We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time, but renos needed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good time, but renos needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed one night at the Delta Barrington this month. Check in, check out were quick and easy, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was a decent price, but a bit small for our needs... cramming in a playpen for the baby made the room feel even smaller. Although the bathroom was very nice the rest of the room is definitely in need of a reno. Our bed sank to the center, the carpet is showing its age, no microwave in the room, and it's an older CRT tv in the big cabinet.. Although our room faced busy Barrington street, we didn't hear any traffic noise all night. Great location though, the shops of Barrington Place and the downtown pedway system connect right from the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridiculous888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Hello from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I want to inform you of a full renovation plan we have starting later this year... the project will consist of a full re-design and remodeling of all room aspects to all 200 rooms at the hotel. We are very excited for this project to commence in November of this year.

Its great to hear you did enjoy or location and the service levels you received while with us. We do hope you will consider us again should your travels have you back in Halifax.

Please know I am available should you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail.

Very Best,

Donnie
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    233
    99
    42
    11
See reviews for
96
171
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed at one of the Halifax hotels a few days ago and mentioned to the people at the front desk that our sheets were very damp and we all woke up with damp clothes.{Our family of 7 had 2 rooms and all four beds were wet.} We were told that they don't use dryers. Pull-out couch;you could feel ALL the springs when lying down,my children slept poorly. Staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammysdayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Greeting's from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit to out hotel.

I am very sorry to read of your damp sheets. This is surly unacceptable and not something you should or would expect to happen while staying with us. The information about not using dryers is correct our bed sheets leave the washer and go straight to a high temperature press that acts in two fashions... as a dryer and a press. There was definitely a glitch with your sheets... I am sorry this had happened and more so sorry we did not make this up to you during your stay.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the service from our staff however we would like an opportunity to make this up to you.

I am available and invite you to contact me directly at the hotel so we can further discuss your past stay.

Very Best,

Donne MacDonald
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Upon arrival in Halifax we started off by going into the Delta Halifax which is across the road and trying to check in but when they didn't find our booking we were directed across the road to the Delta Barrington; luckily it was close by and the parking location was actually the same.
The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. It suited our needs without being remarkable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcj1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Greeting's from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us from your recent stay.

We do have two hotels in Halifax and yes we are across the street from one and other... actually connected via an indoor walkway system. I hope you were not inconvenienced too much upon arriving at the other hotel. We are very pleased to hear we met your expectations that led to an enjoyable stay.

Thanks again for choosing us! We look for ward to having you back as our guest soon!

Best Regards,

Donnie MacDonald
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed for 1 night at the Delta Barrington. We had booked a regular king size room however upon check in the front desk advised for $15 we could upgrade to the club floor which would give us wireless as well as access to the club lounge. We decided to go for it. Getting to our room, we realized the air conditioning was not working. We had dinner plans so went out but on our way out stopped at the front desk to advise them of the situation. We got in late to discover it had not been fixed and all night there was a clunking sound followed by a hissing sound. We did not sleep very well as a result of the noise and the warmth in the room. As you can appreciate, we were not very pleased. At check out, we spoke with the manager and without any hesitation, he offered to cover the cost for the room. So although our stay was not great, I do think the hotel handled the situation well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Greeting's from Halifax,

Thank you for taking the time to let is know how we are doing by reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor.

I am very sorry to hear of the A/C issues you faced and more so our communication error that resulted in your unit not being repaired... we are sorry to have let you down. We are very happy we did have an opportunity to discuss the situation at check out and provide suitable compensation in an atempt to make up for the unsatisfactory situation.

There are many reputable hotels in Halifax and we are very thankful you chose us... we do hope by bringing a positive closure to your past stay you will keep us in mind should your travel plans take you back to Halifax.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Very good value! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Valet parking makes it easy to load and unlaod with sports equipment and luggage. We have stayed for winter and summer sporting activities and found location and value excellent! Very safe and walking to shops, restaurants and tourist attractions - the waterfront is just two blocks away ... hotel is getting a little dated but still clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Upper floors a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on your most recent stay with us at Delta Barrington. We are so happy to see you enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful city. We would like to let you know we are in the process of planning a complete renovation of all of our guest rooms to begin this November. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Delta Barrington again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
543 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Right downtown and only minutes walk to the casino and all of the fine dining of Halifax. The lobby great and the staff are good as well. It's a large hotel and the rooms are pretty well appointed. Like I said, a solid 4 star. Don't let anyone tell you it's 5 stars.

An enclosed pedway takes you to a shopping centre. Parking is expensive if I remember correctly. At least for the maritimes, not like New York or San Francisco at $50 plus a day... I think $20 something.

For under $189 you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian_Hoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Greeting's from Halifax,

Thanks very much for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at Delta Barrington. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and particularly our location and service.

You are right parking is a premium in our city. We actually do not own our parking rather rent our spots from a neighboring parking garage and simply charge our guests the retail amount set by the parking facility.

Thank you for choosing Delta Barrington... there are many reputable hotels in Halifax and we are very happy you chose us. We hope to be your home away from home the next time you find yourself in Halifax.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

I have been to many delta's but sadly i have to say this one wasn't the best i ever been to.
The location was good since it was connected to a mall that we could go to.
We were told that there was no hotel restaurant by a hotel worker at the front desk so that was kinda a little bump.
But our room was quite big which i liked.
The beds were really soft.
Room Service was fast and the food was great.
The only turnoff i found of the hotel was that i didn't see a hotub which i was lookig forward for.

overall the hotel was okay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank habs1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Greeting's habs1998:

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear you did enjoy you your stay and particularly enjoyed our location, room size and sanctuary bed.

We are sorry you were not fully informed of our food and beverage offering and pool / fitness facilities. We do offer full breakfast service daily from 7 and 11am in our restaurant or in room dining and then a full dinner menu commencing at 4:30pm in our lobby bar or through our in room dining service.

Our fitness and pool area does not offer a jacuzzi due to complications with the building (our hotel is one aspect to the Barrington Place Complex). Please note we are planing a full hotel renovation toward the end of this year and this item is on that project plan.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!

Best Regards,

Donnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
#14 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Address: 1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing