We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is not worth it.”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

disappointing, expensive, old hotel.
good location and kind staff.
but i would not visit again. there are many inexpensive inns in Halifax.
or i will stay at 4-star hotel spending same money

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hera63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 579 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Waverley Inn is beautifully furnished in Victorian Style. We stayed there twice - at the beginning and at the end of our trip through PEI and Nova Scotia. Thus, we booked two different categories. Both rooms were beautiful, but each only equipped with a tiny window. So, if you want the feeling of fresh air, you depend on the A/C (which is ridiculous as the outside temperature never exceeded 23 degrees Celsius). Opening the window doesn't help, plus it will let in the noise of the other A/Cs and of the street. The beds are humongeous, but the worst we had among the many we lied on during our trip: instead of a slatted frame, there was a simple wooden board! The complimentary breakfast is motel-standard and nothing to write home about.

Thus, all in all: despite the great location (walking distance to all major sights and shopping) a bit pricey for the many compromises.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laenggass-Steffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My two nights in a simple room at the Waverely Inn were the perfect introduction to Halifax. It was a very easy walk from the train/bus station, clean and very comfortable, bathroom was spotless. Most importantly, the front desk staff was able to give restaurant recommendations as well as all other types of information about how to get around town, sights to see, laundromats, etc. Breakfast was unimpressive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I just returned from a four-night stay at the Waverley Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was quiet and comfortable, and the atmosphere relaxing. The included breakfast every morning reminded me of hotels I've stayed at in England. There was an excellent choice daily. I appreciated the free internet in the elegant front sitting room, as well as the coffee, baked goods, and plate of apples available in the lobby much of the time. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Just for fun we brought our bikes across on the ferry from Dartmouth and spent a night in Halifax. We met friend for dinner, Pipa's, attended the CBC birthday party at the Cunard Centre and cycled around Point Pleasant Park. We made good use of our time and the Waverley Inn was the perfect base. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in storing our bikes. Our room was delightful; lots of light and a view of Barrington Street. Breakfast was more than adequate; cereals, toast, muffins, fruit, eggs & ham. There was even fresh, homemade banana bread for afternoon tea; yummy! Although only 25 ks from our home, staying at the Waverley Inn was a great destination. Look forward to our next stay. Obvious that the owner is putting a lot of effort into this property and preserving a bit of Maritime history. Thanks for a great stay and your efforts.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Comfortable, friendly, quiet hotel in a convenient location on the edge of downtown Halifax. This is a restored Victorian, furnished to period. Basic breakfast provided; tea, coffee and cake available. Free internet, comfortable lounge, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spruce_grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Waverley is perfect. Staff is pleasant and helpful, rooms are adequate and clean, breakfast is fine (by the third day we wanted a change so went out) and the location is amazing - our car sat in the parking lot for the three days we were there.

I have stayed at other hotels in Halifax but never again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
751 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,172 reviews
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $91 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing