We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluenose Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed November 28, 2013

No power or water upon arrival, was offered a discount, and then argued with about said discount. on top of this was lied to about WiFi password because manager can't spell "schooner", the building is named after one for Christ sakes!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 73Unhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBluenose, Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the issues you experienced with our electricity and water. The storm we faced that evening resulted in loss of power for the area, and we are thankful NS Power was able to restore it as quickly as they did. I am regretful that your discount was not applied without discussion, this should not have been the case. We are reviewing our protocol for emergencies so that all of our staff are aware of the policies we have in place. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. All comments help us to improve our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HOJOBluenose, Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Dirty ,smelly, one of the beds were broken etc... We mentioned the broken bed to the clerk at checkout and she said "oh really, I know that you guys were jumping up and down on it" in a sarcastic tone and just shrugged it off; no sorry or apology or anything. No class! We pulled into town late after we had booked a room after looking at the picts on their website 2 weeks before. Ha! Ha! It could have been worse. Just keep driving! Their are better deals and far better places out there! UGGGHHHH! Upon checking in the clerk kept mumbling about how late it was and about having been " ripped off" a week or two before by a girl who seemed really nice and just kept rambling on and on and we do hope he can find closure and deal with what must be a horrible chapter in his life. We realised at that time what we were booking into because upon making reservations we had ok'd our checkin time and were not late. This place is a dump and a dive. Dark, dingy and out of the way. It is what it is and I could go on about the messy paint job, horrible patch work and general runned-down everything etc..etc.. but this should be booked into only if it is the last place available .The bathroom was so dingy I needed a shower after showering in it. As bad as this sleaze trap was and rundown it is; I shudder to think that we may have had one of their better rooms!

Room Tip: Don't rely on pictures from the Hotel website. Take a quick walkthrough first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBluenose, Guest Relations Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I apologize for your experiences with the front desk staff. From what you have shared, they did not meet the standards expected of the Howard Johnson. Your review will be addressed at the next staff meeting and our check-in and check-out procedures will be reviewed. We acknowledge that our building is aged, and we continue to improve our establishment such that we can provide the best possible experience for our guests. Again, thank you for review - all reviews help to improve our establishment and future guest's experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Room was dingy and old, and the smell chocked me. They had some kind of deodorizer smell in the room that was just awful. Hotel is built on the side of a hill with sorta weird parking, you drive up and up these tiered levels. The bathroom was old and had stained fixtures. Wifi worked for about an hour of our entire stay. The best surprise was the included breakfast at their restaurant. It was nicely presented and the coffee was amazing, and the service was great. Too bad the rooms were so bad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnAns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBluenose, Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that your stay with us was not satisfactory, but we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. All of our staff pride themselves in delivering the best customer experience possible. We recognize that our building is older, and we continue to make modifications to improve its appearance for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Tired room with dirty (greasy rings - yuck - from last guest) bedside table. Weird reception. They wanted photo id before i got my room in spite of the fact that they had a reservation and my credit card information. By her manner, she acted as if she thought it was first time I had ever stayed in a motel. (Too tired to protest, just wanted to settle in.) Besides the dirty table, the area behind it had not been cleaned in a LONG time. My suggestion to anyone thinking of staying there - add a few $$$ and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorothyGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBluenose, Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the issue of cleanliness with the bedside table. Cleanliness and sanitation is paramount to our establishment, and I recognize that the standards we set were not met during your visit. This issue has been addressed with the Housekeeping Department. We are sorry to have inconvenienced you by asking to see your ID, it is hotel policy to verify that the guest arriving matches the credit card information on the reservation. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. All reviews and comments are important for improving the experience for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were travelling all night and at five in the morning tried to find a Hotel near Mount Saint Vincent because we had a reunion at ten A.m. the next morning

Got in the room I felt the sheets had already been slept in so carefully prepared to sleep as is on top with just a cover. The toilet was dirty like they never used a brush to get out the dirt. The room had a fridge stove and I supposed other supplies to cook with .I wouldn't use them anyway if needed .This is just about the first Hotel that I can say worth complaining about. The breakfast was ok ,dining room neat and looked clean breakfast was served by a nice person but food was very limited. .Will make sure never to stop there again.

Room Tip: Cannot give any advice which side would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJOBluenose, Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a reveiw. I am sorry that you are unhappy with your stay. This certainly is not the customer service we strive to give all our customers. I am only sorry that you did not speak with me the following day. I have sopke with housekeeping and addressed the issue of concern. Please accept my apology for any inconveniences you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HOJOBluenose, Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
4.8 mi away
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#27 of 28 in Halifax
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chebucto Inn
Chebucto Inn
#25 of 28 in Halifax
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#21 of 28 in Halifax
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau Bedford
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn & Suites

Address: 636 Bedford Hwy, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 2L8, Canada (Formerly Days Inn Halifax)
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: $71 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluenose Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluenose Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bluenose Hotel Halifax
Howard Johnson Halifax
Halifax Howard Johnson
Bluenose Inn & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing