We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for downtown Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Very accommodating and good natured, professional staff. The beds are so comfortable - great mattress and lovely pillows. Nice decor. Easy parking and within easy walking distance of Historic Properties ( with waterfront restaurants with a view), the Citadel, Art Gallery, shopping. Good alternatives to pricey hotel breakfast in the adjacent shopping mall. Only downside is having to walk through smokers to get in the entrance, but this could happen elsewhere too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mushyontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Thank you for making us part of your recent business travels plans.

We are very happy to hear your compliments of our staff and location. We believe our colleagues are our greatest asset... they are all very passionate about their hotel and its guests.

We are very fortunate to have a full access food court attached to our hotel that provides many options other than our outlets for that quick snack or meal on the run!

Our Delta Sanctuary Beds are really outstanding... many of our colleagues buy them for their own bedrooms! We also have many requests from guests to purchase our pillows... we have in the past added to our supplier order to fulfill these requests.

We agree that smoking can be an issue for any public building. We have placed our ashtrays away from our front doors to keep a clear and healthy entrance to our hotel We will keep this on our radar!

Thanks for your feedback... we look forward to having you back as out guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 682 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2009

Myself, my wife and my 2 kids aged 8 and 11 stayed in the Delta Halifax for the first four night of our vacation to Nova Scotia. On arrival at the door we were warmly greeted by the staff who took our bags straight away. After an easy check-in we were shown to our room with two queen sized beds, as requested. The room was spotless, spacey and had everything you could want including Air-con. Thankfully, as the weather was so hot! Complimentary papers were left at the door every morning and the room was always cleaned while we were out (although a vacuum wouldn't have gone astray the odd day). The hotel is linked to the Scotia Square mall which also leads to the Barrington Place Shops (A great Barber works out of here). The hotel is only 5 minutes from the board walk. Overall, we had a great stay. The staff are so friendly and the food is excellent. I would highly recommend the Delta for families and individuals alike. The only negative I would have is that a bit of money would be well spent in updating some features and maybe to repaint the pool (although very clean). *A tip for the newcomers to Canada. In Nova Scotia we learn't that it is allowed to TURN RIGHT at a red light!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayvly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Thank you for allowing us to be part of your 2009 vacation! Traveling together as a family of 4 is no easy task... we are very happy to hear our accommodations well suited your needs.

We are very proud of all our colleagues and the service they provide. Our culinary team carries a great reputation in our city... we are very happy you had an opportunity to enjoy their passion!

While we stand by our cleanliness standards and are very confident in our abilities to keep our hotel shining... we do have planned upgrades for 2010.

Thank you for your candid feedback. We look forward to having you back as our guests soon.

PS - yes right on red is one of our little secrets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to the Maritime provinces. We stayed at the Delta Sydney, Delta Halifax and Delta Brunswick- see separate reviews. I have only positive comments for the Delta Halifax. It was in an ideal location downtown and close to the watefront. The room was clean and a good size. We particularly enjoyed the business center with free internet access on the 6th floor.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank J_M_S_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Thank you for letting is know how we are doing! Your feedback is very important to us.

We are very happy we were able to be part of your Maritime Vacation this summer. Our brand is very important to us... and are very appreciative of your support.

I agree our location is one of the best in the city with close approximation to all major city attractions. Our business center is a key service we feel necessary to provide as it is a means for our guests to stay in touch with family and friends while traveling away from home... we are glad you enjoyed that service.

We hope to be part of your 2010 travel plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

i was expecting a little more from a delta hotel(been in a few )but the room wasnt that nice looking,the door had like big bubbles on it i think they put a plastic panel on the door and didnt stick well or something like that.The staff on the other end was very good and helpful and really nice.But the hotel was located near all the activities witch was really good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

We appreciate you taking the time post feedback from your stay with us at Delta Halifax. I am sorry your room door was not up kept to the standard you have come to trust from our brand.

We now have a room inspection program in place to ensure preventive maintenance is applied to our rooms and their contents to keep them in good working and visual conditions. We are sorry we let you down by assigning you a room that had a door issue.

We are very happy to hear your compliments regarding our staff and location... both are some of the best our city has to offer.

We look forward to having you back as out guest in the future to strengthen your confidence in our hotel and brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I stay here whenever I'm in Halifax. The hotel's located right downtown and is an easy walk to everything. The reason that I choose this one over the Delta Barrington is that you can park your own car (I find the mandatory valet parking at the Barrington to be inconvenient since parking is offsite). The rooms at the Delta Halifax are consistently clean, the beds are comfortable, and many rooms have a decent view of the harbour. The restaurant and bar leave a bit to be desired, but you're in downtown Halifax, so there are many good choices within a few blocks. Also, the hotel is attached to a small mall with a small food court (you don't have to step outside to get to it), which make for decent and convenient breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoy our downtown location, harbour views and access of the pedway system to our surrounding neighbors.

We would like to inform that we have in our 2010 plans to update and rejuvenate our food and beverage outlets... we confidently boast some of the finest cuisine in the city... however agree we need to do some work to bring the rooms themselves back to life.

We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Although the location is great in downtown Halifax, walking distance to everything, many other hotels and inns offer this, and you would be better off at one of those. This hotel is outdated and dark. The wallpaper in our room was peeling, and the paint chipped. The tub bottom was stained brown, and it cost $1.30 to make local calls and even cost to call my parents room on another floor. Parking was 10 bucks a day and the staff was very unable to give us directions to where we needed to go. Some positives were a business center with internet, and when we needed a maintenance person to come to our room, they arrived immediately and solved the problem quickly and was very friendly. Overall, for 200 dollars a night, I would have been better off somewhere that would give me more for my money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonefaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This hotel is tired and needs to be updated/renovated. Our harbour-view room was comfrotable. There was significant wear on the bathroom fixtures - from the faucets to the toilet and the tub-liner. The carpet wasn't bad but it was noticeably worn. The view was okay but we had only a partial view of the harbour. All-in-all it was a good stay but not anythign to writehome about. I'd stay there again as we get a discount but there are better hotels in Halifax.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSfatherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,123 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Nova Scotian
#15 of 28 in Halifax
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax

Address: 1990 Barrington St | Scotia Square, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
#14 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $122 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in travel at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax. Our hotel in downtown Halifax, Nova Scotia is centrally located and offers amazing views of the harbour. Enjoy easy access to the city's top destinations from our accommodations, including proximity to the Citadel National Historic Cite and Scotiabank Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Halifax Hotel Halifax
Delta Hotel Halifax
Halifax Delta Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing