We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were looking for someplace oozing charm, but those places were booked up, so we ended up here, largely because of the high marks given by others on tripadvisor. They were right. Everything was perfect: quiet room with a window that opens, comfy bed, very helpful and friendly staff, a basic breakfast, and very, very nice modern decor (reminded me of the W Hotel in LA.) The location lets you walk to the harbor attractions, and the Citadel is diagonally across the street.

The only downside was the price of parking, which seemed a bit steep at $17.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front (streetside) and with the window open we heard some voices outside below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlanza707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
After reading the title, your first sentence threw me for a loop Arlanza707 but I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I wouldn't describe us as "oozing charm" but we certainly have something that appeals to travellers that want to feel at home. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    663
    164
    65
    50
See reviews for
605
833
122
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of our trip to Nova Scotia. Check in was quick, the room was ready on time. The room was a great size with a small kitchenette (fridge, microwave, utensils) and a pullout couch, as well as a desk. There was free internet access (both wired complete with an ethernet cable in the desk and wi-fi). The hotel is centrally located in downtown Halifax. It was a short walk to restaurants, the Citadel, and the waterfront. The hotel was quiet and clean, and the front desk staff was helpful for any information or directions you might need. The cleaning staff was great, did a great job on the room and were quick to bring extra towels. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you cjauff for staying with us. Thanks too for mentioning our cleaning staff because this is a special group of individuals who do a great job. We are very lucky to have the team we have and we are always ready to welcome you back cjauff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Three women traveling together booked a one-bedroom suite which had two doubles and a pull-out sofa. The hotel location was great - right next to the citadel and the public garden and around the corner from a street with restaurants and shopping. The downtown and wharf area was a 10 minutes walk down the hill. We were there during the Buskers Festival, which was very entertaining. Our suite was laid out well, but shabby. The sofa had some stains on the seat cushions. The carpet was worn. The shower head was broken and spewed water like an open pipe. (This was promptly replaced the following day after we complained). The suite was quite spacious for the 3 of us, but badly in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was adequate, but the breakfast room was fairly small and felt cave-like due to all the light coming in from one side.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Well I can tell you topsey123 "shabby" is not a word we want to be associated with. I am sorry your suite wasn't immaculately manitained because that is usually what we are proud to say we hear the most. Your review title made me sad topsey123 I have to say :(.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the start of our Nova Scotia holiday. Had a very nice Harbour Vieww Suite. Plenty of room a very comfortable bed and a good breakfast. Hotel was very quiet. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Only small criticism would be that parts of the hotel are looking a little tired and could do with renovation. But all in all an excellent base for seeing Halifax.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Hi welshtraveller42. We are trying to get those lose ends tied up that aren't quite up to snuff. Thanks for staying with us for three nights...next time stay a while longer! We hope so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a reasonably priced, full-service hotel in downtown Halifax that would be central to most attractions and shops. I don't think we could have done better. The Cambridge Suites Hotel is just a little below the Citadel, within walking distance of the City Garden, a few blocks from the pubs and has a great view of the Halifax waterfront. Service was great and they have a small bar, restaurant and top floor patio with exercise equip. Parking was included with our stay -- a big plus in downtown Halifax. I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Halifax. It was our first there, and we really enjoyed the city -- made even better by our choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hi windviewer1 - sorry it took me so long to respond but somehow your review slipped under my radar. Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed your time in Halifax. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My family stayed at the Cambridge Suites in Halifax and really enjoyed our stay. They had a package which included complimentary breakfast, parking and $50 gas cards for each night of stay...all for $175/night. Could not find any other hotel comprable to this. Will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Look for package deals. If unsure, call the hotel directly. They are very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsCNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
MrsCNewBrunswick - we told you not to tell anyone about that ridiculously amazing deal - Just kidding obviously. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Spacious well-appointed rooms, a great location and friendly helpful staff. The rooftop patio is a real bonus, especially if you're staying on the sixth floor. Breakfasts were adequate - the coffee could have been better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi neil155019 and thank you for taking the time to post a review. If you make it to Halifax often hopefully we will see you again soon. If you ever need a mini getaway I see you live in Toronto and our property there is awesome. I love visiting Toronto because I get to stay at the best Hotel in town when I do (and I always stay for free)! Thanks neil155019 and thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing