We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garden South Park Inn
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A pleasant stay for one night, we were on the 3rd floor overlooking a ancient graveyard. The room was clean, large enough for 2 twin beds. The decorations on the wall didn't really match anything, but the all in all it was a nice spot. Breakfast was a self serve with bread, bagels, home made muffins and sweet breads, yogurt, cereals, juice, coffee and tea.

Overall a lovely dining room with white china on the walls which gave it a more intimate home feel.

We didn't use it, but there was also a computer room on our floor.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, overlooking a cemetery, so very quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

one night in this place . My wife said from the outside where did you find this place. But once inside it was a different story. ultra modern, the room was fantastic, the innkeeper was great
the breakfast provided was out of this world. would recommend this place in minute. great location, it looked like all the rooms were booked by the amount of people having breakfast in the morning, everyone loved the place. do yourself a favour its great

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are a mature couple and have been travelling for 13 months.
We initially booked this hotel for 7 nights but extended it by 3 nights.
We return to Halifax in mid July and have booked another two nights then.
That really says it all!
This is a lovingly maintained character building close to the hospital and university. It is 2 blocks from the main shopping street and about a 10 minute walk to the waterfront and the Citadel.
There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars within an easy stroll.
The girls at reception (Marie and Tisha) are so warm and friendly and helpful, they are real gems.
There is a nice breakfast area and lounge areas.
There is strong WiFi throughout the entire building.
The bedrooms are large, warm and sunny with an AirCon and loads of space.
The bathroom is adequate with tons of hot water at a good pressure.
We appreciated the availability of a laundry on site.
The included continental breakfast was just fine.
The free hot drinks and supper in the evenings were also a nice bonus.
I could not imagine anything better; this place has real soul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Cleanliness is top priority for me when I stay in a hotel room and this B&B fit the bill perfectly!
Courteous staff a priority...again, a big check mark.
I have stayed here in the past and will most definitely stay here again.
If you are looking for a clean, friendly, will located place to stay in downtown Halifax, this is your home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed there once for four days. Since that visit I never change my choice when I go to Halifax. This hotel is situated in the heart of downtown. It is very close to everything in this city. The atmosphere of the hotel is great. Staff - very friendly and helpful to tourists. Rooms and the whole building was very clean. I cannot wait to go there again. I'm coming! :))

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for an interview at the hospital

What I liked:
STAFF - Very accommodating, and friendly. Let me have my last-minute request of a late check-out.

ROOMS - clean, and quaint, not over the top covered with 100s of lace doilies like some BnB places! The en-suite bathroom is functional and clean as well.

LOCATION - Great location, central. I was only there for 2 days, but walked to Spring Garden Road, the Citadel and lots of restaurants and shops.

What I didn't like:
ROOM LOCATION - I stayed in room 201, which is situated right next to the reception. The walls are pretty thin, so although things were pretty quiet after 11pm, just be mindful of this.

OVERALL - A cute place that's economical and in a great location. The included breakfast is nothing to rave about, but sufficient. I enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea/cookies.

Room Tip: Don't choose 201 if you are sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urbangecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This little gem is a small inn in Halifax that is near to everything. The staff are wonderful. The room have character, each one being different, and the feel is homey. Perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. I look forward to a time when I can stay there and not have anything to do but relax and enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. I love the front rooms overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
577 reviews
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
751 reviews
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Commons Inn
#27 of 28 in Halifax
198 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden South Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden South Park Inn

Address: 1263 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: $86 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garden South Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 Star 23 BB Inn. 23 A/C rooms (D,Q,T) 1 room with jetted tub. All rooms has 4 pcs bath., Free Wi-Fi. Complimentary Continental Breakfast. Walking distance to the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Garden South Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Halifax
The Garden South Park Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing