We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Titanic History”

Fairview Lawn Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.23*
and up
Halifax City Tour
Ranked #9 of 137 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The final and noteworthy resting place for many of the victims of the Titanic.
calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Titanic History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Enjoyed the opportunity to walk around a section dedicated to 121 passengers who perished April 15, 1912 after the Titanic sunk. Did not realize that there were so many un-named grave markers. Very interesting history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zansus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    210
    40
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Odd attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had actually been looking forward to seeing the Titantic gravesites while in Halifax. I'm not sure what I was expecting but it wasn't this. First of all the cemetary itself is not easy to find, don't expect your GPS to get you there! Second, it seemed kind of intrusive to be visiting a tourist attraction while there were family members there laying flowers on there loved ones graves. I guess I thought the Titanic part of the cemetary would be somehow seperate, but as soon as you pull in the lane there's a big sign directing you to the Titanic graves. I actually love cemetaries but there was just something odd about it being an attraction in the middle of such a sacred place. Even nearby, there was a big information placard telling the story of tradgedy and why those passengers were buried there.
Personally, I would skip this "attraction" and just visit the display in the maritime museum instead. There's nothing to "see" at Farview Lawn except plain grey stone marking the graves of the Titanic dead. Again, I like visiting cemetaries but it just felt morbid visiting it as a tourist.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLB05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
312 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Glad we visited, NOT a must do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you have the time, be sure to visit. This is simply a cemetery that happens to have some of the titanic graves. This isn't a life changing or an emotionally charged experience as others imply. I am glad I had the privilege and honor of seeing the graves, but it's NOT a must do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very interesting! Definitely worth the stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a stop on our 6 hour private tour through Halifax. We enjoyed hearing the history of the grave markers for Titanic victims and stories. The grave markers are laid out in a pattern to honor the titanic itself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMRDalton_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Sad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a very sad place. Basically it was not a very easy place to find. We hailed a taxi and he didn't know where it was. After speaking to 2 taxicabs we were able to grab someone who knew where it was at. It is about 15/20 minutes from the port. It looks like a normal cemetary with a small sign directing you to the grave sites of the 200 bodies that were recovered by local ships. I was surprised, I thought it would have more historical facts and maybe some more information about the families.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairview Lawn Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fairview Lawn Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing