We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfair to paying guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
New Brunswick
1 review
“Unfair to paying guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed in this Hotel with a friend of mine while attending the Cheer Expo, Our first night there we had planned to go for a swim when the children from the Cheer squads retired for the night, When we entered the pool area an hour before closing we were told the pool was closed due to the kids not listening, In all respect, that had nothing to do with 4 grown adults wanting to enjoy an evening swim, The brochure in the rooms stated it was an un supervised pool. If the children were acting up fine, Remove them from the pool area but not letting paying customers who payed over 200.00 for 2 nights not enjoy it was very wrong. When we went to the front desk to complain we received 2 different explantions, 1 was children were not listening and getting out of hand the other story was, the supervisor had to leave to go home, Sorry the pool hours were to be until 11pm. On another note, the room we stayed in was nice but the bathroom was not the best condition, the bathtub had long black hairs in it and it was also on the floor. Not the best housekeeping job.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimlev40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you so very much for your feedback. We were very pleased to host a number of teams attending the annual Cheer Expo and appreciate that you chose to stay with us when you came to the city for this event. Our pool area is extremely popular with our guests and therefore we offer fairly extensive hours of operation, from 5:30 am to 11:00 pm daily. Our valued guests’ safety and security are always at the forefront of our minds and on this particular evening, our team members determined that closing the pool at 10:00 pm was the best option for everyone. However, we understand this early closing was disappointing to you and other guests who may have been looking forward to a late night swim and we do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. As a result of your comments, which are very valuable to us, our operations team is undertaking a review of the situation and will be looking at all options to improve our pool area policies to address any future concerns of this nature. I was particularly disappointed to note your comments on room cleanliness and do want to apologize. This is definitely not in keeping with the high standard that is part of the Atlantica experience. Our housekeeping colleagues are extremely proud of the product they offer our guests. However it does appear we missed the mark in this particular instance. I do hope you brought this to the attention of the team so that immediate action could have been taken to correct this cleanliness issue.
Again, I very much appreciate your taking the time to express your concerns and hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with an experience more representative of our standard in the future.
Very best regards,
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    347
    173
    67
    43
See reviews for
265
317
75
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Though this hotel is not right downtown, we chose this hotel due to its proximity to the QEII hospital and were pleasantly surprised by the wonderfully friendly staff (particularly the overnight desk clerks who are cheery in spite of the hour and go out of their way to be helpful.). It has a great sauna, hot tub, exercise room, 2 pools (one for the little ones) for unwinding after a stressful visit at the hospital or a wonderful day of sightseeing. One of the locals who has had a membership to the fitness centre for many years revealed how thrilled she was to use such a well-maintained facility, which in itself is a testament to the hotel. The free early morning coffee and the hot cider in the afternoon in the lobby add that extra touch, especially for those rushing out in the wee hours to catch a plane, have a smoke, or read the paper without disturbing roommates. The experience is not complete without meeting the Season's Bistro bartender...a gentleman who obviously likes people and loves his job. This hotel succeeds in providing that extra touch, where many others fail.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitta64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you so much for the very kind comments and for taking the time to communicate your experiences to your fellow travelers. Our location, on the northwest side of downtown Halifax, makes us the perfect location; right in the middle of the main shopping, dining & entertainment districts of Spring Garden Road and Quinpool Road the specialty shops and restaurants of the eclectic Hydrostone neighbourhood and access from the city’s bridges and highways. I am especially pleased to hear that our team members, particularly our night audit team, provided you with friendly and professional service. Eustace, the gentleman who you noted in Seasons lounge, has been a valued part of our family for many, many years and we hope he will be with us for many more. We are truly proud of all team and their commitment to service excellence. The hot cider is a little touch that we offer to our valued guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed this amenity. If you return in the spring or summer, you’ll have a chance to try the refreshing strawberry or cucumber water that we provide in the warmer months. Thanks again for your business and your great comments. We very much appreciate that we had the opportunity to serve you and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericton nb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

It was a great stay with very friendly staff. stayed there because we had o go to the iwk hospital and was very happy with the hospital rate they gave to offer. we only had one complaint and it was the the members that come in to use the pool. made you feel like it was there pool and you really should not be using it . had one lady come up to me and tell me that my daughter was not permitted in the hot tub area and to get her out , the sign said children under 5 and my daughter is 6. she was also sitting on the side with her mother and only had her feet in and the lady that said it to me was in the pool and no where near the hot tub. she was lucky there was other people around or i would have given her a piece of my mind. also should have a spot that guests can go out and have a smoke , i went out to the only spot i could find and it was all staff members there talking about work and there managers, probably stuff you don't want your guests to hear. would be great if you could take out some drinks and use the awesome deck that is off the pool area!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. I am delighted that you found our staff to be warm and friendly. We are very proud of our team and the service they provide to our valued guests. It was also wonderful to note that you were able to take advantage of our hospital program. This program provides a room rate discount, complimentary parking and a discount in our restaurant to those guests who are required to stay in the city for hospital appointments or when visiting family members who are in the hospital. We appreciate that the stress and unexpected expenses that accompany this type of visit can be extremely challenging and we are very pleased to assist in some small way.
I am sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with other guests at the Leisure Club. Our team is always here to assist, so please call on us at any time to clarify any rules of the pool area to guests and Leisure Club members. It is a great facility with an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna and guests are welcome to use the facility from 5:30 am through 11:00 pm daily. Your great suggestion regarding providing beverage service on the outdoor deck is something that will be considered for the summer months. There is a designated smoking area strictly guest use to the right of the main doors. Benches and ashtrays are provided. Thank you for your business and your valued feedback. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Halifax.
Best Regards,
Colleen Forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

There's no free breakfast, my back hurts because the bed was so hard and only wireless on the "executive" floor. For $160 (with hospital discount!), I expected much better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesthatislovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Thank you so very much for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your recent stay. We take our valued guests’ concerns very seriously and I am very disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. We do understand that everyone has different preferences regarding the firmness of mattresses and I apologize that you did not enjoy a comfortable sleep. We have actually received very positive comments on the beds from many of your fellow travellers. Some of our guests have requested supplier information so they could purchase beds for their homes. We are proud to offer a discount to our hospital stay guests which includes complimentary parking (a $17 per day value) and a 15% discount in our restaurant. Additionally, a donation from each room night actualized through the hospital stay program is returned to the two local hospital foundations to assist with enhancements to patient care. As an alternative, we do offer other package options which include deluxe continental breakfast daily. We do appreciate your comments and your business. Hopefully, we will have an opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at the Atlantica in December. Great updated room, well decorated and modern. Price was excellent and included breakfast and parking. Found the price on line and with a CAA discount was very reasonable for a lovely deluxe king room. Particularly nice linens. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Very convenient location in the heart of Halifax. Would certainly staff at the Atlantic in the future

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of the Atlantica Hotel Halifax – We do offer many value-added options including special rate for our CAA member travelers. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided you with friendly and helpful service. We are very proud of our hotel and our team, so it is great to receive your positive feedback. Thank you again for your business. Hope to see you back at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portuguese Cove
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

No need for words other than Extremely helpful, pleasant and food magnificant!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xraygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We were so very pleased to hear that you had a great stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. It was wonderful of you to take the time to share your comments with your fellow travellers. We are very proud of our excellent team. They are all extremely dedicated to providing our guests with memorable experiences. We do get a lot of positive feedback on the comfort of our beds. Actually we have had a number of guests ask us for the manufacturer’s information in order to purchase the beds. So, it is great to hear that you concur. Our location is very convenient - I hope you had a chance to enjoy the Quinpool Road area businesses as well as the great shops and entertainment options on Spring Garden Road - both very handy to the hotel.
Again, we that you very much for your business and your feedback and hope you will return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We have stayed at most of the hotels in the downtown core, as well as the new Hampton in Dartmouth Crossing and I can honestly say that the Atlantica was at least as good as any of the other hotels (Cambridge, Prince George, Delta Barrington and Hampton being the hotels we have stayed at over the last couple of years). The beds were comfortable, the staff helpful and accomodating, and the room clean. The location was very good for what we needed and the rates were very reasonable when compared to the other places listed above (we did get a very good Christmas rate). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goalie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing