We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Choice for a Hotel In Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Choice for a Hotel In Halifax”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Our stay at the Cambridge Suites Hotel was the perfect way to start our vacation in the Canadian Maritimes. The hotel is chic and modern and newly renovated. It is centrally located -- across the street from the Citadel, around the corner from Spring Garden and just a few minutes from the waterfront.
As we were only staying one night, we opted for the standard guest room, which was much larger than that of most other hotels. It had two very comfortable beds, a sitting area, desk (with free wifi), a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave, and a large bathroom.
The service was outstanding. Everyone we encountered -- from the front desk staff to housekeepers to the managers at the evening reception -- were genuinely pleased to have us as guests.
We were pleasantly surprised to receive a welcome note from the guest services manager along with a bag of candies. What a wonderful treat.
The complimentary breakfast was more that your standard continentaly breakfast, offering fresh fruit, oatmeal and even hard boiled eggs, in addition to pastries and cereals. We made it back to the hotel at the end of the evening reception, but were able to enjoy a couple of sodas and a beer for my husband. It looked like a vegetable tray had been offered.
We did take a peek at the rooftop deck, which offers amazing 360-degree views of the city. There were a few chairs up there for sitting, plus a bbq grill. I imagine it is a popular place to be on summer nights.
You access the rooftop through the fitness center. Although we did not use it, it was equipped with a nice selection of equipment, plus a hot tub. There were saunas as well.
Overall, I would definitely, without hesitation, recommend the Cambridge Suites to anyone staying in Halifax.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welovecruisesFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Hello welovecruisesFlorida and thank you for your detailed review. If I was the competition I would accuse us of writing that ourselves. It is very rewarded to read a review like yours and the employees who brought this review to my attention were PUMPED! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    673
    166
    65
    50
See reviews for
614
851
125
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed at the Cambridge Suites for our wedding. We had many out of town guests who also stayed. The price was on par with other downtown Halifax hotels, but the service was above and beyond. The staff were SO helpful, friendly, and were fantastic at looking at our big group. We had approximately 15 rooms booked, and the hotel handled our guests like pros. Impressive--you should meet our families! :)

The rooms are a bit outdated (not my style of decor), but were always very clean. We had a fantastic view, and the restaurant downstairs was great for breakfast (didn't stay for other meals). The staff really made the difference on this one though. They seemed genuinely interested in making our stay as comfortable as possible. This is true of the front desk staff who were keeping an eye on the weather forecast for us for the wedding, the restaurant staff who provided with us with a great lunch the day of the wedding as we got ready, and the house keeping staff who cleaned up after our Bachelor/Bachelorette parties. Our dog stayed with us one night and they were great with pets too. Did I mention that they handled our families like pros? :)

Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggieBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Congrats MeggieBeth on your recent wedding and thank you for staying with us. Can you join us every year for your anniversary? We hope so! Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is a lovely hotel! Two nights in Halifax well spent, central location, and very reasonably priced. The newly refurbished suites are modern and lovely. The view was a nice perk, and above all, the attention to detail by the front desk staff is worthy of note. Thank you for making our Halifax stay so pleasurable, we will be back, and we will tell our friends!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andiewest10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thank you andiewest10 for staying with us. Our guest services team checks our current status and recent reviews on tripadvisor everyday and take a lot of pride in reading a review like yours. The morning shift on the front desk will be very pleased with what they read today. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Went for business and stayed for a few extra nights for vacation. Although the tub was not updated, the rest of the suite had undergone renovations - the room layout worked really well - small kitchenette with dishes and a toaster ... went with my husband who is a very early raiser ... the bedroom section could be blocked off by 2 sets of doors allowing me to get some extra sleep while he worked on his computer and watched tv in the living room area. The suite had 2 tvs - one in the bedroom and one in the living/office room. The hotel was very clean and quite and I felt the staff really cared about your experience at both the hotel and in the general downtown Halifax area. Customer service was exceptional. Good continential breakfast too ... plus underground parking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you jsulliv for your comments. Our in house team is working on the bathrooms and we hope to have them completely revitilized in the coming months - Sorry you were disappointed with that aspect of your stay. By the descriptions you give it sounds like you stayed in one of our one bedroom suites which is a very popular style of room. Thank you again and we hope to host you again soon for business, pleasure or both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I booked into Cambridge Suites Halifax for 5 nights pre coach tour and 2 post nights into a 1 bedroom suite. Having advised them of my allergies to fragrances I was placed on the 5th floor which is pet free to accommodate those with allergies. My first stay was in a king bed suite and I found this to be immaculate, spacious with 180 degree views of the harbour. The suite was exactly as pictured on their website, the bed most comfortable.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful along with the housekeeping who accommodated my request for kettle & extra tea as I am not a coffee drinker. The staff in Dorfsky's (restaurant attached to hotel) were also friendly and accommodating to requests.
Post stay was again on the 5th floor but in a suite with 2 double beds again most comfortable bed. This room was not as open as it had distinct rooms but the same views over the harbour (beautiful night city light views). Patron coin operated laundry facility with washing machine & dryers available. Other guests were having a party across the lobby which could be heard in the lobby but not in the room.
I was staying here at the start of my 2 month tour across Canada and have found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, to such an extent that I don't feel as though I am on holiday but at home.
Thoroughtly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plantmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Thank you Plantmania for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you all the best on your cross Canada tour. We have an amazing country that I am sure you will enjoy. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My fiance and I travelled to Halifax and stayed at the Cambridge Suites for the Victoria Day long week-end and had an amazing time. The hotel staff are absolutely wonderful, from the front desk, waitress in the bar/restaurant (who recommended many places to visit and eat while in Halifax) to the wonderful girl who cleaned our room each morning. We absolutely loved the rooftop deck, where we and many other guests gathered to relax in the beautiful sunshine and view the entire city. The Cambridge Suites is so closely located to the waterfront, the casino and dozens and dozens of fabulous restaurants. We had an incredible view of the harbour which made the room that much more enjoyable. Thanks again and we plan to return again and again!!!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rjrsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Dear rjrsaw, Thank you for your kind words. I could not believe the weather we had all Victoria Day weekend - it was really awesome. NB is only a few hours away so we can host you every weekend! OK how about every month? Whenever you decide to come visit Halifax it would be our pleasure to host you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantallon, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I recently had the opportunity to spend the night at the Cambridge Suites Halifax with my husband who had to be downtown Halifax very early the next morning for work. Those of you in IT know what I mean when I say early morning system cutover. I had been in one of their suites a few years ago (before the renovations) and remembered it as a slightly dated hotel. I was more than pleasantly surprised when we entered the lobby. It has been renovated to look fresh and modern.

We arrived late in the evening and our check-in was relatively quick. The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were checked-in to a one bedroom suite facing the harbour with a wonderful view. The suite like the lobby had been renovated beautifully. It was modern, clean and comfortable. It had everything you could want for as a traveler:

• a separate spacious bedroom;
• two flat screen TVs (one in the bedroom, the other in the living room);
• a utilitarian kitchen with fridge, stove, sink & dishwasher, and;
• a sunken living room with pull-out sofa.

The only minor issues I had with the room were that I wish the bathroom was slightly bigger, the tub should have been re-glazed in the renovation to complete the newness feel of the room and there should be more soft lighting around the vanity in the bedroom.

The complimentary breakfast in the restaurant attached to the hotel was good as well. There were lots of options to choose for breakfast. I did not care for the fruit salad (tasted a bit sour) or the porridge (too watery) served that morning, but the lemon poppy seed muffins were great and coffee was decent.

Overall, I wouldn’t think twice about booking this hotel again. I think it is ideal for the business traveler or family travel and a great value for your travel dollar especially if you want to be in the downtown of Halifax. I am looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereToNext23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for your feedback WhereToNext23. We are proud of our renovations. The size the bathroom seams to be increasingly more important to travellers and I am sorry we didn't completely meet your expectations. I will follow up with the restaurant regarding the continental breakfast issues you raised and I hope you try us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing