We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for a Great Stay”
Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My parents, boyfriend, and I just enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It's conveniently located, quiet, clean, and filled with friendly staff. The hot breakfast was a great start to the morning and I was very happy to have a Tim Hortons right next door. I would definitely stay here on my next trip to Halifax.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coldfeetSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you! It was a pleasure having you all stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 333 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Easy to get to off Hwy#2, close to Bayers Lake shopping area. Hot breakfast and coffee & tea 24 hours in lobby. Tim Hortons and NS Liquor store in strip mall next door. Small fitness area but OK and very clean small pool and hot tub. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEILynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to our room to find the heater busted off the wall - which is quite unpleasant on a very cold very windy December night. Front Desk immediately switched us to the room next door. 2 days later the headboard fell off the wall in our new room. Front desk was very nice and concerned that we were all right (headboard slid behind bed and didnt hit my son who was laying 1/2 foot away).
Service was 100% excellent. Breakfast was ok - really liked the bacon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyndawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

I apologize for this strange set of coincidences regarding maintenance issues during your visit. You deserve to be comfortable and your stay to be as hassle-free as possible! Please know that these issues have been fixed and we continue to practice preventative maintenance to avoid future inconveniences. I'm very proud to know that our Guest Services team took care of you the best they could and I thank you for mentioning the customer service provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife, 6 month old daughter and I stay at the Holiday Inn Express (booked on Hotwire.ca) in August and it was great. This was the night before we were leaving to head back to Toronto from our 2 week East Coast trip. We stayed at the Westin in Halifax the first few nights... payed a LOT more and were extremely disappointed.

The Holiday Inn Express was fantastic. Internet and breakfast were included. Parking is free. Room was very modern and clean. It was close enough to everything as we had a rental car.

I would go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: Anything away from the Elevators and you're in good shape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We are so pleased you decided to try our hotel and are grateful for the kind words regarding your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you, your wife, and your little girl back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a not to be missed highway hotel. It had a very friendly front desk, excellent free hot breakfast and very comfortable upscale rooms. Nice and close to shopping and next of course to a Tim Hortons.

A little noisy since the doors to rooms do not have "quiet closers" that management need to invest in.
Overall great value, location and clean..clean!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for this terrific review! While we believe our Room Attendants are some of the most dedicated in the city, I would like to also point out that we employ a top notch cleaning crew throughout the overnight hours as well to ensure the hotel is up to our guests standards at all times. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Halifax a couple days before we were to head to the airport.
We found this hotel online and found it to be a nice place to stay. One of the things I liked was that I had trouble printing my e-ticket for the airplane and the gentleman behind the receptionist desk was very helpful and in the end I was able to print my tickets.
The only thing that we didn't like was that the pool area was quite noisy! There were small children in the pool making alot of noise and their parents not telling them to be quiet. All in all it was still a nice stay and we would reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel did not have a restaurant, but it did have a complimentry breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueeyes2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

I would like to apologize for the noise level in our pool area during your stay. Our acting Manager on Duty is always prepared to address these types of situations should you require their assistance. We are thrilled to hear you would recommend our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is your typical Holiday Inn. Clean and neat with adequate breakfast. It could be anywhere, they are all the same. We paid $150 which is standard for these chains, but a bit more than we usually pay. You know what you get and they deliver. Nothing special and no surprises.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
258 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
1.8 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#21 of 28 in Halifax
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $94 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Bedford 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing