We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minor qualms aside, an excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When I say "minor qualms", I want to make note that, anything negative I could say about this hotel and/or my recent stay boils down to nothing more than personal preference, or things that were not necessarily the fault of the hotel. I found my mattress to be too soft, but, that's because I prefer a firm mattress - if you prefer a soft mattress, you'll love your bed at Cambridge. I found it odd that the hotel kitchen was closed prior to 10 PM on a Saturday - but I've since come to realize that that's something of an industry standard, and it was an untypical situation that had me even attempting to call upon the kitchen after 10 PM to begin with, so that's hardly something to hold against the hotel. I had slight issues with the toilet not wanting to flush properly, before realizing that, hey, it's a low-flow toilet and that's just what low-flow toilets DO. Again, not the hotel's fault for trying to be greener. And I didn't particularly enjoy one of my meals from the kitchen, as I'm not typically a fan of cornbread, but, I ordered a dish knowing it came with cornbread so, I knew what I was doing and again, won't blame the hotel for something that I decided to do myself.

Objectively speaking, the Cambridge Suites is a phenomenal hotel. It's an ideal location for a downtown stay (being located right on Brunswick Street with easy and quick access to both Spring Garden Road and the entirety of the downtown core) with a beautiful view from any side. The staff are very friendly, from the check-in staff to housekeeping to the kitchen and beyond. I was immediately offered an upgrade to a larger room at check-in which I politely declined, but I consider that to be a very nice touch when available. Upon arrival, the room was very clean and well-organized. High-speed internet was as advertised, very quick, with no down-time on either mobile or laptop PC. My Sunday-morning 9 AM wake-up call occurred at exactly 9:00:14 AM, underscoring the quickness, dedication and effectiveness of the staff. I did not make use of the rooftop amenities, but in taking a few minutes to observe them, they are wonderful if you are so inclined. In terms of value, I feel as though my money was much more effectively spent at Cambridge for the return I received than at any other downtown hotel. Sometimes it's hard to believe the hype with a hotel as well-reviewed as Cambridge, but trust me when I say, you can believe in the Cambridge Suites.

Room Tip: Don't get stuck on the idea that you have to have a Harbourside view - the view of Brunswick Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Travis_CSH, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks JRobar for reviewing our property. I will definitely check out the saturday kitchen closure prior to 10pm because 10pm is our standard time to start to shut down service..... not at 5 or 10 to! Sorry for this nuisance. I hope we can welcome you back very soon when visiting Halifax. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

My fiancé and I are planning our wedding this summer. We immediately thought of Cambridge Suites for ourselves & also our 65 guests, who also require a room.
Upon arriving and asking questions about a possible honeymoon suite, the front desk clerk (blonde hair) pulled out a binder and tried to find a picture of a "suite"...or lack there of, as there was not a picture in the binder. She then pointed to a digital picture frame and said a picture of the suite should be on there!!! Seriously!?! We wished to view a suite and had to ask for this! It was not mentioned to us at all. We then waited for 15 minutes and still have not viewed a suite. My fiancé and I left Cambridge Suites and shall never return! I have no idea who was to show us the suite, as the two front desk clerks were too busy to care.
I find irony in the hotel's name Cambridge "Suites"...just don't expect to view one, unless you enjoy watching digital picture frames.
VERY disappointing Halifax :(

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystyle112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Travis_CSH, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

I am so sorry Crystyle112 that this is the impression you have of the Cambridge Suites because this is not what we are all about. I am also sorry that we lost the chance to host you, your family and friends on maybe one of (if not the) most important day of your life. I completely understand if you won't take me up on this offer but if you give us the chance I will tour you and your fiance myself (any time of day - you just tell me when). Myself and this team will do our best to prove to you that you were making the best decision in coming here to take a peek at one of our suites. I also promise you I will follow up with all staff involved so they know full well how we made you and your fiance feel. I am so sorry and again if you were willing to have a tour or just wish to discuss this situation further I am always available at stravis@cambridgesuiteshotel.com or at 902-420-0555 (and my name is Scott). I am totally sorry and I hope I get a chance to speak to you about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife & I stayed here overnight April 13 2013.We were upgraded from a 1 bedroom to a 1 bedroom suite and we were really impressed.This is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in.The staff were very friendly and helpful.I ordered room service,and our bottle of wine arrived very quickly.The room was very clean,the bed was very comfortable.We had a room with a view of Halifax harbour,and could also see part of the downtown area.The shower was clean & hot.

Room Tip: The view of the harbour was worth paying a little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guysmontess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Travis_CSH, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thanks GuysMontess for posting a review and for deciding to stay with us. I love our one bedroom suites and when I stay here (which I do once a month) I love staying in that style of suites. Again thanks for the shout out and we will see you next time..... which we hope is soon because after all you only live an hour away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Of the 5 downtown Halifax hotels I've stayed in, I would say Cambridge Suites is the best all around. Great view, excellent location, very warm reception, spacious rooms and suites. Clean and well maintained. Great place for dogs. Staff are quick to acknowledge repeat visits and provide upgrades on special occasions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merriam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Travis_CSH, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Hi Merriam123 and thanks for putting us at the top of your list. Halifax has some amazing hotels so that is an awesome compliment - thank you and we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the suite that we stayed in had everything that we needed. The hotel location was within walking distance of lots of attractions and restaurants in downtown Halifax. The Harbor view from the roof was fantastic. The service was excellent-at check out we had to leave at 5am to catch an early flight back home and they made us breakfast to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Experienced_Foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Travis_CSH, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Go Oilers Go! Thank you Experienced_Foody for the kind Tripadvisor words and I am glad our Night Auditors looked after a snack to go for you. We appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

On the plus side, the location is great - right across from the Citadel and in easy walking distance of many attractions. The room was okay. The breakfast is marginal but the real problem was the partying that went on and on until the wee hours of the night. The noise was so great that it felt like the people in the halls and next door were actually in our room. It was quieter during the week but I would avoid the place on week-ends when there might be weddings or other celebrations going on.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Travis_CSH, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Good morning WeVentureForth. I am sorry noise from your "neighbors" ruined what seems like a good visit with us otherwise. The disrespect of some people often cause frustrations for other which is unfortunate and I am sorry this was the case for you. We always do our best to minimize noise that disrupts others and have from time to time been accused of being too quick on the draw in handing out "warnings" to neighbors like you experienced. The bottom line is you didn't enjoy your stay with us and for that I am very sorry. I hope we get a second chance to show you your experience is not typical of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here based on reviews posted in Trip Advisor. The beds were sagging and lumpy, and the pillows were unusable. The room was dingy and dated. Front desk clerk talked us into updating to a one bedroom suite, which included breakfast. The waitress couldn't get the breakfast order right and the food was marginal. Terrible experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Travis_CSH, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Good Morning Nancy M. I am so sorry that we let you down on your recent stay. Your comment regarding our beds is not something we usually hear. All of our mattresses and box springs were replaced in March of 2010 and we bought incredible Simmons 25 year pillow top mattresses...... we almost always get rave reviews about our beds realizing some guests like softer or firmer beds than others. I can assure we take your comments very seriously and I can only hope we get a chance to prove to you that your stay wasn't the normal experience we provide. I truly hope we get that chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,089 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $94 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing