We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Perfect location, hotel service was excellent staff very helpful.
Rooms clean and comfortable, no complaints!
Great fittness centre!
Would Highly recommend Salty's fine dinning on 2nd floor located 2 blocks down on water front!
Check out ferry ride $2.50 for both ways Dartmouth and back keep transfer!
Loved Halifax!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopeToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2009

Thank you for letting us know about your stay! We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel!

Our fitness center is an important service / amenity we offer our guests... we recognize the importance of having a facility that will allow our guests to keep their exercise routines up while away from home.

At a one way transit fare and transfer to get back the Metro Ferry is the best valued harbour tour in North America... un-narrated of course! I have actually spotted seals during my morning commutes!

Thanks again for sharing your feedback... we look forward to having you back as our guest soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 596 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

Every time I come to Halifax I always know where I'll lay my head after a long day of meetings! Check-in is always quick with Karl, and Frank and Ronald are so efficient, Frank is a riot! the gentlemen that answers the phone in the mornings when I call for my car, I think his name is Marcues (sorry, bad with names) is always so friendly and professional. He's very down to Earth, not stuffy like staff in other hotels. Every one always has a smile and willing to do any thing to make your stay the best possible! Rooms are very clean and housekeeping staff very friendly. Stone Street is wonderful as well. LOVE my Delta Barrington!

-E Whilshire, Toronto.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

Thank you for taking the time share your feedback! Frank, Donald, Karl and Marcus are all superstars for our hotel!

We are very proud that you consider us your home away from home when having to travel on business.

We look forward to having you back "home" soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Great location, friendliest staff ever encountered at a hotel. Fast check in with Karl, outdoor parking for our camper.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turista51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

Thank you very much for posting feedback from your recent stay with us.

Our colleagues are our greatest asset. Karl has been with us for many years and takes great pride in servicing his guests and ensuring every detail is looked after. In this instance he was able to arrange parking for your camper... certainly a relief to not have to worry about in a new city.

We hope to see you again should your travels find you back in our city again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Excellent staff, service and location. You wont be disappointed. Thumbs up to Delta on this one. Excellent training and maritime hospitality are evident.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.

Delta Barrington has been part of the Delta family for almost 30 years... it has carried no other name. Our colleagues are very proud of our hotel and company. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We spent 24 hrs in airplanes and waiting in airports due to weather problems and missed connections as a result of this; arrived in Halifax with no luggage 3 hrs early for check-in at the Delta Barrington for our 20th anniversary. Hotel staff checked us into an upgraded room right away, delivered a surprise bottle of champagne with chocolate dipped strawberries and a card for our anniversary. My wife's clothes were soaked after walking outside in the rain and wind and she had nothing else to change into due to her luggage being lost by the airlines. Housekeeping picked up her clothes, dried them and brought them back within 30 min so that we could get to dinner and a concert. The 4 course lobster dinner at the hotel was delicious and service was fantastic; waitress realized we were going to be late for the concert, so she arranged for the rest of our meal to be prepared after the concert and delivered to our hotel room. The bell/valet guys arranged for a taxi to get us to the concert on time and got our luggage back for us and delivered to our room for when we returned after the concert. We were made to feel valued as a customer by all the hotel staff at the front desk, bell/valet, restaurant, lounge and housekeeping. Room was upgraded for us, clean, comfortable, with evening turndown service, music turned on, bedside chocolates and bottled water to welcome us back after an evening out in the city. Package we had included a full hot buffet breakfast. Delta Barrington staff made our 20th anniversary memorable. Exceptional service!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poke-a-dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

Thank you for your feedback... your 20th Anniversary vacation.

We are very appreciative of you providing us the opportunity to have you stay with us for such an occasion.

We are extremely proud of our staff and the efforts they put forth to servicing our guests day in and out. It is a pleasure to read how they understood your current situation and were able to react and offer to help in any way possible. From drying cloths to arranging transportation... they all have a "can do" attitude when it comes to their guests.

We do hope your 20th Anniversary memories are long lasting and you will consider Delta Barrington for your next special get-a-way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed the experience immensely. Check in was very fast and friendly. I arrived a couple of hours early but this did not present any kind of a problem. The bellman, Frank, was incredibly efficient and friendly with several suggestions for restaurants and sights that we should try to see. We had a room in the Signature Club section and it was very nice. The lounge was also very nice and well stocked. We had dinner in the dining room downstairs and enjoyed it so much that we had dinner there a second night. We also had room service one evening which was also fast and delicious. Our room was clean and always made up while we were out as well as turned down when we got back in the evenings. As wonderful as all the little touches were, the one thing that makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They are all so friendly and helpful and really go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. We are already looking forward to staying at the Delta Barrington the next time we are in Halifax.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockysmom4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your week long stay at Delta Barrington. Frank Opdebeck is one of Halifax's finest concierge. He is a member of Les Clef d'Or Canada and a founding member of the Atlantic Canada Chapter of that organization. He is an 18 year veteran of the concierge profession... and is extremely passionate about servicing his guests... we are very fortunate to have Frank as one of our leaders.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your dinning experiences with us... the Stone Street Cafe is the hidden gem in Halifax... we like to call it Halifax's best kept dinning secret!

We believe our colleagues who service our customers are the best at what they do! We openly foster a culture that keeps our colleagues empowered and challenged... I am extremely pleased to here your fine complements regarding them.

We hope to be your home away from home during you next vacation to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Our nephew was being married in Halifax and our daughters were the flower girls, so our family of six needed a place to stay in the city for the weekend. We booked two adjoining rooms at the Delta Barrington and were so pleased that we did. All staff were wonderful, polite & helpful and kind from the moment we set foot through the front doors: the front desk, the concierge, the valet parking attendants, the housekeeping staff, the server in the lounge & the pool maintenance person. We had ample room in the bedrooms and it was convenient to be downtown so that we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. The housekeeping staff did not seem the least bit put out when we asked to have the pull-out couch in one room made up so that our niece could babysit our tired children while we went back to the wedding reception. On our last night, our niece stayed again and my husband & I were able to go down to the lounge to enjoy a quiet supper together (a novelty with four children!). Our server was attentive & efficient and the food was delicious! We were especially impressed with "Matt from Pictou" and feel he is a credit to both the hotel and to the Tourism Industry in Nova Scotia! We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgraviaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaBAR, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

We are very happy to have been a small part of making your Nephew's wedding an overall success.

Traveling as a family of 6 is no easy task! This must have been a most enjoyable celebration for your entire family with the wedding and all... however as a parent myself I truly understand the joy you experienced in having an opportunity escape the hustle and bustle of parent hood to a nice relaxing dinner... we are so pleased your dining experience was a compliment to your stay!
We pride ourselves in delivering world class food and beverage service.

Matt is one of our super stars... he represents himself and the hotel in the highest regard... he truly loves what he does and we all are beneficiaries from his efforts.

We hope to see you back at Delta Barrington soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,054 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Address: 1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $128 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a seamless travel experience at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington. Our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada sits in the downtown's Historic Properties area, conveniently close to Halifax's top attractions. Get to the most popular destinations in the city via the pedway system, and delight in our perfect location near Casino Nova Scotia, Scotiabank Centre and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing