We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
185
283
125
47
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
283
125
47
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tempo restaurant valet parking the club lounge downtown halifax scotia square bit dated front desk staff location is great per day within walking distance hotel is centrally located hotel room third floor beds were very comfortable business trip mini fridge citadel hill
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 654 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Stayed at the Delta the weekend of the Buskers. Nice hotel and the rooms were fine and beds comfortable. The front end staff were very good at both check in and check out.

Couple of drawbacks,

1) No continental breakfast - A continental breakfast is something we look for 99% of the time when traveling and booking hotels. Figured not too big a deal this time as there was a food court and many restaurants close by and because the hotel was close enough to the waterfront we opted to just run to the mall a block away via pedway to eat.

2) Parking - There is valet parking available, but it wasn't cheap (almost $30 I think). We decided to park at the Scotia Square and walk the short distance to the hotel, which was less than a block away and all inside. Parking is apx. $20/24hrs at the Scotia Square. You can get a bit of a deal if you park at the Casino and do a bit of gambling (contact Casino NS for full details), but it is farther away from the hotel (about 2 blocks).

We may stay here again sometime, but only if there is something really special going on on the waterfront.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverviewhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Delta Barrington. We strive to offer exceptional service, and are happy that our team was able to leave a good impression on your stay. One of the benefits of staying in downtown Halifax, is that variety of amenities and options guests have available to them. We offer a full service restaurant, and valet parking as amenities for guests who are looking for a full service experience. We have shared your feedback with our team to ensure we learn from your experience. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is dated and needs to be upgraded. Upon check in communication regards to parking, amenities and internet were not communicated with us. When we checked out we noticed we were over charged one night. After speaking with the manager he was very stubborn to help us in any way. I walked away and my husband continued talking to him. His response was, “I was going to do something about it anyways”. Don’t wait until your customer is angry! Location is great but I do not recommend this hotel and we will not be returning in the near future!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stephenmN9562ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPower2014, Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018


Greetings from Delta Barrington,

We appreciate you choosing us on your recent visit to Halifax and are very sorry for the experiences you had. This is certainly not what you should expect nor what we desired to deliver. I am hoping you may be willing to contact me (email below) as I would like to bring a positive closure to your stay.

Very Best,
Carey Power

carey.power@deltahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The hotel is located just where the main road into Halifax ends, and across the street from a bus station--so there is a fair amount of traffic around---it has only 3 floors and no room service after 11pm...the windows do not open so you will have no fresh air at all, the elevator is slow, and the rooms are small, there is no spa...But--the staff is super nice, and the air conditioning is fine--though by no means strong and weakens after midnight, the internet is reliable if not fast, and the rooms feel clean--you will shower in the bathtub with one of those wide shower curtain rings above, and will be given some cheap, filmy soap and dry shampoo that feels like soap...I stayed in a "club" room which seemed to have virtually no added value...

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Delta Barrington. We strive to offer exceptional service at the Delta Barrington, and are pleased that our team was able to leave a good impression on your stay. One of the main benefits our Signature Club offers is access to the Signature Club Lounge which offers a continental breakfast in the morning, and hors d'eouvres in the evening. While we weren't able to meet all of your expectations for this stay, we hope to greet you for an improved stay on your next visit to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Nice hotel located right downtown in a great location. Not too far of a walk to the waterfront or casino and right beside Scotia Square. Rooms were nice and clean. Also convenient that there is a pool indoors.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chasingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent stay at the Delta Barrington. We strive to offer a seamless experience for our guests, and are pleased to hear that our service and convenient location were able to offer you a memorable experience. We hope to host you again on your next trip to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We got off the red eye from Vancouver and they were able to get up a room at 9:30am without a early reservation fee. The service was great and the staff was super helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 820saral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent stay at the Delta Barrington. We strive to offer a seamless experience for our guests, we're pleased that our team was able to be welcoming and help accommodate your early arrival. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews