We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but don't count on the wakeup call”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but don't count on the wakeup call”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Flew into town for the Bluenose marathon, arriving at 3 am! Check-in was fast and friendly and soon i was in my large, clean room ready to sleep.Typical in-room arrangement with other big chains, large comfortable bed with nice linens, flat-panel tele, quiet heating/AC unit, single-serve coffee maker plus hotpot for tea.

They have a pool/fitness area that has decent changing facility with sauna and shower,and a nice Business Centre. The internet is free and good and the location is very convenient for Downtown.

My only complaint is that on race morning my promised wakeup call never arrived, and they never explained/apologised, seeming more incredulous that I had asked for one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing... its great to be in receipt of your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us overall all. Ensuring accuracy of wake-up calls with appropriate checks and balances is a priority for us at our hotel. We will continue to focus on this for future stays.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Carey
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    243
    120
    27
    19
See reviews for
110
180
31
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Delta Halifax (Chateau Halifax) 40 years ago for our honeymoon. We returned this year and found the experience to be even more wonderful! From the front desk staff to housekeeping, the staff at Delta Halifax were helpful, friendly, welcoming, and professional. We are not sure we will ever make it back to Halifax, but if we do, we will not hesitate to book rooms at Delta Halifax. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Harbor view! Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Nee N, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Congratulations on 40 years of marriage! We are honoured to have been part of your honeymoon experience in the beginning and thrilled to read you made it back to us after all this time! We understand that geography may challenge you returning to Halifax... that said if you do have an opportunity to return please connect with me directly... I would love to assist with your travel plans.

Your story is great... I'm proud we could be part of it and thrilled to read your comments on our service levels.

Best wishes and take care,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

You will experience first hand what maritime hospitality is like. I find the staff at the hotel outstanding, friendly and so helpful. Many hotels could take notes on how to run an establishment! Special thanks to Brad who was so very patient with us even if my colleague insulted him without knowing his place of origin!
The front desk staff were all so pleasant and professional. I definitely would go back.
Comfortable rooms without fuss. WIFI a little hard to get from the room! No other bad points!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Nee N, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent experience with us. We were pleased to be the host hotel for your conference and are thrilled to be in receipt of your feedback. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Brad... he is a star employee for us and a guest favorite. I am sorry to read you had some issues with your in room wifi. This is not a comment we hear often. If you don't mind can you email me your room number... I would like to have some testing done to ensure any issues are resolved.

Thanks for staying and we all look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at the Delta on Good Friday to utilize proximity to lower deck and casino. The rate was fantastic for such a good location. The hotel has all the amenities one would want. The pool was large.... the hot tub is a little small and dated but still adequate. Room was nicely updated. Service was top-notch. Overall, the hotel needs a little more up-dates but for the age of the hotel and the price this is a solid four stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrekman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We got storm stayed in Halifax and chose to stay at the Delta Halifax, the front desk people were excellent very helpful and kind, we stayed in a one bedroom sweet which was huge, a very nice room. However when we were looking for things for our hide a bed we found a dirty pair of underwear in one of the drawers. Then in the morning when I was going to have a shower I found a huge ball of hair in the back corner of the tub. definitely disgusting! When we told the front desk attendant about this she agreed saying it was gross, however wouldn't do anything about it because we were only staying one night... not the way we would have liked to have been treated from a hotel like the Delta.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Koelbe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Nee N, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while your travel plans were interrupted. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the unfortunate experience you had regarding your room cleanliness. I also believe we let you down in terms of compensation given the incidents you pointed out in your review... I am sorry we did not do a better job at trying to remedy the situation while you were at the hotel.

I would like to ask for a second chance to make up for our shortfalls and invite you to connect with me. My email is below.

I look forward in hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

They really liked the pool, which is 19 stories above ground, kind of cool. We took them up on their overnight package which included parking and breakfast for 2 adults and 2 children. This hotel is great as it is attached to Scotia Square and you can reach a lot of the city through the pedway system.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotianNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Nee N, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thanks for including us in your March Break travel plans! I am thrilled to read you were able to take advantage of our March Break Package... it was very popular this year! Its great to read you enjoyed your time and our pool and recreation facilities. Being part of the downtown link is a huge bonus especially during the winter months in Halifax!

Thanks again for choosing us and we all look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Very Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Getting away for a one night stay in Halifax was much enhanced by the receptionist who provided professional and friendly help. She anticipated our needs, and offered assistance to help solve any problems that could have arisen, especially the parking! Thank-you Irene. We were pleased to see her smiling face again in the morning when we checked out. A friendly reception makes all the difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Nee N, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. Irene is a superstar colleague here at Delta Halifax and I'm thrilled she was able to engage with you and make a difference in your stay. I will be sure she receives a copy of your feedback.

Thanks again for staying and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Address: 1990 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#13 Family Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
#14 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in travel at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax. Our hotel in downtown Halifax, Nova Scotia is centrally located and offers amazing views of the harbour. Enjoy easy access to the city's top destinations from our accommodations, including proximity to the Citadel National Historic Cite and Scotiabank Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Halifax Hotel Halifax
Delta Hotel Halifax
Halifax Delta Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing