We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, large, spacious, CLEAN room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“Great stay, large, spacious, CLEAN room!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Check out their website for great deals. Fast, friendly service. Great, reasonably priced restaurant on site. Great central downtown location.

Room Tip: Check out their website for money saving deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Good morning Frances M - I love that you bolded clean. That is one of the most important aspects of any hotel visit and our team takes a tremendous amount of pride in making sure our hotel is clean. Thanks for the review and come on back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    713
    173
    69
    52
See reviews for
655
899
128
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

A great location in Downtown Halifax, that truly has the best Harbour View in all the city.
Situated on Brunswick Street, this hotel is the ideal location for anyone looking to enjoy the shopping on SpringGarden Road and Downtown. It is within minutes walk to Halifax's Boardwalk and all the downtown cores hottest restaurants and nightclubs.
Our evening out started with the breathtaking view from the Cambridge's rooftop patio, which has gourgeous views of both the Harbour and Halifax's Historic Citadel Hill.
From there we walked literally 2 short blocks to Argyle Street to enjoy early evening drinks on the patio's at such Hotspots as Economy Shoe Shop and the Carleton. Always a great atmosphere at these spots and some of Atlantic Canada's best live music. A quick pit stop at the hotel and then down to the waterfront to enjoy our evening out.
We loved the location of the Cambridge so much, because it was so convenient to pop back to, in order to change/drop off our shopping/camera.
As well the staff were extremely knowledgeable about the area and what local events were taking place. They (Andrew @ the front desk) made note of the events guide in the room and suggested we pick up an edition of The Coast (local free eventspaper) to get a full rundown of the evenings happenings. As well Andrew was very helpful in recommending a Shuttle Service (The Airporter) which was very affordable (Less then $20/person) to get us out to the airport.
Overall our only regret was that we did not have longer to enjoy our stay and what Halifax had to offer. Thank you to the Staff of the Cambridge for being so friendly and polite. Andrew, and Scott especially! We really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Hi Walter K - Thanks for all the "Props". I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and our great city! Not sure what elese to say other than - holy detail! Thank you very much for all the positive comments - we really, really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The service here was the best I've had at a hotel. They were very helpful and encouraged us to use the great rooftop patio (complete with barbecue). The suite was very clean. They even packed us a breakfast that we picked up at the front desk on our way to an EARLY flight. Halifax on the whole is overpriced however. But this one not too bad, and the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanAndCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thanks NathanAndCara for the fantastic title. I have said it on Tripadvisor.com many, many times we have an awesome bunch that work here. I am not claiming they are perfect but time and time again they show me (and more importantly our guests) that they truly care..... and that makes all the difference. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was my 2nd trip to Halifax. Last time we booked through Priceline and got a room at the Marriot Harbourfront and thought that was a nice hotel but for the price point - we did even better on this trip when we downgraded our request from a 5 star to a 3.5. The Cambridge Suites is not in my mind a 3.5 star hotel. We had a great fully updated room with a stellar view of the city. Friendly staff made a great impression. A roof top patio, sauna and jacuzzi are well worth checking out - especially if they have fire works (what a great view of the harbor and the city below). We had a great view of the city from our room. A nice plus is that they have complimentary wi-fi and offer a continental breakfast for guests every morning until 10 am with a late check-out. While they don't serve starbucks - you can't beat the price, location, and great rooms. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlsimpson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Good morning jlsimpson71. Thank you for giving us a chance. The Marriott Harbourfront is a beautiful hotel and I couldn't agree with you more that we are very different from them. We have very different hotel experience than they do..... I guess that goes back to a previous comment I made about expectations and being a "match". I appreciate your comment about us not being so three and a half star. We pride ourselves on delivering on what we can control and I especially appreciate your comment about the employees you encountered. We will always be here jlsimpson71 so look us up next time you are coming to halifax. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel and the staff were very accommodating. The room was very spacious (1 bedroom) and we loved that fact that we had a king size bed and some privacy from the kids with a large screen tv. Our son had the pull out and another tv with our daughter on the portable cot in the kitchen area. We were very impressed that everyone had some space to themselves. We liked the fact that we had a bar fridge and a microwave, toaster and some dishes. We used the laundry facilities which was very convenient. The central location was amazing. We had a harbour view room which allowed us to have a wonderful view of the harbour and all the great restaurants The Wednesday night Hotel Social was a really nice surprise. The food was very good with lots of wine, beer, pop & juice readily available. The hot tub facilities upstairs were another surprise. We would recommend the hotel. The only drawback in my mind is the continental breakfast. We typically stay at Marriott hotels-REsidence Inn and are use to their plentiful breakfast so we sort of expected that. I found the cereal selection very limited-bran flakes, corn flakes and cherrios...sort of boring ...even raisin bran would have been a step up or just have raisins in a side bowl for quests to add to their cereal.The kids were disappointed to not see a sugary treat cereal like frosted flakes or fruit loops. There were two choices of muffins but they were never labelled so it was a guessing game to pick one that you think that you may like. I like grapefruit & oranges quarters but would have liked a different fruit occasionally...even a fruit bowl of apples, oranges & bananas would have been nicer. I enjoyed the oatmeal but again not a big hit with the kids. There was boiled eggs offered but scrambled eggs would have been nice occasionally. There was bread & bagels to toast but a very slow old toaster but it did toast with time. The coffee was really good with the basic oj, aj & cj offered. Even some bulk yogurt available would have improved the breakfast. We did order room service one night and the kids said the pizza was really good. It was a treat to have underground parking too. Places to eat: durty nellies, economy shoe company, old triangle, 5 fisherman, cows ice cream (of course) We loved halifax and felt the local people were very friendly. The city was very clean. Don't forget to go to the freak lunch box for unique candies.

Room Tip: harbourview-1 bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpygus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hello grumpygus1 and thank you for the falttering title. I have said many times on tripadvisor.com that it is vert gratifying when a guests expectations are met or exceeded when they stay with us but I think everything is about being a good "match". A lot of expectation comes with holding the #2 spot in any city and every once and a while we don't stand a chance of meeting someone's expectations because they thought we were something we are not. Having said all the above I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were a good match! I hope we can welcome you back soon and thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I loved the interior of this hotel, from what I know it was recently renovated. Roof top deck, BBQ and Gym!! Only a block away from all the good bars and just down the street from the harbor. The hotel room even had a little kitchen, with a sink, microwave, dishes, cutlery....Best Place to stay for SURE! We used Arrive In Style Limo and Tours to pick us up from the airport. Paul, our driver, was amazing, he knew everything and anything about the city and it's history. We hired him for a 3 hour tour, he took the cool windy roads, which was great! We went to eat at Fisherman's Cove - the lobster there is fresh and it's cheap. I highly recommend Arrive in Style and Cambridge Suites!

Room Tip: I used my CAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennylynnjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hi jennylynnjj - thank you for sharing some of the the details of your trip to Halifax. Sometimes travelling by car is the best way to get around when sightseeing and other times kicking back in a large air conditioned bus is your best bet. Either way we have some great sights to see in our very cool province.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Most attractions and many restaurants are within walking distance, although there is a steep hill down to the harbor. I decided to buy the hotel parking lot option as there were parking meters everywhere, including having to put money in a meter just to check in!

Since I had decided to take the parking option, the front desk had a good offer to upgrade to a king suite, including parking and a hot breakfast. The king suite was a fully furnished apartment. The breakfast varied from okay to excellent. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We noticed a lot of families with children (all well behaved) and found that the hotel had a special family plan option. There is a coin-operated laundry on the premises.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandLinda042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Good morning JohnandLinda042. The parking meters in the front of the hotel are for patrons using our retail tenants services prodominantly . Those meters sure do come in handy though when we have a guest driving a large van or truck that won't fit in our underground parking facilities. Many downtown hotels aren't as lucky as us to have those spots available to them. Hotel guests can park underground first or we always have an employee willing to assist with parking a guests car for them. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,912 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing