel was unbelievably cold. As a man who is normally referred to as a furnace by my wife, I found myself with numb hands and a nursing a constant chill in all common areas and particularly the elevators. The rooms were cool as well, and the air conditioning/heating units in the two rooms we occupied had seen better days. The unit in our room was cranked all the way to 86 degrees and continued to blow ice cold air. On day two or three, we managed to coax it into blowing some warmer air. The breakfast buffet was very comprehensive, but both of the egg dishes looked like they had been sitting out in the warming tray for hours (ie a lovely skin on the scrambled eggs). If you choose to order breakfast from the menu, build in some extra time - although the food is generally very good, the service is slooooow. Expect 30-45 mins to receive your breakfast order.(on average) On the upside, they had a three or four person live jazz band play the "Seasons" lounge on Thursday and Friday night. I would have paid to see them, without question. (yes, they were that good). Free wireless - definate plus. Free parking (with the hospital special), another definate plus. Therein lay the conflict. There were a lot of positive aspects of the hotel, some which were well above expectations, though in the same breath, there are also a number of disappointments - things that really wouldn't take much to fix at all, if they had taken the time to address them. As a result, I am left wanting to rate this hotel higher, but I just can't do it. It was good, but not great. In understand this is an old Holiday Inn, taken over by the Atlantica group. One employee described it as management "going at it alone" to take over the hotel and manage it. Perhaps they just don't have their business model perfected yet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob_S_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our excellent hospital program which offers a very special guestroom rate, complimentary parking, and a discount in Seasons restaurant. The program does offer a great value for those who have medical appointments or are visiting family or friends at city’s hospitals. We certainly value and appreciate your comments and do want to assure you that the few issues you noted such as the guest room & lobby heating unit will be reviewed with the maintenance team. Again, we appreciate your business. Hope that your next visit to Halifax will strictly be for pleasure and that you will be back to enjoy the great Thursday night entertainment in Seasons Lounge.
Best Regards,
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My hubby and I got a great deal online for this hotel so went to stay for night. The front desk staff were very pleasant and professional. When we were there they had a jazz band going in the lounge which I believe may be a regular thing.

Considering that the hotel is on a busy street I was surprised how quiet it was. Only work up once during the night and that was due to an ambulance leaving the nearby hospital.

The beds are comfortable but the rooms although clean could definitely use some refurbishment. Underground parking is expensive there and they could use more lights in the underground garage. There is a lot of free parking around the hotel if you take the time to look.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timbitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed our regular Thursday night entertainment in Seasons Lounge and also that you found the hotel to be a quiet place to stay. Our beds are definitely a hit with our guests and actually a number of guests have purchased the same type of bed through us for their own homes! On your next stay, please take a look at some of the value-added packages that are available. Many offer inclusions such as complimentary parking and/or free breakfast. You should also try our brand new Executive or Gold level floors which are totally renovated and offer a number of additional premium amenities. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I had a romantic getaway for New Year's Eve and had a great stay. Friendly service, nice hotel, good price. My only problem was the staff not being up front with the cost of the underground parking. When I received the additional invoice for the parking, I took it with me to checkout. When asking about the big charge, she didn't even respond. I noticed other customers with the same invoice in their hands. I think many of us were surprised at the cost.

Other than that, a pleasant stay at the hotel. It's very centrally located and within walking distance of the great downtown. In summer you could walk through the botanical gardens to get to the water.

The only other quam was the hottub could've been hotter!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyrotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay. It was wonderful to hear that you and your wife were able to enjoy a romantic time away at our hotel. We appreciate being part of your New Year’s Eve celebration! Our heated underground parking charge is very competitive with prices charged in our downtown core and is noted on our website and on the registration card at check in. However, I certainly apologize if these charges were not clearly communicated to you prior to the day of departure. On your next visit to the city, you may wish to consider some of the excellent packages that we offer which include parking and/or deluxe continental breakfast. They definitely offer a true added value. Thank you for choosing the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit. It’s never too soon for another romantic getaway!
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nb Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a nice hotel, with all the conveniences,, pool ,parking close to shopping, etc,. it is a fairly pricey hotel unless you can get a deal online, ( which we did with priceline). They have a restaurant ,in the hotel. it is formerly Holiday inn.. I would stay here again, but not at the regular price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doggerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay. It was wonderful to note that you enjoyed the hotel and our great facilities including heated underground parking (always a plus especially during the winter), the indoor pool at the Leisure Club and our excellent in house restaurant, Seasons by Atlantica. The hotel offers travelers wonderful value, particularly with some of our featured packages. Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miscouche
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at this particular hotel and it was very nice. The employees were very helpful and went out of their way (at each visit) to help us. We requested an upgrade from two double beds to one queen, and because this was unavailable, we were upgraded to a much nicer room for free. Overall an easy and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are very proud of the customer service that our colleagues offer our guests and truly believe the genuine warmth and friendliness of their guests interaction is what sets us apart. You must have upgraded to one our newly renovated Atlantica Gold or Executive Level guestrooms; an excellent choice as these rooms feature a number of additional premium amenities and fabulous city views. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We appreciate yoru business and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,857 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing