We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights after a 6 days convention at the Delta Barrington.
This hotel is bright and light and well appointed. I had a studio queen with harbor view and I must say that the extra 10$ for the beautiful view is well worth it. The room comes equipped with a microwave, coffeemaker, dishes and utensils which is great.

The room is large and airy, nice and modern, with a sofabed. The queen bed is heavenly. The bed furniture doesn't quite fit the modern decor though, but that's a minor detail.
The bathroom is almost perfect, but the bath is older and has seen better days.

The hotel is centrally located right across the street from the Citadel. The walk from the hotel to the harbor is about 7 minutes, but it's quite a hike to get back to the hotel at night (good to know if you have mobility issues). It's right next to tons and tons of pubs/restaurants.

The breakfast, however, is sad. Toasts, bagels, dry muffins, boiled eggs, oatmeal and cereal. Some fruit selection but this morning the bananas were so green they were inedible. The coffee and juice are good, but that's about it.

All in all, I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room overlooking the beautiful Halifax waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Hi dafeist and thank you for staying with us recently. Our restaurant has just switched owners and things are looking up on the breakfast front. This is an important inclusion to our guests and adds value to our overall product....... We will get it right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,315 - 2,321 of 2,719 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

Attended a wedding recently in Halifax and stayed at the Cambridge Suites. It was an excellent experience starting from the time we walked in. Very friendly staff also very helpful. Checking in was a breeze. The room was very clean and spacious, awesome view of Halifax. The rooms are neat and fresh, the decor is very up to date in the entire hotel. It was a wonderful and relaxing stay, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WeddingStay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

I am flattered WeddingStay_11 that we are your 1st review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and glad you are now part of the TripAdvisor.com family. Maybe the couple of the wedding you attended will have a one year anniversary party and we can welcome you back next summer??? I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I come to Halifax every fall to attend a conference. And for the past seven years I've chosen Cambridge Suites Halifax as my hotel of choice. The rooms are very clean, bright and quiet! The bed is very comfortable. The hotel has a new and modern feel to it. The staff are excellent. Location is great. I don't always like to travel, but I always look forward to my stay here because I know the experience will be a great one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

AndrewH we look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come to your Home away from Home. Thank you for sharin'........ see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here at the beginning of our vacation in Nova Scotia. Room was clean and well equipped. Staff was friendly. Hotel is in great location downtown Halifax in walking distance to waterfront and lots of pubs and restaurants. Breakfast, which was included, was ok, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Widby2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Hello from Halifax Widby2008 and thank you for reviewing our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to share some details about your stay with us. Go Flames Go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were looking for someplace oozing charm, but those places were booked up, so we ended up here, largely because of the high marks given by others on tripadvisor. They were right. Everything was perfect: quiet room with a window that opens, comfy bed, very helpful and friendly staff, a basic breakfast, and very, very nice modern decor (reminded me of the W Hotel in LA.) The location lets you walk to the harbor attractions, and the Citadel is diagonally across the street.

The only downside was the price of parking, which seemed a bit steep at $17.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front (streetside) and with the window open we heard some voices outside below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arlanza707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

After reading the title, your first sentence threw me for a loop Arlanza707 but I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I wouldn't describe us as "oozing charm" but we certainly have something that appeals to travellers that want to feel at home. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of our trip to Nova Scotia. Check in was quick, the room was ready on time. The room was a great size with a small kitchenette (fridge, microwave, utensils) and a pullout couch, as well as a desk. There was free internet access (both wired complete with an ethernet cable in the desk and wi-fi). The hotel is centrally located in downtown Halifax. It was a short walk to restaurants, the Citadel, and the waterfront. The hotel was quiet and clean, and the front desk staff was helpful for any information or directions you might need. The cleaning staff was great, did a great job on the room and were quick to bring extra towels. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cjauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thank you cjauff for staying with us. Thanks too for mentioning our cleaning staff because this is a special group of individuals who do a great job. We are very lucky to have the team we have and we are always ready to welcome you back cjauff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Three women traveling together booked a one-bedroom suite which had two doubles and a pull-out sofa. The hotel location was great - right next to the citadel and the public garden and around the corner from a street with restaurants and shopping. The downtown and wharf area was a 10 minutes walk down the hill. We were there during the Buskers Festival, which was very entertaining. Our suite was laid out well, but shabby. The sofa had some stains on the seat cushions. The carpet was worn. The shower head was broken and spewed water like an open pipe. (This was promptly replaced the following day after we complained). The suite was quite spacious for the 3 of us, but badly in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was adequate, but the breakfast room was fairly small and felt cave-like due to all the light coming in from one side.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank topsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Well I can tell you topsey123 "shabby" is not a word we want to be associated with. I am sorry your suite wasn't immaculately manitained because that is usually what we are proud to say we hear the most. Your review title made me sad topsey123 I have to say :(.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,056 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $115 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing