We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good motor hotel between airport and city.”
Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Halifax airport is a very long way from the city (35 km). Looking for a place to stay that would enable me to catch a morning flight, this Holiday Inn Express was a welcome site.

It is right beside the highway at one of the exits into Bedford, an old suburb of Halifax. The hotel is first on a short commercial strip that has a large 24-hour gas station, a reasonably priced family restaurant, a drug store, a Tim Horton's, and a few other services. Beyond the strip, there is little along the old roads and neighbourhoods that line Bedford Basin on your drive into Halifax. Better to take the highway. I suppose one could use this place as a low-cost base to explore the Halifax area, but if your focus is downtown I would suggest staying there and exploring on foot.

The weekend rate of $117 for a double bed and breakfast was just right. That price included high-speed internet and coffee any time. My room was adequate. It was quiet -- it overlooked the parking lot at the rear and it was on the top (3rd floor). The queen bed was ordinary, if a little stiff. The air conditioning was too noisy, but I was able to turn it off and open the windows for ventilation. With a room key, I was able to enter through one of the rear doors and use the stairs, since the single elevator was too slow for a hotel this size. I enjoyed a decent breakfast in the pleasant lobby dining area. The staff were few but efficient, as befits this type of hotel. There is a lot of parking space.

On the negative side, the common areas smelled poorly. As if the carpet cleaners had used too strong a disinfectant. In general, the decor felt old and a little musty, as if the ownership was contemplating an upgrade but hadn't got around to it yet. Finally, the road access into the hotel is an awkward turn across two lanes of traffic. The lane up to the hotel is poorly marked and doubles as access to the Tim Horton's drive-thru window. This made for some awkward encounters as I returned in the evening and again when I left in the early morning.

Overall, this is a decent, middle-aged motor hotel that offers good value on the dollar for car-oriented travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Bedford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 324 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2006

This the best experience I've had in a hotel of this class and price. The employees are the most professional, helpful, and friendly I've experienced in some time. Because of them we had a wonderful stay. During most of our stay the hotel was completely booked with many many kids. When they got a little rowdy on our floor, we were offered a room in a much quieter part of the hotel. The employees were very helpful with directions and suggestions. No effort was spared keeping the breakfast area stocked and pristine. We'll stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tennman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and were more than satisfied.The rooms are large with queen size beds, mini fridge, clean and last but not least friendly helpful staff. The free breakfast was more than adequate with boiled eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt, bagels and fresh pasteries. The pool and exercise room also very nice.I would certainly recommend staying here.

Joan

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank globetrotter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2006

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights with my husband and two children. The double queen rooms were all occupied so we had a corner room with one queen bed and a pull-out. I thought the room was a very good size and there was also a small refrigerator. For us, we used part of the room as living room during the day. The room was very clean and the queen bed was very comfortable. There was a duvet on the bed with a floral cover. There was a great shower and lots of towels, extra pillows. Hairdryer in the bathroom and soap etc of fairly decent quality. The breakfast was very convenient and included in the price. My husband loaded up in the morning and brought the food up to the room as we were getting ready to start our day.You can also sit in a sitting area close to the food if you like. Ample choices for us. The pool was small but fine as well. The staff were friendly and helpful. They have CAA rates. Very close to Costco and Bayers Lk. which is one exit away. Restaurant (Brass Rail) and Tim Hortons across the driveway and gas stn across the street. Good access to Mount Saint Vincent Univ. (5 min. drive)just turn left from the driveway and brings you out to the Bedford Hwy. I also noticed they have a laundry room if that is of interest. I have stayed at most downtown hotels and feel this is better value with the inclusive breakfast and equal comfort. There is also no fee for parking of which there was plenty. The new Quality Inn is within sight across the road and you could see the big water slide but the hotel did not look near as appealing from the outside. Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank thesisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2006

Just off the Bi-Hy on Kearney Lake Rd, this place is the most conviently located, most "Pet Friendly" hotel we've ever had the pleasure to stay in. The staff are efficent and friendly, the buffet breakfast is outstanding and the rooms, although a little worn, are spacious and comfortable.
And, they treated our dog like a member of our family!
We've stayed here many times over the last couple years and even during a recent blizzard and power outage, they delivered outstanding service.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank IMPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We stayed for two nights while travelling with friends and their children. The rooms were large and had queen beds and a mini-fridge. The staff were excellent and the pool and whirlpool were warm and clean. The continental breakfasts were amazing with eggs, hot cinnamon buns, fruit, yoghurt, bagels, juices, cereals. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in Halifax and this is the best one yet. There is a free Internet terminal in the lobby which the staff monitor so that everyone has a chance to use it. The hotel is right off the 102 Highway and next to a Tim Hortons. This hotel will be our first choice the next time we come to Halifax

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2005

This hotel is nice, however it was very noisy the night I was there. I would expect the front desk to calm down people in the corridors after 11pm. The pool area has a very small hot tub, which is too bad. The Tim Hortons next door is very convenient.

4  Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
121 reviews
Future Inns Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
217 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $125 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing