We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express in Halifax: Thumbs Up!”
Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We needed a place to stay while conducting business at Dalhousie University. The Canada Games were in town so we found this great hotel on the outskirts of the city. It was a super pick. Clean, nice beds, appointed bathroom (they also offer complimentary toiletries if you forget yours) and a great breakfast. All this for a great price. Not only was the service great, but the front desk suggested we visit Peggy's Cove and quickly produced printed directions to get there. If I'm ever in Halifax again, Holiday Inn Express is certainly where we will stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun_lover2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

We would love to see you again! As mentioned, our Hotel is a 15 minute drive to the downtown core of Halifax. Those unfamiliar with our area may be interested to know we are within 5 minutes of great shopping outlets and restaurants, movie theatres, indoor golf and much more. Convenience without the city "rush". Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Bedford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2011

This hotel is always friendly and welcoming! As usual, the rooms were ready for us, clean, comfortable, and the children enjoyed the small pool. Everything is handy, we find this hotel to be very convenient for visiting the city. Breakfast has lots of good options.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotiaDryfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

great complimentary breakfast
very comfortable and clean rooms
most friendly and efficient staff at the front desk
great location

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhreqTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Our team members know the importance of delivering a positive guest experience in every aspect of your visit; it is what you deserve. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed for 10 nights in Nov/ 2010 having stayed previously several times. A quiet, clean, comfortable hotel near Bayers Lake Shopping center and an easy drive to downtown Halifax. Very friendly and helpful staff. It was a pleasure to see many of them again. Special kudos to Cecelia (Housekeeping), Cavalla (Breakfast Bar) and Collett & Doug (Reception). Cecelia took great pride in her work and the room results were excellent. Cavalla kept one of the neatest and cleanest breakfast bars we have seen and was very proud of her results. Well done. Reception was helpful, cheerful and very efficient (as usual). Prices were reasonable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavnfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our dedicated employees; teamwork is such an important part of our success. Your comments are proof positive that every individual staff member can make a difference! Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Halifax/Bedford, we will be sure to share your review with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

stayed at the holiday in express and was not pleased with the room at all ... there was dust and hair all over the place and the beds were not confy at all. and to top it all off my husband got sick on our stay so i decided to make him a hot tea and the coffee filter did not fit the coffee maker... the bathroom was nasty.. please use clr or some bath and bowl clearner to clean the toiletts i have never seen something so nasty!!!! would not stay at this location ever again..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chevygirl0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2010

Your review of our lovely property has been met with concern by our Management Team. We take great pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations for our valued guests as evident in the many positive comments from this site alone. We would be most appreciative if you would allow us to speak with you directly regarding your recent stay. Our Guest Services Manager is available most weekdays during business hours and welcomes any opportunity to address guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The stay (celebrating one of our kids turning 10) was okay considering it was a Express version. You can see this in the lack of doors in front of the clothing cabinet, the lack of a lot of amenities such as a full size restaurant, bar, babysitting, etc.

The pool was small and had no toys, slide or anything to entertain the kids (6 and just 10). The hot tub was warm but certainly lacked power in the jet department as only one jet came close to regular power.

The biggest issue however was the total absence of dressing rooms. The whole family had to pile into the bathroom to get changed. This was a very crowded experience and due to the high humidity it was also a very warm one. If we would have at least had bathrobes we could have gone in bathrobe to the pool and didn't need changing rooms. However bathrobes were also not part of the Express package.

The room was good and clean. The only items we want to comment on are the package of sugar, cream, etc. In order to add some sugar to a cup of coffee, you had to open a whole plastic package (wit h cream, sugar, spoon, etc.) which is just not Green enough and could easily be resolved by separate packages. Also the cups were not reusable and individually packaged in plastic, It would have been great to have real glassware. Especially when you use the fridge to cool pop and other drinks, a real glass would have been better, Greener.

The staff was very friendly and to the point.

Breakfast was very good, although a limited choice it had a good range of products making sure everyone would have something to like. Again the staff was fast in replacing empty baskets, etc..

All in all it was an okay visit for the money paid ($108 before tax). However next time we likely spend a bit more to get a more luxurious feel as this (birthday) is a special occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Green_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and I have absolutely no complaints. We used this hotel as our homebase while visiting Halifax, Peggy's Cove & Lunenburg. Check in was quick, the staff were very courteous and helpful. The beds & pillows were comfortable. The continental breakfast was way more than I expected. There was a lot to choose from and we had no problems finding a table to eat our breakfast at. Coffee & tea were available 24 hours in the breakfast area or there's a Tim Horton's next door.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to share these wonderful comments. We would love to see you again should you return to the Halifax area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
119 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $125 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing