We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Many of the victims of the Titanic are buried there

The cemetery is a testament to the arrogance of some people. The "unsinkable" Titanic did sink... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Alan K
Tinge of Sadness

It's overwhelming to see all those graves from the titanic lined up. It really makes you realize... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
tugar
,
ontario
Read all 704 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Halifax
from $44.49
More Info
from $33.02
More Info
from $116.50
More Info
from $80.08
More Info
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveler rating
357
273
44
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
273
44
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews titanic victims buried here unknown child final resting place titanic disaster who lost their lives somber place grave stones white star line titanic buff titanic area tour guide shore excursion interesting stories halifax explosion well worth the visit downtown halifax
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The cemetery is a testament to the arrogance of some people. The "unsinkable" Titanic did sink.
The shipping company only provided simple markers for every victim.
Our guide provided background information that I hadn't known before.

Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's overwhelming to see all those graves from the titanic lined up. It really makes you realize how tragic it was.

Thank tugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is an obvious stop for tourist buses. You can see the dirt paths worn down around the titanic graves, but if you don't go as a tour, you miss much of the story unless you want to read the wikipedia article on your phone. It could use a walkway for the people who come and perhaps a plaque.

Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A tour of the Fairview Lawn Cemetery was one of the options for our cruise ship excursions. If you have any interest in Titanic history, this is an excellent place to go. Our Grayline Tours guide was well versed in the stories of many of the 121 victims buried here and he provided a fascinating narrative of their lives and deaths. Particularly moving was the story of the previously unknown child who was finally identified in 2008. Some of the more interesting epitaphs are for crew members who went down with the ship. The cemetery can be visited on your own, but we really appreciated the guide.

Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were so glad we visited despite the cold rain. So solemn and moving. We had a great guide who was very knowledgeable. You truly have to see the Titanic headstones in person to fully grasp the magnitude of the loss.

Thank DawnBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have been fascinated with Titanic history for quite a few years so visiting this cemetery was on our "must do" list on our visit to Halifax....the final destination on our train trip. This was a memorable experience and I would recommend this to anyone who is a history buff.

This cemetery is a little ways from the downtown area so as we studied the map and the distance from our hotel (Delta Marriott on Barrington St.) we weighed the pros and cons of walking since we consider ourselves pretty good walkers.....no, not the W.D. kind!. In the end we decided to compromise by taking a cab there and walking back to our hotel. This turned out to be a wise choice. The walk back took us almost exactly 1 hour and even though the weather was nice if we had walked both ways it would have been too much.

This is one of three Halifax cemeteries in which Titanic victims are buried and since there are over 100 victims buried here this is the one to visit. Once you arrive at the cemetery there is good signage so it is quite easy to find this area. Make sure you read the informational plaques that are nearby as they provide much interesting information.

Since Halifax was the closest seaport to the area where the ship went down the recovery of the victims bodies was organized in Halifax and the White Star Line also had an office there. Most of the victims were never recovered as they went down with the ship. The survivors continued on to New York aboard the Carpathia. Approximately 300 bodies were recovered in total. Two cable ships operating out of Halifax recovered over 200 bodies and brought them ashore here.

The victims buried here are the ones who were never identified or were the ones whose families could not afford to have their bodies transported back home. The people involved in the recovery effort had very strict protocols to follow in terms of the identification process. Some markers carry no name, the date of death which was presumed to be the date the ship sank....April 15, 1912....and a number which corresponds to the order in which the body was recovered. There are some well known markers here including J. Dawson .....the character portrayed by Leonardo DiCaprio in the movie and the unknown child who was later misidentified and then subsequently correctly identified as Sidney Goodwin.

Thank JimmyBuffettfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For those interested in Titanic history, Fairview Cemetery is must visit when you're in Halifax. Over 100 Titanic gravesites. Many of the stones have moving inscriptions

Thank Buck-Klem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When the Titanic ran into the iceberg, Halifax had more resources to help the survivors and locate the victims rather than any of the other closer cities in Canada. Halifax sent three of her ships to recover those lost in the tragedy. Each victim has a number which was indicated on their body bag instead of names.

Thank MariaP1779DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It seems weird to write a review of such a place but the cemetary is well maintained and the people respected (when I went there was only one other couple having a private tour - I imagine tour groups would damage mourning experiences of people). It's a working cemetary still. The cemetary aside from the titanic is very varied and interesting for a perspective of the cultural and historical make-up of the town as well as how Canadians remember their dead.

Thank EmmaE1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reading the headstones brought such reality to those who perished in the sinking of the Titanic. Hearing the stories was a true history lesson. If driving a vehicle, you can park near the area of the Titanic graves.

Thank GeorgiaPeachMama2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews