We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, But others were Cheaper and Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, But others were Cheaper and Better”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Me and my Wife arrived in Halifax for a business trip together. We made the mistake of staying at an Econo Lodge in PEI the first night and wanted to reward ourselves by staying at the Delta in Halifax.

It was more expensive than they suggested it would be, after all was done and said we payed ~200$.

The pros:
- Room was as "expected"
- The restaurant below (although expensive) had decent food
- The hotel is in old-downtown Halifax (great location)
- The view was "ok"
- The parking they made you pay for lasts 24hours (usually longer than your stay)
- The location made it easy for us to go shopping the next day and to the museum

The cons:
- Wallpaper could use re-pasting (coming loose in spots)
- We had to pay for parking
- The parking was *far* from the building and we had to drag all of our gear pretty far
- The 'view' was another hotel
- Everything has a nice expensive price pasted to it (16$ for a movie!) making it clear they intend to take advantage of you if they can
- If you are not a good driver - avoid this hotel. Halifax (downtown) driving is crazy and it will challenge an average driver

Recommendation:
Save your money! A short distance away you can find the Best Western on Chocolate Lake. The prices are lower, the restaurant is better, the parking is free and you have a great view of the lake!

For us, it was a nice change from our first stay. But it was nothing compared to the Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Greeting's L_Summers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear we did not meet all of your expectations.

We are currently reviewing our room inventories and are in the process of completing our fix it program... to ensure our rooms maintain their appearance and quality. We do not own our parking spaces thus the cost incurred is set by the owners (adjacent mall) we have little choice with regards to pricing and options. I am sorry to hear you carried all your belonging's back and forth to the parking garage... please know for future visits we can hold your luggage at our bell desk or front desk while you are retrieving your car. We do offer accommodations with both city and harbour views... this can be requested at the point of reservation or check in. In room movies certainly come at a premium compared to renting a copy or traveling to a theater... our prices are set based on industry and comp set standards. You are right downtown Halifax can be a challenge to navigate in a car... our downtown streets are not on a "grid" this is the result of a city designed in the mid to late 1700's.

We are very glad to hear aspects of your stay did meet your expectations... room, food quality, length of parking pass and our great locations close to everything... our location is one of the best of any Halifax hotel given our proximity to the best of what Halifax has to offer.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback... we do look forward to having you back as our guests on your next visit to Halifax!

Best Regards,

Delta Halifax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    247
    125
    28
    19
See reviews for
114
188
32
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I had won a trip and got free flights and accomodations. Delta Halifax was the hotel that was chosen. I was really pleased. They never treated us as anything other than first class guests. We had only won basic accomodations but the hotel treated us with white glove service. Maid service was sparkling, the pools and restaurants were too. Only a few minutes walk from the main wharf areas and the farmers market on saturday, right down the hill from the Citadel. The view from the harbour was breathtaking, a short walk to the water and a 2.00 ferry ride (via Metro Transit) to the other side of the harbour) transfer to a bus (check the bus schedules) to a mall (Mic Mac) in Dartmouth. Wonderful location. The staff at front desk were full of local knowledge and helped us plan our days. The mothers day buffet for 38 bucks a person was incredible. Prime Rib, lamb, atlantic salmon, shrimp, scallops, etc was mouthwatering, all with a view of the harbour. this hotel has the best view of all the hotels. Right smack in the middle, a couple of minutes from the actual water. When we were out on the harbour we realized how wonderfully located this hotel was.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybeme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit with us.

We are very happy to have played a part in making your trip a success. Its great to hear you enjoyed our great views of the harbour... you are right we have some of the best in the city! We are very appreciative of your compliments regarding our Mothers Day Brunch... we annually offer this specialty brunch to allow our guest's to treat their Mom's on their special day... and this year we sold out the event yet again.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback... we look forward to welcoming you back to our fine city soon!

Best Regards,

Delta Halifax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

When you fist see the Delta Halifax on the website you are impressed. When you arrive it is a completly different story. The hotel is rundown, no bell hop to help with your bags and the list goes on. When you walk into your room it is dissapointing. Run down, and dirty. I found black hairs all over the tub, when I went down to discuss my finding, I was told there must be a mistake as our rooms are clean. All night all I heard was slamming doors and loud voices.
The food is awful, chicken in the salad was gummy an rubbery salad was bland. Very disapointing considering how can you screw up a caesar salad?
All in all I expected more from such a high end chain. In my honest opinion this hotel is a 2 star at best.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuddlypolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
We are sorry to read about your past experience with us at Delta Halifax. It appears as though from check in to check out we let you down. We are very sorry for this.

We do have housekeeping inspection practices in place to ensure our rooms are properly maintained and cleaned for each of our arriving or staying over guests... the deficiencies mentioned in your post are very concerning and uncharacteristic of our property. Our rooms are certainly not the newest in our city however we do boast the fact they are clean and in proper working condition. We do guarantee cleanliness... so much so we offer our rooms for free if they are not cleaned properly... this policy is posted in every room.

We are also sorry to hear your meal experience was not suitable... your menu item was not a specialty dish nor something new to our chefs... very disappointing to us with the product you were delivered.

We do hope to discuss your stay with you in greater detail... we have a message to you via the private forum from this site to discuss further and hopefully extend an invitation for you to return to our property to re-experience our product and services.

Best Regards,

Delta Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I stayed at the Delta Halifax once again, and I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located in a great area, close to shops, Metro Centre, Casino, Waterfront, etc.

I reviewed this hotel back in November 2008 on Trip Advisor and gave it a better rating. What is driving down the rating on this stay was the room. This time I stayed in a Delta Room (Lowest Category Room) and the room was not up to The Delta hotel standards. The carpet was worn and the walls had seen better days. This was not the case when I stayed back in 2008 which leads me to believe some rooms are refurbished and some not.
What was most noticeable was certain things in the room seemed like it came from the 1980's. The bath tub drain was rusted and dirty, the tap in the bath came right out of the 80's it seams and the Radio/Alarm clock wasn't very modern. Even the light fixtures on the ceiling were dated. I took a picture of the drain, Tap and Clock.

The only think that drove down the rating was the room. The hotel itself was very nice, the staff very friendly and the restaurant was perfect. The swimming pool was warm and the sauna was nice.

Will I stay in this hotel again? Yes. Will I stay in a Delta Room in this hotel? NO!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your last stay with us in Halifax. We truly appreciate your candid feedback on how we are doing. Please trust we recognize the area's you have mentioned are in need of improvement and we do in fact have a plan in place and are currently in the process of executing it ensure all aspects of our products will be at a level to meet our guests' expectations.

I am thrilled to hear your compliments regarding our staff and service levels... they are certainly our point of difference!

All of us at Delta Halifax look forward to you returning to our hotel when your travels bring you back to Halifax... in hopes to provide an opportunity to see an enhanced product!

Best Regards,
Delta Halifax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We got a very nice rate on this hotel through travelzoo and stayed 4 nights over Labour Day weekend. The location was great. It is an easy walk to the harbour, the casino and local pubs and restaurants.

We arrived after midnight but the friendly desk staff gave us a great recommendation when we asked for a pub with a wide variety of beer - Maxwell's Plum. It was only a few blocks away and still serving food late into the night.

Our room was lovely with a partial view of the harbour and free high speed internet (not wireless). The bed was very confortable and the room was spacious and met all our needs.

The only negative about the hotel was the pool - it was pretty old and has rust along the edges. It is in need of updating to be sure.

The adjacent mall is great for breakfast./coffee There are several food court options including Starbucks, Tim Hortons and Second Cup. Unfortunately it is not open Sundays & Holidays so good luck finding something those mornings. There is also a liquor store in the mall near the hotel enterance.

It is a little complicated to get in and out of the hotel to the mall and parking but we were able to figure it out by day 2. Unfortunately the cost of parking was a bit outrageous at $20 per day.

There is lots to do nearby the hotel. Everything is in close walking distance. Halifax is quite hilly so be prepared if you're heading away from the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us this past Labour Day weekend.

Its always great to hear stories about how our staff and location are key to our guests satisfaction. Maxwell's Plum is a bit of landmark in our city... we're glad you enjoyed the recommendation.

We are relentless in ensuring our pool and fitness room are always clean... that being said we recognize they are in need of an upgrade. This is in our 2010 plan.

Unfortunately parking is very limited in our city. We partner with Scotia Square (the attached mall and parkade). Our parking prices are legislated by their direction. We charge face value for our guests to park in Scotia Square's garage. We do price shop our city regularly and find our parking prices to be competitive with other downtown hotels. When making your next reservation inquire about our specials and packages... we have several options that have inclusions such as parking and breakfast.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback... it is very important to us.

We hope to have you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Very accommodating and good natured, professional staff. The beds are so comfortable - great mattress and lovely pillows. Nice decor. Easy parking and within easy walking distance of Historic Properties ( with waterfront restaurants with a view), the Citadel, Art Gallery, shopping. Good alternatives to pricey hotel breakfast in the adjacent shopping mall. Only downside is having to walk through smokers to get in the entrance, but this could happen elsewhere too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mushyontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Thank you for making us part of your recent business travels plans.

We are very happy to hear your compliments of our staff and location. We believe our colleagues are our greatest asset... they are all very passionate about their hotel and its guests.

We are very fortunate to have a full access food court attached to our hotel that provides many options other than our outlets for that quick snack or meal on the run!

Our Delta Sanctuary Beds are really outstanding... many of our colleagues buy them for their own bedrooms! We also have many requests from guests to purchase our pillows... we have in the past added to our supplier order to fulfill these requests.

We agree that smoking can be an issue for any public building. We have placed our ashtrays away from our front doors to keep a clear and healthy entrance to our hotel We will keep this on our radar!

Thanks for your feedback... we look forward to having you back as out guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Myself, my wife and my 2 kids aged 8 and 11 stayed in the Delta Halifax for the first four night of our vacation to Nova Scotia. On arrival at the door we were warmly greeted by the staff who took our bags straight away. After an easy check-in we were shown to our room with two queen sized beds, as requested. The room was spotless, spacey and had everything you could want including Air-con. Thankfully, as the weather was so hot! Complimentary papers were left at the door every morning and the room was always cleaned while we were out (although a vacuum wouldn't have gone astray the odd day). The hotel is linked to the Scotia Square mall which also leads to the Barrington Place Shops (A great Barber works out of here). The hotel is only 5 minutes from the board walk. Overall, we had a great stay. The staff are so friendly and the food is excellent. I would highly recommend the Delta for families and individuals alike. The only negative I would have is that a bit of money would be well spent in updating some features and maybe to repaint the pool (although very clean). *A tip for the newcomers to Canada. In Nova Scotia we learn't that it is allowed to TURN RIGHT at a red light!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayvly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Thank you for allowing us to be part of your 2009 vacation! Traveling together as a family of 4 is no easy task... we are very happy to hear our accommodations well suited your needs.

We are very proud of all our colleagues and the service they provide. Our culinary team carries a great reputation in our city... we are very happy you had an opportunity to enjoy their passion!

While we stand by our cleanliness standards and are very confident in our abilities to keep our hotel shining... we do have planned upgrades for 2010.

Thank you for your candid feedback. We look forward to having you back as our guests soon.

PS - yes right on red is one of our little secrets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,918 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Address: 1990 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#13 Family Hotel in Halifax
#14 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in travel at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax. Our hotel in downtown Halifax, Nova Scotia is centrally located and offers amazing views of the harbour. Enjoy easy access to the city's top destinations from our accommodations, including proximity to the Citadel National Historic Cite and Scotiabank Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Halifax Hotel Halifax
Delta Hotel Halifax
Halifax Delta Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing